Proceedings.

1823741 Alberta Ltd. and 1872806 Alberta Ltd.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, RSA 2000, c.J-2, section 99(a) and 242 of the Business Corporations Act, RSA 2000, c.B-9, and 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act, RSA 2000, c.P-7
File
2203-18590
Filings held18
Last activity16 Jun 2026
On the record751 days
OverviewSummary updated

1823741 Alberta Ltd. and 1872806 Alberta Ltd. are before the Court of King's Bench of Alberta in proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, carried under court file number 2203-18590. The proceedings commenced on October 15, 2024, the date on which a receivership order was granted. The matter remains active. Beyond the October 15, 2024 order, the record contains no further dated steps for either company, and identifies no receiver, applicant creditor or property under administration.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Per the Order Approving Claims Process, granted November 4, 2025 dated 4 November 2025.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates18 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Third Report. The Receiver terminated operations of the Shavings Business and Mulch Business following completion of the Sales Process; the Sundre Property and remaining assets were sold via the Sale Agreement and Auction Agreement, and the Receiver is now administering claims processes and remaining wind-down tasks, including a potential bankruptcy assignment of 182 AB.

Source: Receiver Third Report, dated March 16, 2026

#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Receiver continued operating the Shavings Business during the receivership to support a turn-key sale but terminated its operations on October 10, 2025 following completion of the Sales Process; the Mulch and Fabrication businesses had already ceased or were discontinued.

Source: Receiver Second Report, dated October 28, 2025

#Report

The officer filed report no. Supplemental to the First Report. The Receiver is refining its proposed sales process (to occur after completion of the property claims process), proposing to remove disputed Bale Inventory from the sale package pending further review, and addressing rent/lease reconciliation issues between 182 AB and 187 AB.

Source: Supplemental to the Receiver First Report, dated July 21, 2025

Parties

Debtor

1823741 Alberta Ltd. and 1872806 Alberta Ltd.

Receiver

BDO

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 985 casesDeemed trust class (pre-receivership GST). CRA completed a deemed trust audit in December 2024 and confirmed no source deductions outstanding pre-receivership. — debtor: 182 AB$24.2KReceiver First Report, dated July 15, 2025
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)
4Secured
4Secured

3 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other) and Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

3 transactions · 2 closed · 1 proposed — Sundre Property and other assets sold pursuant to Sale Agreement and Auction Agreement, closedReceiver Third Report, dated March 16, 2026 · 16 Mar 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
McDougall Auctioneers Ltd.the assets related to the Fabrication Business, various farm equipment (the majority of which is located in Provost Alberts with Mr. Ganser), and miscellaneous other tools and equipment located at the Sundre Property · auction · agreement 24 Oct 2025SubscribersProposedReceiver Second Report, dated October 28, 2025
2211824 Alberta Ltd. and 1578646 Alberta Ltd.all of the Applicant's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the APA (the 'Purchased Assets') · real property · agreement 28 Oct 2025SubscribersCloseddate not statedReceiver Third Report, dated March 16, 2026
end purchasers via auction, unnamedthe various inventory, vehicles, and equipment owned by 182 AB, along with Schedule A Assets · auctionnot statedCloseddate not statedReceiver Third Report, dated March 16, 2026
AdvisorsMcDougall Auctioneers Ltd. (auctioneer)Receiver Third Report, dated March 16, 2026
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of purchase price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the TransactionSale Approval and Vesting Order, granted November 4, 2025
Sealed materialsthe Asset Purchase AgreementSale Approval and Vesting Order, granted November 4, 2025
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: not yet estimated. BDC a distribution.Receiver Second Report · 28 Oct 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Secured——paid in fullconditionalEstimatedper the receiverApplication re Sale, Auction Agreement and Claims Process Approval,… · 29 Oct 2025
SecuredBDC—interimconditionalper the receiverReceiver Second Report · 28 Oct 2025
SecuredBusiness Development Bank of Canada—interimconditionalEstimatedper the receiverApplication re Sale, Auction Agreement and Claims Process Approval,… · 29 Oct 2025
Unsecured——not yet estimatedper the receiverReceiver Second Report · 28 Oct 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

2 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: BDO Canada Limited, to 30 Jun 2025, in feesSupplemental to the Receiver First Report · 21 Jul 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
BDO Canada LimitedReceiverto 30 Jun 2025courtesy discount8 peopleSupplemental to the Receiver First Report · 21 Jul 2025
8 people — BDO Canada Limited, to 30 Jun 2025 · 26 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
David LewisPartner
Kevin MeylerPartner
Breanne ScottSenior Manager
Jerri BeauchampManager
Lorry FritscheManager
Kate YaroslavtsevaAnalyst
Sahib SinghSenior Analyst
Laura DemchukAdministrator
TOTAL——
Stikeman Elliott LLPCounsel16 Oct 2024 – 30 Apr 2025——not statedSupplemental to the Receiver First Report · 21 Jul 2025

29 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing

As at ·

Cumulative receipts

$2.64M

As at 28 Oct 2025Receiver Second Report, dated October 28, 2025

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
18 filings
DateDocumentFile
Creditor PackagePDF · Subscribers
Order Approving Receiver Activities and Assignment into Bankruptcy, granted March 26, 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Little
PDF · Subscribers
Application re Approval of Receiver Fees, Activities and Assignment into Bankruptcy, filed March 16, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Receiver Third Report, dated March 16, 2026
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated · 2211824 Alberta Ltd. and 1578646 Alberta Ltd; Closed · date not stated
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order Approving Auction, Proposed Distribution and Activities of Receiver, granted November 4, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Order Approving Claims Process, granted November 4, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Neilson
PDF · Subscribers
Sale Approval and Vesting Order, granted November 4, 2025
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of purchase price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction
  • Purchaser 2211824 Alberta Ltd. and 1578646 Alberta Ltd. · all of the Applicant's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the APA (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · approved
  • Sealed items the Asset Purchase Agreement
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order, granted November 4, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Neilson
PDF · Subscribers
Application re Sale, Auction Agreement and Claims Process Approval, filed October 29, 2025
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver Second Report, dated October 28, 2025
  • Operational summary The Receiver continued operating the Shavings Business during the receivership to support a turn-key sale but terminated its operations on October 10, 2025 following completion of the Sales Process; the Mulch and Fabrication businesses had already ceased or were discontinued.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 10 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Sale and Investment Solicitation Process, Property Claim Process and Receiver Fees and Activities Approval Order, granted July 21, 2025
  • Order date 21 July 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice M.J. Lema
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — The Proposed Sales Process that has been proposed by the Receiver in respect of certain Property of the Debtors, as set out and described in the First Report and Supplemental Report (the 'SISP'), is hereby approved.
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Supplemental to the Receiver First Report, dated July 21, 2025
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application re Sales Process and Property Claim Process, filed July 15, 2025
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver First Report, dated July 15, 2025
PDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of Receiver for 1823741 Alberta Ltd.PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order, granted October 15, 2024
  • Applicant Mark Edmund Haldane
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 15 October 2024
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application to Appoint a Receiver
  • Applicant Mark Edmund Haldane
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager, or in the alternative, as receiver
  • Commencement date 28 May 2024
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Mark Haldane, sworn May 24, 2024
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “1823741 Alberta Ltd. and 1872806 Alberta Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/1823741-alberta-ltd-and-1872806-alberta-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/1823741-alberta-ltd-and-1872806-alberta-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.