Proceedings.

1759255 Alberta Ltd.

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
File
2001-00610
Filings held16
Last activity19 Aug 2020
On the record2,437 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

1759255 Alberta Ltd., operating as Akai Apartments, remains in court-appointed receivership commenced 12 March 2020 in the Court of King's Bench of Alberta under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. MCAP Financial Limited Partnership, holder of a first-ranking mortgage against the Property together with a general security agreement and a general assignment of rents and leases, was owed approximately $2.4 million under the MCAP Mortgage; a payment of approximately $614,900 due by 11 March 2020 under a stay order did not occur. ATB Financial, Olympia Trust Company and 1028198 Alberta Ltd. hold registered interests per Alberta personal property registry and title searches. As at 19 March 2020, the company's books and records indicated unsecured claims of approximately $22,800 in aggregate, including $8,728.79 in municipal taxes owed to the Town of Canmore.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Per the Claims Process Order dated 17 August 2020.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates15 dated entries · 1 undated
#Order

The court appointed MNP Ltd. as Receiver, on the application of MCAP FINANCIAL CORPORATION. Court file 2001-00610.

Source: Receivership Order

Undated filings1 — no date appears on the document · show
Parties

Debtor

1759255 Alberta Ltd.

Receiver

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice JonesCourt of King's Bench of Alberta4 orders, Aug 202093 cases on record
Justice NeufeldCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Mar 202045 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
Debtor1759255 Alberta Ltd.Miles Davison LLP10 Aug 2020Service list · 10 Aug 2020
CreditorMNPLtdField Law10 Aug 2020Service list · 10 Aug 2020
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredMCAP Financial Limited Partnershipas of receivership order filing date — First-ranking mortgage against the Property, general security agreement against 1759255, and general assignment of rents and leases — Approximately $2.4 million owed pursuant to the MCAP Mortgage; also referenced a payment of approximately $614,900 due by March 11, 2020 (March 11 Event) tied to a stay order, which did not occur — debtor: 1759255 Alberta Ltd. o/a Akai Apartments$2.4MNotice and Statement of Receiver
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
7Preferred (BIA s. 136)
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

21 more claims in 3 classes The stack holds Secured, Preferred (BIA s. 136) and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Closed · the record states no distribution outcome.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Field LLP, to 31 Jul 2020, in feesFirst Report of the Receiver · 10 Aug 2020

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Field LLPCounsel to the receiverto 31 Jul 2020—not statedFirst Report of the Receiver · 10 Aug 2020
MNP Ltd.Receiverto 31 Jul 2020—not statedFirst Report of the Receiver · 10 Aug 2020

2 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
16 filings
DateDocumentFile
Service List re: Multiple Orders
  • Counsel Miles Davison LLP
PDF · Subscribers
ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order
  • Presiding officer Justice C. M. Jones
PDF · Subscribers
Claims PackagePDF · Subscribers
Claims Process Order
  • Presiding officer Justice C.M. Jones
PDF · Subscribers
Order re: Receivers Activities
  • Presiding officer Justice C.M. Jones
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice C. M. Jones
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Receiver
PDF · Subscribers
Service List re Application
  • Counsel Miles Davison LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of Receiver
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant MCAP FINANCIAL CORPORATION
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 4 March 2020
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Neufeld
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of G. MejuryPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application
  • Applicant MCAP Financial Corporation
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Statutory basis section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
PDF · Subscribers
Statement of Claim
  • Applicant MCAP Financial Corporation
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Court COURT OF QUEEN'S BENCH OF ALBERTA
PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel Miles Davison LLP
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “1759255 Alberta Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/1759255-alberta-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 3 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/1759255-alberta-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.