Ontario · Receivership (court-appointed)
First Report of the Receiver dated September 15, 2026
Court officer report · 15 September 2026
AI summary
A plain-English summary drawn only from this filing: what it is, why it matters, and the parties, amounts and dates it turns on.
What we verified from this filing16 verified · 1 withheld
- unsecured creditorsnote: Amount not stated in these pages; separately, realty tax certificate effective March 27, 2026 shows $6,233.88 arrears for 2025 tax year on Dufferin Property (see below, treated as municipal tax arrears against property, not itemized here as this entry to avoid double count is left null) · page: 26 · basis: Identified by Receiver as an additional creditor in respect of outstanding property taxes · debtor: Choice Wholesale Meats Ltd. / Dufferin Property · creditor: City of Toronto · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Approximate figure ('approximately $24,000'); CRA also advised of an outstanding payroll source deductions account balance (interest and penalties) which CRA stated does NOT constitute a deemed trust claim; no supporting documentation or formal claim received for that payroll amount, so it is not quantified · page: 26 · as of: Filing Date (June 15, 2026) · basis: Unsecured claim submitted to Receiver by CRA on July 13, 2026 regarding corporate income tax liabilities · amount: 24000 · debtor: Choice Wholesale Meats Ltd. · creditor: Canada Revenue Agency · currency: CAD
- secured creditorsnote: Individual registrants beyond TD not named in these pages; motor vehicle PPSA financiers referenced generally in First Report (p.26) but not individually named or quantified · page: 61 · as of: 2026-04-08 · debtor: Choice Wholesale Meats Ltd. · creditor: PPSA registrants (Ontario) · currency: CAD · security: 9 PPSA registrations in Ontario as at April 8, 2026, including 1 in favour of TD; several additional secured creditors holding PPSA registrations primarily relating to leased motor vehicles
- unsecured creditorsnote: Litigation claim, not adjudicated; amount not stated · page: 64 · basis: Statement of claim issued against Company principals/guarantors · debtor: Company principals/guarantors · creditor: Rock Financial Group Inc. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Execution creditor of Company's principals/guarantors; amount not stated · page: 64 · basis: Execution creditor per Writ Details Report (Execution No. 26-000791) · debtor: Company principals/guarantors · creditor: Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Execution creditor of Company's principals/guarantors; amount not stated · page: 64 · basis: Execution creditor per Writ Details Report (Execution No. 25-0006634) · debtor: Company principals/guarantors · creditor: William Baranick · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Execution creditor of Company's principals/guarantors, not the Company itself; amount not stated · page: 64 · basis: Execution creditor per Writ Details Reports (Execution Nos. 25-0001712, 25-0001490, 25-0002628, 25-0006569, 25-0005581, 25-0003373) · debtor: Antonio Rapanaro (Tony) and/or Paul Rapanaro (guarantors/principals) · creditor: Home Trust Company · currency: CAD
- secured creditorsnote: Aggregate of Operating Facility $335,738.15, Visa 0785 $5,381.22, Visa 2061 $19,152.53, and Term Facility $781,788.01 (per diem $120.77), per demand affidavit table (p.65); prose in First Report describes indebtedness as 'approximately $1.1 million' (p.9, p.16, p.22); excludes legal fees and continuing interest; also secured by unlimited guarantees from Tony, Paul, Mario Rapanaro and Stefania Rapanaro (personal guarantors, related parties) · page: 65 · as of: 2026-05-12 · amount: 1142059.91 · debtor: Choice Wholesale Meats Ltd., Antonio Rapanaro (Tony), Paul Rapanaro · creditor: The Toronto-Dominion Bank · currency: CAD · security: Collateral mortgage (principal $1,100,000, registered Instrument No. AT6804074, April 28, 2025) on Dufferin Property; General Security Agreement dated April 11, 2025 over Company's personal property; General Assignment of Rents and Leases; Operating Facility principal $300,000; Visa facilities aggregate limit $20,000; Term Facility principal $800,000
- operational summaryThe Company was not carrying on any operations as at the Filing Date, with only nominal-value residual assets; the receivership's primary purpose was to conduct a court-supervised sale process for the Dufferin Property.
- professional feesnote: Excludes HST; disbursements included. GB's fees separately total $15,663.87 inclusive of disbursements and HST for July 24, 2026 to September 15, 2026. · party: Receiver (Albert Gelman Inc.) · amount: 58083 · period: June 15, 2026 to August 31, 2026 · currency: CAD
- purchaser1001717667 Ontario Inc.
- recovery outcomeentries: basis: estimated · quote: TD is projected to incur a shortfall on its advances to the Company and has consented to the Transaction; · pct of: unstated · outcome: shortfall · class key: secured · stated by: receiver · class label: TD · creditor name: Toronto-Dominion Bank · interim final: unstated · related party: false · claims qualifier: unstated · table missing:
- report date15 September 2026
- report noFirst Report
- sale advisorLennard Commercial Realty, Brokerage
- sale outcometext: Receiver recommends the Court approve the Sale Agreement/Transaction for the Dufferin Property · scope: parcel · status: pending_approval
1 extracted value is withheld: either a trap-shaped field where models produce confident wrong numbers, or an identity value whose quotation could not be found in the document. Withheld values are shown to no one.