British Columbia · Bankruptcy
Notice of Bankruptcy
Notice to creditors · 31 July 2025
AI summary
A plain-English summary drawn only from this filing: what it is, why it matters, and the parties, amounts and dates it turns on.
What we verified from this filing27 verified
- appointeeCrowe MacKay & Company Ltd.
- appointee roletrustee
- commencement date31 July 2025
- provinceBritish Columbia
- financial positionnote: Form shows 'Surplus' of 2,055,433.65 on the liabilities side but 'Deficiency' of -2,055,433.65 on the assets side — a deficiency (liabilities exceed assets) arithmetically. Assets comprise accounts receivable 3,236,747.81 (incl. holdbacks 1,151,706.22), vehicles 25,005.00, other property 2,750.00; liabilities: secured 1,339,021.23, preferred 91,946.18, unsecured 3,888,969.05. Reason for difficulty: Poor Financial Performance. Bankruptcy filed 31 July 2025; trustee Crowe MacKay & Company Ltd.; first meeting of creditors 21 August 2025. · page: 2 · as at: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78) sworn by Bruce Bernard, dated 31 July 2025; debtor's estimated realizable values, not audited · scope: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. (entity), bankrupt; assets as of date of bankruptcy 30 July 2025 per form header · currency: CAD · total assets: 3264502.81 · total liabilities: 5319936.46
- unsecured creditorsnote: Aggregate as stated on Form 78 liabilities summary (line 3). Itemised entries follow separately; this row is the stated total, not additional to the itemised list. No proofs of claim filed yet shown. · page: 2 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78) sworn by Bruce Bernard, 31 July 2025; itemised list of 86 liabilities; includes trade creditors, shareholder loan, employee severance/wage claims and tax claims · amount: 3888969.05 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Unsecured creditors (aggregate as reported) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Preferred class: predominantly employee severance/wages priority amounts of up to $2,000 each (ground for priority listed as 'Other'). Preferred. · page: 2 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), line 2 'Preferred creditors, securities, and priorities' · amount: 91946.18 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Preferred creditors (aggregate as reported) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 4 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 734081.04 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Air System Supplies · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 4 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 76599.6 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Air Solutions Mechanical Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 4 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 258347.04 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Alliance Metal Fabricators Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Remaining trade payables on pages 4-12 each range from about $1 to $17,000 (e.g. Leavitt Machinery 7,630.56; Crossroads C&I Distributors 6,411.80; Imperial Oil 5,748.84; Geiger Services 5,000.00; White Cap Supply Canada 14,016.10; Xhuxho Sheet Metal 4,100.00). · page: 4 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Other trade creditors (itemised, not individually listed here) · currency: CAD
- secured creditorsnote: Secured amount as stated in Statement of Affairs list of liabilities (Form 78); estimated surplus/(deficit) from security shown as 0.00 · page: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · amount: 935776.89 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: BMO Financial Group · currency: CAD · security: Assets securing: lines 1301, 1302, 1303, 1304, 806, 807, 808, 501, 502 (accounts receivable, vehicles, other personal property); nature of liability: bank loan except real property mortgage; date given/incurred 16-Mar-2014
- secured creditorsnote: Nature of liability 'Other' (lease). Nominal $1.00 claim as stated in Statement of Affairs; estimated surplus from security 4.00 · page: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · amount: 1 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Brown Bros Motor Lease Canada Ltd. · currency: CAD · security: Assets securing: lines 801, 802, 804, 805 (Ford F-150 vehicles, each carried at $1.00); lease dated 03-Mar-2025
- secured creditorsnote: Estimated surplus from security shown as 1,925,477.58 in the Statement of Affairs; same collateral lines listed as for BMO · page: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · amount: 403243.34 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Business Development Bank of Canada · currency: CAD · security: Assets securing: lines 1301, 1302, 1303, 1304, 806, 807, 808, 501, 502 (accounts receivable, vehicles, other personal property); nature of liability: bank loan except real property mortgage; date given/incurred 27-Mar-2014
- unsecured creditorsnote: Individual employee claims range from about $1,087 to $26,667 unsecured plus preferred portion up to $2,000 each (e.g. Martin Cuthbert 26,666.68; Issa Slimani 20,556.70; Sean Aebig 20,949.70; Tony Carrillo 18,474.82; Edward Martinez 17,212.07). Individual names not itemised here; see pages 5-10. · page: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; severance pay and owed wages, each with unsecured portion plus up to $2,000 preferred amount (ground for priority 'Other') · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Employees (severance/wages - itemised, 52 employees) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Placeholder nominal $1.00 amount; amount of actual corporate tax liability not stated · page: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; corporate taxes - federal · amount: 1 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: CRA - Tax - Pacific · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 597262.06 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Ecco Heating Products Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Listed as unsecured on the Statement of Affairs; CRA claim for GST/HST (potential deemed-trust character not stated in document) · page: 5 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; sales taxes · amount: 24451.3 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: CRA - GST/HST · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 10 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 44682.4 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Engineered Air · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 10 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 33625.47 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: HSL Automation Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 11 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 39990.74 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Sustainable Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Provincial Employer Health Tax · page: 11 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 21902 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Ministry of Finance - Employer Health Tax · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 11 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 204836.42 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Modern Systems Management Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Related party: shareholder/director; also the deponent of the Statement of Affairs · page: 11 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; shareholder loan · amount: 1086394.32 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Shareholder Loan - Bruce Bernard · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 11 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 59722.43 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: KD Engineering Co. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 12 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 268846.48 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: Viaduct Sheet Metal Ltd. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 12 · as of: 2025-07-30 · basis: Statement of Affairs as reported; accounts payable · amount: 76686.4 · debtor: CMJ Sheet Metal Ltd. · creditor: The Master Group · currency: CAD