Ontario · Bankruptcy
Trustee's Preliminary Report
Court officer report · 30 September 2026
AI summary
A plain-English summary drawn only from this filing: what it is, why it matters, and the parties, amounts and dates it turns on.
What we verified from this filing11 verified
- secured creditorsnote: Registration identified by PPSA search only; no balance stated. · page: 2 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: C T Corporation System · currency: CAD · security: PPSA registration (Ontario); collateral and amount not stated
- secured creditorsnote: Registration identified by PPSA search only; no balance stated. · page: 2 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: Canadian Imperial Bank of Canada · currency: CAD · security: PPSA registration (Ontario); collateral and amount not stated
- secured creditorsnote: Registration identified by PPSA search only; no balance stated. · page: 2 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: Bluestar Flagship Fund Limited Partnership · currency: CAD · security: PPSA registration (Ontario); collateral and amount not stated
- secured creditorsnote: Related party: sole remaining director and officer. Registration identified by PPSA search only; no balance stated. · page: 2 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: William H Buck · currency: CAD · security: PPSA registration (Ontario); collateral and amount not stated
- unsecured creditorsnote: Deemed trust claim for unpaid payroll source deductions; CRA has not yet performed a trust examination, so amount is unconfirmed. Date of the balance not stated. · page: 2 · basis: Last known balance owing per available books and records · amount: 3500000 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: Canada Revenue Agency (payroll source deductions) · currency: CAD
- financial positionnote: Assets per SOA: cash in bank of unknown value (CIBC accounts closed July 25, 2024; DC Bank states Company has no interest in its accounts) and a receivable relating to legal proceedings against Oxford at an estimated realizable value of $20,000,000; no total assets figure is stated. Claims filed as of September 30, 2026 total $27,936,885.16 (secured $5,201,862.84; unsecured $1,735,022.32; contingent $21,000,000.00), admitted for voting only. Alleged transfers of approximately $5.66 million to insiders and foreign counsel are unproven allegations. · page: 4 · as at: 2026-09-15 · basis: Per Statement of Affairs (total of secured $10,191,422.72 + unsecured $7,121,950.53; preferred and contingent nil); prepared from limited books and records, not audited or reviewed by the Trustee · scope: TCA Group of Companies Inc. (single entity) · currency: CAD · total liabilities: 17313373.25
- secured creditorsnote: Aggregate per SOA; individual creditor amounts not stated. Proofs of claim filed as of September 30, 2026 for secured: $5,201,862.84 (admitted for voting purposes only; admissibility/value for distribution not determined). Trustee notes security validity is subject to review. Related party: Mr. Buck (sole remaining director and officer) holds a PPSA registration. · page: 4 · as of: Date of Bankruptcy (September 15, 2026) · amount: 10191422.72 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: Secured creditors (aggregate per Statement of Affairs) · currency: CAD · security: PPSA registrations by CIBC; Bluestar Flagship Fund Limited Partnership; Mr. Buck; C T Corporation System
- unsecured creditorsnote: Document names no individual unsecured creditors; a fulsome creditor list could not be obtained. Proofs of claim filed as of September 30, 2026: $1,735,022.32 (admitted for voting purposes only; not the same as the reported figure). Preferred claims: nil per SOA and filed. · page: 4 · as of: Date of Bankruptcy (September 15, 2026) · basis: Per Statement of Affairs; prepared from limited books and records, not audited by the Trustee · amount: 7121950.53 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: Unsecured creditors (aggregate as reported) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Quantum, if any, presently undetermined. Trustee notes internal financial reporting may have logged the funds as a 'Return of Overfunding'. Contingent claims filed as of September 30, 2026: $21,000,000.00 (creditor not named in the table; contingent column per SOA shows nil). · page: 4 · basis: Contingent counterclaim in the Arbitration; disputed · amount: 8765330 · debtor: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · creditor: OPGI Management Limited Partnership (Oxford Properties) — counterclaim · currency: CAD
- financial positionnote: Total liabilities is the 'Total' per Statement of Affairs in the Section E table (secured 10,191,422.72 + unsecured 7,121,950.53; preferred nil). Assets per SOA consist of 'cash in bank of an unknown value' and a receivable relating to the legal proceeding against Oxford at an 'estimated realizable value of $20 million'; no asset total is stated, so total_assets is left null. No as-at date is stated for the SOA figures; the Date of Bankruptcy is September 15, 2026. · basis: Per the Company's Statement of Affairs (SOA); the Trustee states it has not audited or reviewed the books and records and expresses no opinion on the information. · scope: Single entity: TCA Group of Companies Inc. · currency: CAD · total liabilities: 17313373.25
- recovery outcomeentries: basis: estimated · quote: Until such time that the Trustee's investigations are completed, the Trustee is unable to project the amount, if any, that may be available for distribution to the Company's creditors. · pct of: unstated · outcome: undetermined · class key: unsecured · stated by: trustee · class label: the Company's creditors · interim final: unstated · conditional on: completion of the Trustee's investigations · claims qualifier: unstated · stated on: 2026-09-30 · table missing: