British Columbia · Bankruptcy
Creditor Package dated October 8, 2026
Notice to creditors · 8 October 2026
AI summary
A plain-English summary drawn only from this filing: what it is, why it matters, and the parties, amounts and dates it turns on.
What we verified from this filing45 verified
- applicantEC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd.
- appointeeGrant Thornton Limited
- appointee roleLicensed Insolvency Trustee
- commencement date7 October 2026
- proceeding typebia_bankruptcy
- statutory basisSection 49 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
- statutory basisSection 49 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended
- court file no11-3433662
- financial positionnote: The form itself labels the net line 'Surplus 16,767,901.30' while the assets section states 'Deficiency -16,767,901.30'; the figure is a deficiency (liabilities exceed assets). Trustee bankruptcy filed 2026-10-07 (assignment under s. 49 BIA); Grant Thornton Limited appointed trustee. Many liability lines carry nominal $1.00 placeholders; a large share of the unsecured total is owed to apparent affiliates sharing the debtor's address (EC English Holdings Ltd 9,364,390.67; Centre de Langues EC Montreal Ltd 4,739,976.57; EC Canada Holdings Ltd 1,108,541.97; Study Group Canada Ltd 655,738.40; EC English Malta Ltd 597,263.37). · page: 4 · as at: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78) as stated and estimated by the bankrupt/debtor, signed 01-Oct-2026 by Andrew Mangion; reasons for financial difficulty ticked: negative market conditions, lack of working capital/funding, economic downturn, legislated or regulatory restrictions, increased cost of doing business. Liabilities comprise secured 1.00, preferred 0.00, unsecured 16,788,052.80, contingent 0.00. · scope: Entity-level: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. only · currency: CAD · total assets: 20152.5 · total liabilities: 16788053.8
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder amount · page: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: BC Hydro · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1.99 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: AD Micro Technology Inc. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 4247.71 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Allstream Inc. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 9079.62 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Bell Canada · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 744 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Cambridge Assessment · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder; listed in unsecured column with no priority ground stated. Listed twice on the liability list; this is one of two separate entries. · page: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Canada Revenue Agency (first listing) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder; second separate CRA entry, no priority ground stated · page: 6 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Canada Revenue Agency (second listing) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 68448.66 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: EC UK English · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Creditor name as it appears on the page · page: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 4248.11 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Education and Training Employee (Victoria BC) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 7257.92 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Cengage · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 4739976.57 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Centre de Langues EC Montreal Ltd · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1108541.97 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: EC Canada Holdings Ltd · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 9364390.67 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: EC English Holdings Ltd · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 7 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 597263.37 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: EC English Malta Ltd · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 4688.25 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Language Limousine · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 19143.83 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: LSC International College · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder; no preferred/priority amount stated · page: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Employees · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder · page: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: FortisBC · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 128780.99 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Fourstay Inc · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 563.29 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Francotyp-Postalia Canada Inc. · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 359.6 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: GEC Granvilles Suites · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 8 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 3549 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: GEC Pearson · currency: CAD
- secured creditorsnote: Amount is the nominal placeholder figure ($1.00) on the debtor's Statement of Affairs, not a verified balance; date shown is the 'date given/incurred' on the liability list. Security validity/perfection not confirmed in the document. · page: 9 · as of: 2026-09-22 · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Meridian OneCap Credit Corp (BC) · currency: CAD · security: Asset securing the liability: item 101 (deposits in financial institutions, Royal Bank of Canada business account); estimated surplus from security shown as 9,668.50
- unsecured creditorspage: 9 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1163.34 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Oxford University Press Canada · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 9 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 19339.95 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: MNP LLC · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal placeholder amount · page: 9 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 0.04 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Ministry of Post-Secondary Education (BC) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder; governmental claim, no priority stated · page: 9 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Ministry of Finance (BC) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 9 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 616 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: McCarthy Tetrault LLP · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Individual; c/o debtor's address (possibly an employee) · page: 9 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 319.2 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Maura Chagas · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 5315.91 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Ready to Go Moving Services · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Regulatory body address; claim labelled accounts payable, not stated as a regulatory levy · page: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1500 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Private Training Institution B (Private Training Institutions Regulatory Unit) · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1356.6 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Shaw Cable c/o Rogers Business · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorspage: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 174.45 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Sterling Talent Solutions · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder · page: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Sterling Backcheck Canada Corp · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Nominal $1.00 placeholder for a class of creditors · page: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 1 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Students · currency: CAD
- unsecured creditorsnote: Same address as debtor; apparent affiliate (related party not stated in document) · page: 10 · as of: 2026-10-01 · basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), debtor-reported, accounts payable · amount: 655738.4 · debtor: EC Vancouver Language Centre Ltd. · creditor: Study Group Canada Ltd · currency: CAD