YRC Freight Canada
- Proceeding
- CCAACompanies’ Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended and section 106 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43
- File
- CV-23-00704038-00CL
- Industry
- Transportation & logistics · Trucking & freight
YRC Freight Canada has been the subject of proceedings under Part IV of the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act and section 106 of the Courts of Justice Act since August 8, 2023, commenced on the application of Yellow Corporation before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, with Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc. as information officer. A sale order of December 12, 2023 directed that net sale proceeds be distributed to the secured parties in order of priority until paid in full in cash. On February 8, 2024 the debtors confirmed that the pre-petition and post-petition secured funded debt obligations under the Prepetition B-2 Credit Agreement, the Prepetition UST Loan Documents and the DIP Loan Documents had been repaid in full and the related agreements terminated. The matter is carried on the Commercial List in court file CV-23-00704038-00CL and remains active.
The officer filed report no. Tenth Report. The Canadian Debtors' real property assets in Canada have all been sold with no remaining owned or leased real property, and the estate is proceeding toward implementation of the confirmed Chapter 11 plan and liquidating trust, with only one part-time employee retained to assist with wind-down.
The officer filed report no. Ninth Report. The Canadian Debtors continue an orderly wind-down, having sold or terminated nearly all real property and rolling stock assets, with one employee remaining to assist with wind-down efforts and claims/plan matters ongoing in the Chapter 11 Cases.
The officer filed report no. Eighth Report of the Information Officer. The Debtors are continuing the orderly wind-down of operations and sale of remaining real property and rolling stock assets, while pursuing a Chapter 11 Joint Plan settlement with the UCC to resolve outstanding claims disputes; the Canadian Debtors continue to terminate/reject remaining leases and only two non-unionized employees remain to assist with wind-down.
The officer filed report no. Seventh Report. The Canadian Debtors are winding down operations, continuing to market remaining real property and rolling stock assets for sale, and are subject to a proposed Chapter 11 liquidating plan; only two non-unionized employees remain to assist with wind-down efforts.
The officer filed report no. Sixth Report. The Debtors are winding down operations, continuing to market and sell remaining real property and rolling stock assets, and pursuing settlements with possessory lienholders and abandonment/destruction of surplus records and electronic mailboxes; a small remaining Canadian workforce assists with wind-down efforts.
Motion Record (Motion for a Sale Recognition and Vesting Order) — Application / notice of application
The officer filed report no. Fourth Report of the Information Officer. The Debtors continue an orderly wind-down and liquidation of their assets, including completing a real estate auction and Canadian property sales, with further asset sales and claims/distribution processes ongoing in the Chapter 11 Cases.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Saia Motor Freight Line, LLC, Knight-Swift Transportation Holdings Inc., XPO, Inc., Royal Group Holdings Inc., All Star Investments, Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Closings of sales of Canadian Acquired Assets are subject to entry of the Canadian Sale Recognition Order; debtors must file a notice of closing within three Business Days of each Closing; net proceeds are to be delivered to Secured Parties within ten business days of each Closing.
The officer filed report no. Third Report of the Information Officer. The Canadian Debtors are conducting an orderly wind-down of operations, including exiting leased locations and disposing of rolling stock and non-rolling stock assets, funded largely through accounts receivable collections rather than DIP draws.
The officer filed report no. Second Report of the Information Officer. The Canadian Debtors continued an orderly wind-down of their business, working to exit leased locations and wind down owned locations, having cleared all remaining shipments in Canada, with a significantly reduced workforce assisting remaining wind-down efforts.
The officer filed report no. First Report. The Debtors are conducting an orderly wind-down of operations and liquidation of assets, including through a competitive sale/bidding process for real estate, rolling stock, and other assets, while managing DIP financing, a bar date claims process, and rejection of certain Canadian contracts and leases.
Supplemental Application Record (Returnable August 29, 2023) — Application / notice of application
Outcome brief
YRC Freight Canada: vacation pay expected in full, nothing projected for Class 5
Yellow's liquidating plan took effect on July 1, 2026; former employees of its Canadian arm, owed about CAD$2.2 million in vacation pay, are expected to recover in full, and the Canadian arm's general unsecured creditors are projected to receive nothing. On July 8 the Ontario court recognized three U.S. orders approving multiemployer pension settlements.
Debtor
YRC Freight Canada
Monitor
Alvarez & Marsal
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Morawetz | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 13 orders, Aug 2023 – Mar 2026 | 141 cases on record |
| Justice Cavanagh | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Aug 2023 – Jul 2026 | 318 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| MonitorAlvarez & Marsal | Stikeman Elliott LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| Receivermsi Spergel Inc | Chaitons LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| ApplicantToys 'R' Us (Canada) Ltd | Aird & Berlis LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| ApplicantYRC Freight Canada | Goodmans LLP | 6 Aug 2023 | Order · 6 Aug 2023 |
| CreditorACI Brands Inc | Torkin Manes LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorAllied World Specialty Insurance Company | Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorBorgfeldt (Canada) Limited | Fogler, Rubinoff LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorCadillac Fairview Corporation Limited | Torys LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorCameron Corporation and Canadian Property Holdings (Alberta) Inc | Witten LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorCentre d'achat Vaudreuil Ltée | Donati Maisonneuve s.e.n.c.r.l. | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorConcord Kingsway Project GP Ltd | Lax O'Sullivan Lisus Gottlieb LLP · McEwan Cooper Kirkpatrick LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorCrombie Property Holdings Limited | Gardiner Roberts LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorDAAN Groups Inc | Cambridge LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorDexterra Group Inc | Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorElement Fleet Management Corp | Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorFranco Mfg | Witten LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorHis Majesty the King in Right of Canada as represented by the Minister of National Revenue | Loopstra Nixon LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorLego Canada Inc | Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorMEGA Brands ULC | Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorMGA Entertainment Canada Company | McMillan LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorRavine Equities Inc | Lawson Lundell LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorRoynat Inc | Dentons Canada LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorShaw Group Limited | BoyneClarke LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorSpinMaster | Torkin Manes LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorWest Broadway Centre Ltd | Lawson Lundell LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| CreditorWonderland Power Centre Inc | Brown Beattie O'Donovan LLP | 2 Mar 2026 | Service list · 2 Mar 2026 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | Prepetition Secured Parties / Prepetition UST Secured Parties / DIP Secured Partiesas of December 12, 2023 (Sale Order) — Adverse Interests/liens against Acquired Assets sold; distribution in order of priority until paid in full in cash — Sale Order provides net sale proceeds distributed to Secured Parties in priority order; amounts not stated. Per page 15/16 of first document (page 4 in this set), the Debtors confirmed on Feb 8, 2024 that pre- and post-petition secured funded debt obligations (Prepetition B-2 Credit Agreement, Prepetition UST Loan Documents, DIP Loan Documents) have been repaid in full and related agreements terminated. — debtor: Debtors (including Canadian | — | Fifth Report of the Information Officer |
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
13 transactions · 7 approved · 4 closed · 2 not completed — The Canadian real property sale process has concluded, with all Canadian Owned Properties either sold or abandoned/wound down.Eleventh Report of the Information Officer · 2 Jul 2026
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Investments, Inc.Canadian Acquired Assets under the All Star Asset Purchase Agreement · real property · agreement 12 Dec 2023 | Subscribers | Approved12 Dec 2023 | Sale Recognition and Vesting Order |
| Knight-Swift Transportation Holdings Inc.Acquired Assets under the Knight Asset Purchase Agreement · real property | not stated | Approved12 Dec 2023 | Sale Recognition and Vesting Order |
| Royal Group Holdings Inc.Canadian Acquired Assets under the Royal Group Asset Purchase Agreement · real property · agreement 7 Dec 2023 | not stated | Approved12 Dec 2023 | Sale Recognition and Vesting Order |
| Saia Motor Freight Line, LLCAcquired Assets under the Saia Asset Purchase Agreement, transferred free and clear including unrecorded leases and the financial liens and encumbrances listed at Exhibit A · real property | not stated | Approved12 Dec 2023 | Sale Recognition and Vesting Order |
| XPO, Inc.Acquired Assets under the XPO APA, including Leased Properties · real property · agreement 4 Dec 2023 | not stated | Approved12 Dec 2023 | Sale Recognition and Vesting Order |
| Estes Express LinesStalking horseall of the Debtors' 174 owned real property assets, including three properties located in Canada · real property · agreement 15 Sep 2023 | Subscribers | Not completed | Fourth Report of the Information Officer |
| Royal Group Holdings Inc.all of YRC Freight Canada's right, title and interest in and to the acquired assets described therein · real property · agreement 11 Dec 2023 | Subscribers | Approved | Fourth Report of the Information Officer |
| 2534929 Ontario Inc.all of YRC Freight Canada's right, title and interest in and to the Ontario Acquired Assets · asset sale · agreement 8 Aug 2025 | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Information Officer's Certificate |
| Victor Massonthe right, title and interest of the Yellow Parent, YRC Freight Canada and USF Holland International Sales Corporation, as the case may be, in and to the Quebec Acquired Assets · real property · nominee/assignee: any nominee thereof, appointed at his discretion · agreement 21 Jul 2025 | Subscribers | Approved15 Sep 2025 | Second Sale Recognition and Vesting Order |
| purchaser under the RGH Transaction, unnamedone Canadian Owned Property · real property | Subscribers | Closed23 Jan 2024 | Eleventh Report of the Information Officer |
| purchaser of the Quebec Real Property, unnamedQuebec Real Property (930 Route 147, Dixville, QC) · real property | Subscribers | Closed | Eleventh Report of the Information Officer |
| purchaser under a second transaction respecting the Quebec Real Property, unnamedQuebec Real Property · real property | Subscribers | Not completed6 Nov 2025 | Eleventh Report of the Information Officer |
| purchaser of the Ontario Real Property, unnamedOntario Real Property · real property | Subscribers | Closed28 Nov 2025 | Eleventh Report of the Information Officer |
Unsecured creditors: a distribution. YRC Freight Canada a distribution · YRC Freight Canada a distribution.EstimatedNinth Report of the Information Officer · 11 Sep 2025
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preferred | Other Priority Claims (Class 3) | — | paid in fullconditional | Under the planper the monitor | Eighth Report of the Information Officer · 25 Apr 2025 |
| Unsecured | Holders of General Unsecured Claims (J&S Holders and Non-J&S Holders) | — | Estimatedper the monitor | Ninth Report of the Information Officer · 11 Sep 2025 | |
| Unsecured | YRC Freight Canada | — | Estimated | Seventh Report of the Information Officer · 3 Dec 2024 | |
| class not placedYRC Freight Canada | YRC Freight Canada | — | Estimatedper the monitor | Eighth Report of the Information Officer · 25 Apr 2025 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
3 blurred figures above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP, 1 Oct 2024 – 31 Dec 2025, incl. taxTenth Report of the Information Officer · 25 Feb 2026
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Information officer | —Sought | — | — | not stated | Seventh Report of the Information Officer · 3 Dec 2024 |
| Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLPCounsel to the information officerperiod 2 of 2 | 1 Oct 2024 – 31 Dec 2025Sought | — | Tenth Report of the Information Officer · 25 Feb 2026 | ||
| Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLPCounsel to the information officerperiod 1 of 2 | —Sought | — | — | Seventh Report of the Information Officer · 3 Dec 2024 |
3 blurred figures above
What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansCash on hand
$4.5M USD
As at 31 Jul 2025Ninth Report of the Information Officer
Professional fees
As at
1 more reported figure
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Endorsement of Justice Cavanagh
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Eleventh Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Confirmation Recognition Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (as of March 2, 2026)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Tenth Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Information Officer's Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of the Applicants | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicants (Returnable September 15, 2025) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Ninth Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (April 30, 2025)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Eighth Supplemental Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Eighth Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (returnable April 29, 2025) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (December 9, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Seventh Supplemental Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Seventh Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (June 19, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Sixth Supplemental Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Motion Returnable June 19, 2024) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Sixth Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Returnable June 19, 2024) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (February 29, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fifth Supplemental Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Brennan Caldwell (Sworn February 26, 2024) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Motion Returnable February 28, 2024) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (December 21, 2023)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Motion for a Sale Recognition and Vesting Order) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Sale Recognition and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Motion Returnable December 19, 2023) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (December 5, 2023)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Motion Returnable December 5, 2023) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Supplemental Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (November 10, 2023)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Motion Returnable November 8, 2023) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Returnable November 8, 2023) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Third Supplemental Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Chief Justice Morawetz (September 29, 2023)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Returnable September 29, 2023) 1 of 4 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Returnable September 29, 2023) 2 of 4 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Returnable September 29, 2023) 3 of 4 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Returnable September 29, 2023) 4 of 4 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Supplemental Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Motion Returnable September 29, 2023) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Report of the Proposed Information Officer | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Application Record (Returnable August 29, 2023)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice Morawetz
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Interim Stay Order (Foreign Proceeding) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application Record (Returnable August 8, 2023)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Application for Initial Recognition Order and Supplemental Order) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Recognition Order (Foreign Main Proceeding)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Sale Recognition and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Settlement Recognition Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplemental Order (Foreign Main Proceeding) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fifth Report of the Information Officer
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (Application for Interim Stay Order) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “YRC Freight Canada” (CCAA), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/yrc-freight-canada