Proceedings.

True North Freight Solutions Inc. (“True North”) and North Shore Logistics Inc. (“North Shore”)

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
Court
Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List
File
CV-24-00718318-00CL
Filings held23
Last activity31 Mar 2026
On the record937 days
OverviewSummary updated

True North Freight Solutions Inc. and North Shore Logistics Inc. were placed in court-appointed receivership by an order of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice made on April 12, 2024, under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The matter proceeds in Ontario under court file CV-24-00719689-00CL and remains active. The record as it stands carries no steps beyond the appointment order itself.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates21 dated entries · 2 undated
Undated filings2 — no date appears on the document · show
Parties

Debtor

True North Freight Solutions Inc. (“True North”) and North Shore Logistics Inc. (“North Shore”)

Receiver

BDO

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice SteeleOntario Superior Court of Justice5 orders, Apr 2024 – Mar 2026245 cases on record
Justice BlackOntario Superior Court of Justice3 orders, Jun 2024198 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverBDOChaitons LLP14 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorBank of MontrealAird & Berlis LLP12 Apr 2024Order · 12 Apr 2024
CreditorBVD Petroleum Inc./BVD Capital CorporationSimmons Da Silva LLP17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorDaimler Truck Financial Services Canada CorporationDentons Canada LLP17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorHarvinder RandhawaMatthew R. Harris, Barrister and Solicitor17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorHSBC Bank Canada and Royal Bank of CanadaThornton Grout Finnigan LLP17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorMNP LtdSimpson Wigle Law LLP17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorTalka Credit UnionLecker & Associates17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorTD Equipment Finance Canada, A Division of The Toronto-Dominion BankHarrison Pensa LLP17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
CreditorTFG Financial CorporationEvangelista LLP17 Jun 2024Service list · 17 Jun 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 985 casesDeemed trust class (HST arrears). CRA conducted an HST audit and assessed HST arrears for the period July 2020 to April 2022. CRA is separately reviewing True North's HST remittances for May 2022-November 2023, which Management believes will yield a refund (~$5.3 million) exceeding these arrears (unconfirmed). — debtor: True North Freight Solutions Inc.$1.96MMotion Record - Receiver (BDO Canada Limited) - Dated June 11, 2024
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured

10 more claims in 3 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other), Secured and PMSI / lessors claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

6 transactions · 2 proposed · 2 closed · 1 approved · 1 not completed — 128 Vehicles sold via auction, proceeds held in trust; 10 remaining Vehicles to be soldSecond Report of the Receiver dated January 24, 2025 · 24 Jan 2025

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
7927959 Canada Corp.the assets listed at Appendix 'F' · asset salenot statedProposedFirst Report of the Receiver dated June 14, 2024
end purchasers at the Ritchie Bros. auction, unnamedthe Equipment, as defined in the Auction Agreement · auctionnot statedProposedFirst Report of the Receiver dated June 14, 2024
unnamed17 of the Sold Vehicles located at the property of a liquidator, sold in May 2024not statedCloseddate not statedFirst Report of the Receiver dated June 14, 2024
each purchaser at auction, unnamedthe Debtors' and the Receiver's right, title and interest in and to the property purchased by such respective Purchaser at the auction · auctionSubscribersApproved14 Jun 2024Approval and Vesting Order (Revised Schedule A)…
Macrotech28 vehicles (the 'Macrotech Vehicles') · asset sale · agreement 15 Nov 2023SubscribersNot completeddate not statedSecond Report of the Receiver dated January 24,…
end purchasers at Ritchie Bros. auctions, unnamed128 Vehicles sold via various auctions conducted by Ritchie Bros. · auctionSubscribersCloseddate not statedSecond Report of the Receiver dated January 24,…
AdvisorsRitchie Bros. Auctioneers (auctioneer)Second Report of the Receiver dated January 24, 2025
Closing termsvesting occurs upon delivery of a bill of sale by the Auctioneer following receipt of the purchase priceApproval and Vesting Order (Revised Schedule A) - W.D. Black J. Dated…
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no distribution.EstimatedTrustee's Preliminary Report · 27 May 2024

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Unsecured——no distributionEstimatedper the trusteeTrustee's Preliminary Report · 27 May 2024

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Documents
23 filings
DateDocumentFile
Order - dated March 31 2026
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice J. Steele
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record dated March 18, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Receiver dated March 18, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Distribution and Ancillary Relief Order – dated February 20, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Steele
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement – dated February 20, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Steele
PDF · Subscribers
US Bank Order – dated February 20, 2025
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Steele
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record dated January 24, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Receiver dated January 24, 2025
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated; Did not complete · date not stated · Macrotech
  • Purchaser Macrotech · 28 vehicles (the 'Macrotech Vehicles') · asset sale · not completed; end purchasers at Ritchie Bros. auctions, unnamed · 128 Vehicles sold via various auctions conducted by Ritchie Bros. · auction · closed
  • Sale advisor Ritchie Bros. (auctioneer)
  • Sale outcome Liquidation in progress — 128 Vehicles sold via auction, proceeds held in trust; 10 remaining Vehicles to be sold
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Service List (Dated June 17, 2024)
  • Counsel Harrison Pensa LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Ancillary Relief (Revised) - W.D. Black J. Dated June14-2024
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice W.D. Black
PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order (Revised Schedule A) - W.D. Black J. Dated June 14-2024
  • Closing terms vesting occurs upon delivery of a bill of sale by the Auctioneer following receipt of the purchase price
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Order date 14 June 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice W.D. Black
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement - BMO v. True North Freight Solutions Inc. et al; CV-24-719689-00CL; Dated June 14-2024
  • Presiding officer Justice W.D. Black
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Receiver dated June 14, 2024
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated
  • Purchaser end purchasers at the Ritchie Bros. auction, unnamed · the Equipment, as defined in the Auction Agreement · auction · proposed; 7927959 Canada Corp. · the assets listed at Appendix 'F' · asset sale · proposed
  • Sale advisor Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers (Canada) Ltd. (auctioneer)
  • Financial position Subscribers
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Receiver (BDO Canada Limited) - Dated June 11, 2024
PDF · Subscribers
Minutes First Meeting of Creditors
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Stated on: 2024-05-27 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Minutes of The First Meeting of Creditors
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Stated on: 2024-05-27 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order (True North & North Shore), dated May 16, 2024
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Commencement date 16 May 2024
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Bankruptcy Order, dated May 6, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Statement of AffairsPDF · Subscribers
Interim Receiver Order (True North & North Shore), dated April 12, 2024
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role interim receiver
  • Commencement date 12 April 2024
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Trustee's Preliminary Report
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Stated on: 2024-05-27 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Proof of Claim FormPDF · Subscribers
Reclamation of Property FormPDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “True North Freight Solutions Inc. (“True North”) and North Shore Logistics Inc. (“North Shore”)” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/true-north-freight-solutions-inc-north-shore-logistics-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/true-north-freight-solutions-inc-north-shore-logistics-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.