Proceedings.

TCAS Holdings Limited, Sustainable Fish Farming (Canada) Limited, Sustainable Blue Inc., and TCAS IP Inc. (collectively, the “Sustainable Blue”)

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)subsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and the equitable jurisdiction of this Court as partially codified by s. 43(9) of the Judicature Act
File
Hfx No. 531915
Filings held43
Last activity6 Mar 2025
On the record945 days
OverviewSummary updated

TCAS Holdings Limited, Sustainable Fish Farming (Canada) Limited, Sustainable Blue Inc. and TCAS IP Inc. — together Sustainable Blue — are the subject of a court-appointed receivership before the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, commenced on March 26, 2024 under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The proceeding carries court file number 531915 and remains active. The record to date reflects only the commencement of the receivership application against the four related entities.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates43 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Fourth Report. The Receiver is continuing to operate the Facility and care for the live salmon biomass while awaiting transfer of aquaculture license 1312 to the court-approved purchaser (459NSL); closing is expected in early November 2024, and the Receiver seeks to raise its borrowing limit from $6,000,000 to $8,000,000 to fund operations until then.

Source: Fourth Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver and Manager

#Order

The court appointed Deloitte Restructuring Inc. as receiver and manager, on the application of 4595756 Nova Scotia Limited. Court file Hfx No. 531915.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

TCAS Holdings Limited, Sustainable Fish Farming (Canada) Limited, Sustainable Blue Inc., and TCAS IP Inc. (collectively, the “Sustainable Blue”)

Receiver

Deloitte

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverDeloitteCox & Palmer8 Apr 2024Service list · 8 Apr 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency · in 985 casesListed under Secured Creditors in the Listing of Creditors; likely reflects a deemed-trust class claim (statutory Crown priority) rather than a conventional registered security; amount as stated is nominal ($1.00). — debtor: Sustainable Group (collectively)$1Notice and Statement of the Receiver
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

89 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other), Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Sale approved — Sale Transaction approved through the SISP but not yet closed; procedural amendments requested to substitute applicant entitiesFifth Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver… · 5 Mar 2025

Bid deadline (round closed)

23 August 2024

Sale and Investment Solicitation Process

Phase 1 deadline

12 July 2024

Sale and Investment Solicitation Process

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
4595756 Nova Scotia LimitedCredit bidall of the Sustainable Group's and the Receiver's right, title and interest in and to that certain personal and real property described within the APA (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · nominee/assignee: 464NSL (4644903 Nova Scotia Limited), or its assignee, nominee or designee · agreement 27 May 2024not statedNot completeddate not statedFifth Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in…
AdvisorsDeloitte Restructuring Inc. (sale agent)Teaser
Closing termsDelivery of Receiver's Deed and Receiver's Certificate triggers vestingSale Approval and Vesting Order
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

1 engagement · 1 firm — Cox & Palmer, Initial Period, in feesAffidavit of Gavin MacDonald · 13 Sep 2024

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Cox & PalmerCounsel to the receiverInitial Period8 peopleAffidavit of Gavin MacDonald · 13 Sep 2024
8 people — Cox & Palmer, Initial Period · 25 blurred figures
NameYear of callHoursRateFees
Josh McElman2004
Gavin MacDonald2002
Nicholas Poirier2022
Linda M. Matte—
Kendra MacKenzie-Granger—
David Biddle—
Natalie Ament—
Kenneth Farrell—
Total———

28 blurred figures above

What the firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
43 filings
DateDocumentFile
Draft Order re Change of Style of CausePDF · Subscribers
Letter to Prothonotary re Change of Style of CausePDF · Subscribers
Brief re Change of Style of CausePDF · Subscribers
Fifth Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver and Manager
  • Closing confirmed Did not complete · date not stated · 4595756 Nova Scotia Limited
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion re Change of Style of Cause
  • Counsel How: operator-correction · Why: 'Conlon' torn from a firm name ('Nijhawan McMillan &Conlon'); stored client is a person · Corrects: pairing · Rejected: Firm: Conlon · Client: Jeremy Lee
PDF · Subscribers
Draft order re Borrowing Charge - October 2024PDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver and Manager
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position · Operational summary Subscribers
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Prothonotary re Notice of Motion and MaterialsPDF · Subscribers
S igned BriefPDF · Subscribers
Book of AuthoritiesPDF · Subscribers
Sale Approval and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Delivery of Receiver's Deed and Receiver's Certificate triggers vesting
  • Order date 20 September 2024
  • Purchaser 4595756 Nova Scotia Limited · nominee/assignee the Purchaser's assignee, nominee or designate · all of the Sustainable Group's and the Receiver's right, title and interest in and to that certain personal and real property described within the APA (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Gavin MacDonald
PDF · Subscribers
Brief re Sale Approval and Vesting Order and Fee ApprovalPDF · Subscribers
Draft Order Approving the Receiver' Activities, fees and seeking the power to make an assignment into bankruptcy, should the Receiver deem it necessary or desirablePDF · Subscribers
Third Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver and ManagerPDF · Subscribers
Order for ConfidentialityPDF · Subscribers
Brief re Sealing OrderPDF · Subscribers
Draft Interim Order for ConfidentialityPDF · Subscribers
Draft Order for ConfidentialityPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Prothonotary re Supplemental Report and OrderPDF · Subscribers
OrderPDF · Subscribers
Teaser
  • Bid deadline 12 July 2024
  • Sale advisor Deloitte Restructuring Inc. (sale agent)
PDF · Subscribers
Book of Authorities & IndexPDF · Subscribers
Brief - SISP ApprovalPDF · Subscribers
Draft Sale Approval and Vesting OrderPDF · Subscribers
Letter to CourtPDF · Subscribers
Second Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver and ManagerPDF · Subscribers
Order Amending Receiver's BorrowingsPDF · Subscribers
Increase in Borrowing BriefPDF · Subscribers
Letter to the Court, Notice of MotionPDF · Subscribers
Notice of MotionPDF · Subscribers
First Report of Deloitte Restructuring Inc. in its Capacity as Receiver and Manager
  • Sale outcome Approval pending — in anticipation of a proposed sale and investment solicitation process which will be discussed in detail at the May 21 Application
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order - Borrowing ChargePDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of the Receiver
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order - SISPPDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant 4595756 Nova Scotia Limited
  • Appointee Deloitte Restructuring Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 4 April 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Sale and Investment Solicitation Process
  • Bid deadline 23 August 2024
  • Phase1 deadline 12 July 2024
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Thane StevensPDF · Subscribers
Applicant's BriefPDF · Subscribers
Book of Authorities of the ApplicantPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application in Chambers
  • Appointee Deloitte Restructuring Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Statutory basis s. 243 of the BIA and s. 43(9) of the Judicature Act
PDF · Subscribers
Solicitor's Affidavit
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “TCAS Holdings Limited, Sustainable Fish Farming (Canada) Limited, Sustainable Blue Inc., and TCAS IP Inc. (collectively, the “Sustainable Blue”)” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of Nova Scotia. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/sustainable-blue

Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/sustainable-blue

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.

TCAS Holdings Limited et al. — Receivership | Proceedings.