The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2026-12-15.
Source: Court Order
Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc., together with 2486976 Ontario Inc. and 1981361 Ontario Inc., is in a court-appointed receivership under BIA section 243 and Ontario's Judicature Act, commenced May 2, 2025 in the Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List). As at March 31, 2025, the Receiver reported entity-level total assets of $2,187,598.82 on a net book value basis, based on information not yet reviewed or verified. Secured claims total $45,316,309.97, dominated by a $45,170,044.17 claim from Logpin Investments Limited, with smaller balances owed to Toronto Dominion Bank, VW Credit Canada, Tesla Motors Canada, Toyota Credit Canada and TD VISA. Unsecured claims include a CRA deemed-trust claim of $186,767.23, a $798,747.64 claim from related entity Mortgage Funding Building Inc., and numerous trade and individual creditors, with the overall unsecured total reported as unknown.
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2026-12-15.
Source: Court Order
Approved a sale and investment solicitation process for the Uptergrove Lands and related assets, authorising the Receiver to implement it, with bids due December 15, 2026.
Source: Order of Justice J. Dietrich (Uptergrove Sale Process Approval)
Reported receipts of $1,412,793 and disbursements of $62,484 from May 2 to September 30, 2025, leaving $1,350,310 on hand; sought power to assign the Debtors into bankruptcy and an extended Receiver's Charge.
Source: Second Report of the Receiver
Confined to the Stein Motion: recorded SMFI's brokerage role on the S-26 and S-27 Mortgages, with fees of $20,000 and $11,600, and identified A-14 and B-95 held through Olympia.
Source: Third Supplemental report to the First Report of the Receiver
Proposed a course of action for the Active Mortgages and sought an increase to the Receiver's Charge; did not oppose Teichman and Stein enforcing on the S-27 Mortgage but opposed carving out S-26.
Source: Second Supplemental Report to the First Report of the Receiver
Set out realization strategies across the Alliance, Ballymore, Waterways, Heritage Village, Raseta Lands, Subramaniam and Bidmead mortgage positions, with a financial review and an investor claims process still under development.
Supplementary Motion Record of the Proposed Representative Counsel — Application / notice of application
Notice and Statement of Receiver – 1981361 Ontario Inc. — Notice of receiver (s. 245 / Form 87)
Notice and Statement of Receiver – 2486976 Ontario Inc. — Notice of receiver (s. 245 / Form 87)
Notice and Statement of Receiver – Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc. — Notice of receiver (s. 245 / Form 87)
Motion Record of Palaire Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP — Application / notice of application
Appointed B. Riley Farber Inc. receiver of SMFI, 2486976 Ontario Inc. and 1981361 Ontario Inc. on the FSRA Chief Executive Officer's application under MBLAA section 37 and Courts of Justice Act section 101.
Source: Receivership Appointment Order
Case update
Sussman Mortgage Funding: a land-lease community for sale, with no broker
Justice J. Dietrich approved a sale process on October 26 for the Uptergrove land-lease community in Ramara, held half by one of the debtors; its co-owner consented in exchange for a guarantee release. The receiver says it is examining security purportedly granted to members of an investor group, and sets out no view while talks continue.
Debtor
Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc. (SMFI) et al.
Applicant
Financial Services Regulatory Authority
Receiver
B. Riley Farber
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Dietrich | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 23 orders, Apr 2025 – Oct 2026 | 132 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverB. Riley Farber | Dentons Canada LLP | 1 May 2025 | Factum · 1 May 2025 |
| ApplicantFinancial Services Regulatory Authority | Aird & Berlis LLP · Fogler, Rubinoff LLP · Chaitons LLP | 25 Apr 2025 | Order · 7 Jan 2026 |
| DebtorSussman Mortgage Funding Inc. (SMFI) et al. | Aird & Berlis LLP · Paul J. Daffern Law Firm Previously Clyde & Co Canada LLP (last seen 15 May 2025) | 15 May 2025 | Service list · 25 Jun 2026 |
| Creditor2114568 Ontario Inc., Alliance Homes Ltd., Alex Troop | DPJP Professional Corporation | 25 Jun 2026 | Service list · 25 Jun 2026 |
| CreditorBallymore Building (Innisfil) Corporation | Robins Appleby LLP | 25 Jun 2026 | Service list · 25 Jun 2026 |
| CreditorCathy Horne and Marcus Kremer | Gionet Fairley Wood LLP | 15 May 2025 | Application · 15 May 2025 |
| CreditorCertain Investors | Dentons Canada LLP | 1 May 2025 | Factum · 1 May 2025 |
| CreditorChief Executive Officer of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario | Chaitons LLP | 25 Apr 2025 | Factum · 25 Apr 2025 |
| CreditorLogpin Investments Limited, The Goldfarb Corporation, Jeffrey Goldfarb and Gary Goldfarb | Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP | 15 May 2025 | Affidavit · 15 May 2025 |
| CreditorMichael Stein | Friedmans Law Firm | 8 Jul 2025 | Application · 8 Jul 2025 |
| CreditorRobert Green Investors | Ricketts, Harris LLP | 25 Jun 2026 | Service list · 25 Jun 2026 |
| CreditorStephen Shefsky, Rita Shefsky and Samantha Shefsky | AFFLECK GREENE McMURTRY LLP | 25 Jun 2026 | Service list · 25 Jun 2026 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Logpin Investments LimitedPage 2 states this amount as '$Unknown' (secured creditor holding or possibly holding security); List of Creditors (page 4) states an exact figure, used here. — debtor: Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc., 2486976 Ontario Inc., 1981361 Ontario Inc. | $45.2M | Notice and Statement of Receiver – Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc. |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
41 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansSale process approved — The Court approved the sale and investment solicitation process (SISP) for the Uptergrove Lands and related assets; the Receiver is authorized to implement it.Court Order · 26 Oct 2026
6 engagements · 3 firms — latest: Dentons Canada LLP, 31 Mar – 30 Sep 2025, approvedMotion Record of the Receiver – dated 2025-10-15 · 15 Oct 2025
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aird & Berlis LLPCounselperiod 4 of 4 | 2 Jul – 31 Aug 2025 | — | not stated | Motion Record of Representative Counsel · 21 Oct 2025 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Aird & Berlis LLPCounselperiod 3 of 4 | 17 Apr – 3 Jul 2025 | 6 people | Motion Record of Representative Counsel · 21 Oct 2025 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
6 people — Aird & Berlis LLP, 17 Apr – 3 Jul 2025 · 18 blurred figures
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Aird & Berlis LLPCounselperiod 2 of 4 | 30 Mar – 16 May 2025 | 6 people | Motion Record of Representative Counsel · 21 Oct 2025 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
6 people — Aird & Berlis LLP, 30 Mar – 16 May 2025 · 18 blurred figures
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Aird & Berlis LLPCounselperiod 1 of 4 | — | — | — | 16 people | Motion Record of Representative Counsel · 21 Oct 2025 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
16 people — Aird & Berlis LLP · 48 blurred figures
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| B. Riley Farber Inc.Receiver | —Approved | — | Motion Record of the Receiver – dated 2025-10-15 · 15 Oct 2025 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Dentons Canada LLPCounsel | 31 Mar – 30 Sep 2025Approved | — | not stated | Motion Record of the Receiver – dated 2025-10-15 · 15 Oct 2025 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
95 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cumulative receipts
$1.41M
As at 30 Sep 2025Second Report of the Receiver
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Court Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order of Justice J. Dietrich (Ancillary Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order of Justice J. Dietrich (Approval of Representative Counsel Fees)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of Representative Counsel | PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Creditor Package
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appontment | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Filing of a Bankruptcy Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2026-01-07
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order of Justice J. Dietrich (Bankruptcy Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of Representative Counsel – dated 2026-01-02 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-11-21
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Creditors Package
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment – dated 2025-11-14 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment | PDF · Subscribers | |
Amendment to Representative Counsel Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich (SMFI)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order of Justice J. Dietrich (SMFI Approvals)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Aide Memoire of Michael Stein – dated 2025-10-24
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Report to the Second Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of Alliance Homes Inc. et al. | PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of Representative Counsel
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of the Receiver – dated 2025-10-15
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Aide Memoire of the Goldfarb Group
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-10-03
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-09-10
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order of Justice J. Dietrich
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of Representative Counsel – dated 2025-09-08 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-08-15
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of Representative Counsel – dated 2025-08-14 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Aide Memoire of Michael Stein
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Supplemental report to the First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended and Restated Receivership Order of Justice J. Dietrich
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-07-25
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of Ballymore | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of Representative Counsel | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Supplemental Report to the First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of Mr. Stein
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of M. Stein
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-06-26
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of Alliance Homes | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplementary Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement re Representative Counsel Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Investors on Representative Counsel Motion | PDF · Subscribers | |
Representative Counsel Order of Justice J. Dietrich
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Beatrice Loschiavo | PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Goldfarb Investors
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Memorandum of Law and Argument of the Proposed Representative Counsel, Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Affidavit of Dannallyn Salita
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplementary Factum of the Proposed Representative Counsel | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplementary Motion Record of the Proposed Representative Counsel
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-05-13
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice and Statement of Receiver – 1981361 Ontario Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice and Statement of Receiver – 2486976 Ontario Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice and Statement of Receiver – Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc.
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responding Motion Record of the Goldfarb Investors | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of Palaire Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP | PDF · Subscribers | |
Aide Memoire of the Plaintiffs – dated 2025-05-02
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich – dated 2025-05-02
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Mareva Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Appointment Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Aide Memoire of the Applicant
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Proposed Representative Investors | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplementary Affidavit of Harley Zaretsky | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of Aird & Berlis | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Amy Casella
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Applicant
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responding Application Record | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Aide Memoire of the Plaintiffs | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice J. Dietrich
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application Record
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Motion | PDF · Subscribers | |
Teaser
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Sussman Mortgage Funding Inc. (SMFI) et al.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/sussman-mortgage-funding-inc-smfi-et-al
Sources last checked · summary updated 13 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/sussman-mortgage-funding-inc-smfi-et-al
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.