Order-NOI Stay Extension & Administration Relief - dated April 1, 2026 was filed.
Source: Order-NOI Stay Extension & Administration Relief - dated April 1, 2026
Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited filed a Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal on March 6, 2026, commencing a Division I proposal proceeding under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. The matter sits before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, in bankruptcy and insolvency, under court file number 21-3343101. The proceeding is active. The record to date consists of the March 6 filing itself, and no subsequent step has been entered on it.
Order-NOI Stay Extension & Administration Relief - dated April 1, 2026 was filed.
Source: Order-NOI Stay Extension & Administration Relief - dated April 1, 2026
Sleeping Giant Brewing filed its Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal, opening the Division I proceeding in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.
Source: First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated March 27, 2026
Debtor
Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited
Proposal trustee
BDO
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Morawetz | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 1 order, Apr 2026 | 130 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| DebtorSleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | Loopstra Nixon LLP | 30 Mar 2026 | Factum · 30 Mar 2026 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | Deemed trusts (CRA and other) | Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 926 casesDeemed trust class indebtedness comprising: source deductions unremitted to Feb 28, 2026 ($432,817.82); HST unremitted to Jan 31, 2026 ($852,437.30); beer & wine (spirit) taxes unremitted to Jan 31, 2026 ($441,151.92); excise taxes ($47,168.05, no date stated). Total is the document-stated CRA Debt figure, not a computed sum. — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $1.77M | First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated March 27, 2026 |
| 4 | Secured | Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) · in 241 casesGeneral security agreement over all of the Company's assets, registered under the PPSA (Ontario) — Amount stated as approximate; no specific balance date given — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $719K | First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated March 27, 2026 |
| 4 | Secured | Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) · in 556 casesGeneral security agreement over all of the Company's assets, registered under the PPSA (Ontario) — Amount stated as approximate; no specific balance date given — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $147K | First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated March 27, 2026 |
| 4 | Secured | Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation (NOHFC) · in 2 casesGeneral security agreement over all of the Company's assets, registered under the PPSA (Ontario) — Amount stated as approximate; no specific balance date given — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $96.5K | First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated March 27, 2026 |
| 8 | Unsecured | CRA - Tax - Ontario · in 252 casesas of NOI filing date — Deemed trust class (Canada Revenue Agency) — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $1.33M | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Business Development Bank of Canada · in 241 casesas of NOI filing date — Listed as 'Buy Out Loan'; document does not state security status — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $545K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Minister of Finance (Account Management and Collections Branch, Insolvency Unit) · in 71 casesas of NOI filing date — Ontario Ministry of Finance; deemed trust / provincial tax class — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $441K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Trevlind Investmentsas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $206K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Business Development Bank of Canada · in 241 casesas of NOI filing date — Account #102691-02, 102691-03; document does not state security status — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $174K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Northern Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — Provincial government agency; document does not state security status — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $96.2K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Canadian Canning Incas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $93.1K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Country Maltas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $78.5K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | GARDEWINE GROUP INC · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $40.1K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Synergy North · in 4 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $26.8K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Packaging Technologies Inc · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — Address: 310 Courtland Ave, Concord ON; separate claim from other listing at different address — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $26.7K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | GEA Mechanical Equipment Canadaas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $25.4K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Packaging Technologies Inc · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — Address: 130 Courtland Ave, Concord ON — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $24.6K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Cozen O'Connor · in 3 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $17.6K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | MNP LLP · in 63 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $17.6K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Gary Gurmukh Sales Ltd · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $14.7K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Hops Connect · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $12.7K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | TNG Canadaas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $12.6K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | WSIB · in 51 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $12.4K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | LINDE CANADA INC. · in 51 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $12K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Hart Print Incas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $10.9K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Accelerate360 Canada, Incas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $10.8K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Ambler Apparel Inc.as of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $10.1K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Canenpak Incas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $9.89K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Black Maple Trading Co.as of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $9.5K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Ecolab · in 29 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $7.82K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | ONTARIO SMALL BREWERS ASSOCIATIONas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $6.76K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Buset LLP · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $6.51K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | 3G Packaging · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $6.47K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | PRX Print · in 2 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $5.15K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Smith Induspacas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $4.71K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Martin Roy Transport · in 5 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $4.66K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Lago Apparelas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $4.44K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Chem-Aqua · in 5 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $3.63K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Uline · in 72 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $3.5K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Sagamok Beverage Companyas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $3.21K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Specific Mechanical Systemsas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $3.06K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Twigzas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $2.64K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Digital Labelsas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $2.21K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Byward Outfittersas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $1.65K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Prosource Scientific Incas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $1.65K | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Scott Laboratories Limitedas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $880 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Yeast Canada Innovationsas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $419 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Toyota Credit Canada Incorporated · in 10 casesas of NOI filing date — Anca, Bankruptcy Desk; document does not state security status — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $250 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Botanic Planetas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $250 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Entandem · in 8 casesas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $250 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | RBC Royal Bank · in 52 casesas of NOI filing date — c/o BankruptcyHighway.com; document does not state security status — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $250 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
| 8 | Unsecured | Attractions Ontarioas of NOI filing date — debtor: Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited | $250 | NOI - Notice to Creditors |
per Approximate figures based on Company's unaudited books and records/management information, not independently verified by Proposal Trustee · Entity - Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited — Liabilities described as 'total approximately $3.44 million'; no total assets figure stated in the report. Unsecured trade debt and other creditors approx. $742,744.28 as at date of NOI (page 7), not included in secured creditors list.
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Order-NOI Stay Extension & Administration Relief - dated April 1, 2026
| ||
Factum - dated March 30, 2026
| ||
First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated March 27, 2026
| ||
Motion Record - dated March 25, 2026
| ||
NOI - Notice to Creditors
| ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Sleeping Giant Brewing Co. Limited” (Proposal), Ontario Superior Court of Justice · In Bankruptcy and Insolvency. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/sleeping-giant-brewing-co-limited
Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/sleeping-giant-brewing-co-limited
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.