Creditors of R Home Supply Centre Ltd. met, the meeting recorded under the same December 23, 2014 commencement date.
Source: Creditor package Dec 8-15
R Home Supply Centre Ltd. was placed into bankruptcy on December 23, 2014 under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act in British Columbia, on the petition of Home Hardware Stores Limited and The Bank of Nova Scotia, with Deloitte Restructuring Inc. as trustee under court file B-131248. The proceeding follows BNS's appointment of Grant Thornton Ltd. as receiver in July 2013 under a general security agreement over all of R Home's assets and a first mortgage over Lot A at 1628 Alaska Avenue, Dawson Creek. Assets carrying a book value of $6,480,621 at the date of receivership produced realizations of $1,041,887, which the trustee reports are fully encumbered. Home Hardware's second mortgage redemption figure was fixed at $2,369,902.57 as of July 22, 2014, plus interest, and it claims $2,889,185 in trade payables, alongside $286,871 owing to 77 other creditors and $217,000 in statutory obligations.
Creditors of R Home Supply Centre Ltd. met, the meeting recorded under the same December 23, 2014 commencement date.
Source: Creditor package Dec 8-15
Report of the court officer placed on the file, dated to the December 23, 2014 commencement of the proceedings.
Source: Trustee's Preliminary Report
Debtor
R Home Supply Centre Ltd.
Trustee in bankruptcy
Deloitte
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Home Hardware Stores Limited (HHSL) · in 6 casesSecond mortgage over Lot A; security over HH shares/notes held by R Home as security for amounts owing under the Dealer Agreement — Amount is the redemption figure fixed in the order nisi of foreclosure as of July 22, 2014, plus interest; mortgage ranks behind BNS's first mortgage. To the extent unrecovered through receivership/foreclosure, HH is eligible to file as unsecured creditor for the shortfall. — debtor: R Home Supply Centre Ltd. · as of 22 Jul 2014 | $2.37M | Trustee's Preliminary Report |
| 4 | Secured | The Bank of Nova Scotia · in 110 casesGeneral security agreement over all of R Home's assets; first mortgage over Lot A (1628 Alaska Avenue, Dawson Creek, BC) — Balance not stated; BNS valued its own security and asserted an unsecured claim in excess of $1,000 for petition purposes after estimated security deduction. Appointed Grant Thornton Ltd. as receiver in July 2013. — debtor: R Home Supply Centre Ltd. | — | Trustee's Preliminary Report |
| 8 | Unsecured | Home Hardware Stores Limited (HHSL) · in 6 casesReflects unpaid trade payables under Dealer Agreement; HH also holds security (second mortgage/share security) - shortfall after security realization would be pursued as unsecured claim per Trustee's report. — debtor: R Home Supply Centre Ltd. · as of 12 Aug 2013 | $2.89M | Trustee's Preliminary Report |
| 8 | Unsecured | Unsecured creditors (aggregate as reported - 77 other creditors) · in 532 casesDocument names no individual creditors within this aggregate figure. — debtor: R Home Supply Centre Ltd. · as of 12 Aug 2013 | $287K | Trustee's Preliminary Report |
| 8 | Unsecured | Unremitted source deductions, employee claims, sales taxes, and WorkSafeBC remittances (aggregate)Includes deemed-trust class items (source deductions/sales taxes) and WorkSafeBC/employee claims; document does not itemize by creditor. Trustee noted judgment referenced priority of Crown claims that would otherwise rank ahead of BNS/HHSL security. — debtor: R Home Supply Centre Ltd. · as of 26 Jun 2013 | $217K | Trustee's Preliminary Report |
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
per Book value at date of receivership (per Receiver's records); comparative column shows value realized by Receiver of $1,041,887 · R Home Supply Centre Ltd. (entity level) — Table shows book value at date of receivership (total $6,480,621) versus value realized by Receiver (total $1,041,887); no total liabilities figure stated in the report. All funds realized are fully encumbered per Trustee.
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Creditor package Dec 8-15
| ||
Trustee's Preliminary Report
| ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “R Home Supply Centre Ltd.” (Bankruptcy), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/r-home-supply-centre-ltd
Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/r-home-supply-centre-ltd
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.