Proceedings.

PTL Holdings Limited, PTL Services (Equipment) Limited, CSL Services (Industrial) Limited, 9263357 Canada Inc.

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
2018 01G 3114
Filings held39
Last activity20 Jan 2023
On the record2,908 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

PTL Holdings Limited, together with PTL Services (Equipment) Limited, CSL Services (Industrial) Limited and 9263357 Canada Inc. — the PTL Group — was placed in court-appointed receivership under BIA s. 243 and provincial Judicature Act authority in the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, file 2018 01G 3114. BDO Canada Limited was appointed receiver by order of the Court in Bankruptcy and Insolvency on May 11, 2018, and set out a formal sale process for the group's assets and/or operations en bloc, as a going concern or otherwise. At the level of 9263357 Canada Inc., a property holding company at Southern Harbour, secured claims were stated at $5,716,576 for CIBC and $11,500,000 for the Parsons Vendors and CSL Vendors, against accounts receivable of $100 and real property of $587,060. The proceeding, commenced November 19, 2018, is closed.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates16 dated entries · 23 undated
Undated filings23 — no date appears on the document · show
—
Report

Appendices to Receiver's Third Report — Court officer report filed

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Appendix A.2 - Affidavit of P. Clarke - Application for Court-Appointed Receiver — Application filed

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Appendix A.4 - Affidavit of M. Dunning - Service - Application for Court-Appointed Receiver - PTL — Application filed

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Appendix D - Receiver 245 246 Notice - PTL Holdings — Private appointment (s. 245 notice)

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Appendix F - Receiver 245 246 Notice CSL Services — Private appointment (s. 245 notice)

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Appendix O.4 - Locke's APA Amendment Outside Date to August 15 — Application filed

PDF · Subscribers

—
Claims

Holdings Creditors Package - Bankruptcy — Meeting of creditors

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Notice of Motion re Final Distribution and Discharge — Application filed

PDF · Subscribers

—
Order

PTL Lockes Sale Approval and Vesting Order — Interim order granted

PDF · Subscribers

—
Filing

Receiver 245 246 Notice - 9263357 — Private appointment (s. 245 notice)

PDF · Subscribers

—
Report

Second Report to the Court of Receiver — Court officer report filed

PDF · Subscribers

Parties

Debtor

PTL Holdings Limited, PTL Services (Equipment) Limited, CSL Services (Industrial) Limited, 9263357 Canada Inc.

Receiver

BDO

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredParsons Vendors and CSL VendorsListed under item 4(d) as creditors holding security on the Property; the security is not described. — A collective vendor group as the document names it. — debtor: 9263357 Canada Inc. (subsidiary of PTL Holdings Limited; part of the “PTL Group” with CSL Services (Industrial) Limited and PTL Services (Equipment) Limited)$11.5MReceiver 245 246 Notice - 9263357
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

3 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. respective Unions a distribution · CIBC a distribution · CSL Vendors no distribution.EstimatedReceiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Court chargesUnion Dues Charge—per the receiverAmended Notice of Motion
Court chargesUnion Pension Chargerespective Unions—per the receiverAmended Notice of Motion
Deemed trustUnion Pension Charge—per the receiverSecond Report to the Court of Receiver · 18 Oct 2018
SecuredCIBC—interimFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020
SecuredCSL Vendors—no distributionEstimatedper the receiverSecond Report to the Court of Receiver · 18 Oct 2018
SecuredParsons Vendors and CSL Vendors—no distributionper the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020
Preferredsalaried employees 81.4 Charge—per the receiverSecond Report to the Court of Receiver · 18 Oct 2018
Unsecured——no distributionEstimatedper the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020
class not placedCSL UnionCSL Union—finalFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020
class not placedPTL UnionPTL Union—finalFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

7 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

4 engagements · 3 firms — latest: Cox & Palmer, to 31 Jul 2020, in feesAppendices to Receiver's Third Report

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 2 of 23 Jul 2018 – 31 Jul 2020Receiver's Third Report · 8 Sep 2020
BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 1 of 2to 30 Jun 2018SoughtSecond Report to the Court of Receiver
Cox & PalmerCounsel to the receiverto 31 Jul 2020—not statedAppendices to Receiver's Third Report
Patterson LawCounsel to the receiverto 31 Jul 2020—not statedAppendices to Receiver's Third Report

8 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
39 filings
DateDocumentFile
Receiver's Discharge Certificate - Jan 20 2023PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Third Report
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated; per unstated; per actual; per actual; per actual; per unstated · Stated on: 2020-09-08 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
PTL Group - Distribution Order dated December 4, 2018PDF · Subscribers
Vesting Order Application - Affidavit of Darren O'KeefePDF · Subscribers
Vesting Order Application - Memorandum of AuthoritiesPDF · Subscribers
Appendix P - Receiver's Interim SRD to July 20, 2018PDF · Subscribers
PTL Holdings Ltd. - Application for Vesting Order [AS FILED] July 17, 2018PDF · Subscribers
Appendix O.2 - Locke's July 10, 2018 PTL GroupPDF · Subscribers
Appendix K - Initial Bids SummaryPDF · Subscribers
Appendix I - PTL Group TeaserPDF · Subscribers
Appendix J - PTL Group AdvertisementPDF · Subscribers
Appendix E - Receiver 245 246 Notice - PTL ServicesPDF · Subscribers
Appendix H - PTL Group - CIMPDF · Subscribers
PTL Group First Report to the CourtPDF · Subscribers
Receivership Appointment Order May 11, 2018
  • Court SUPREME COURT OF NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR IN BANKRUPTCY AND INSOLVENCY
  • Court file no 2018 01G 3114
PDF · Subscribers
Appendix L - Altus AppraisalPDF · Subscribers
926 Creditors Package - BankruptcyPDF · Subscribers
Amended Notice of Motion
  • Commencement date 19 November 2018
  • Court IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR TRIAL DIVISION (GENERAL)
  • Court file no 2018 01G 3114
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Appendices to Receiver's Third Report
PDF · Subscribers
Appendices to the Second ReportPDF · Subscribers
Appendix A.2 - Affidavit of P. Clarke - Application for Court-Appointed ReceiverPDF · Subscribers
Appendix A.3 - Ca Receiver ConsentPDF · Subscribers
Appendix A.4 - Affidavit of M. Dunning - Service - Application for Court-Appointed Receiver - PTLPDF · Subscribers
Appendix D - Receiver 245 246 Notice - PTL HoldingsPDF · Subscribers
Appendix F - Receiver 245 246 Notice CSL ServicesPDF · Subscribers
Appendix M - Fitzpatrick AppraisalPDF · Subscribers
Appendix N - Castle ValuationPDF · Subscribers
Appendix O.1 - PTL Group - Lockes APAPDF · Subscribers
Appendix O.3 - Initialed ExhibitsPDF · Subscribers
Appendix O.4 - Locke's APA Amendment Outside Date to August 15PDF · Subscribers
CSL Creditors Package - BankruptcyPDF · Subscribers
Form 66 - PTL GroupPDF · Subscribers
Holdings Creditors Package - BankruptcyPDF · Subscribers
Notice of MotionPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion re Final Distribution and DischargePDF · Subscribers
PTL Creditors Package - BankruptcyPDF · Subscribers
PTL Lockes Sale Approval and Vesting OrderPDF · Subscribers
Receiver 245 246 Notice - 9263357
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Second Report to the Court of Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated; per estimated; per estimated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2018-10-18 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “PTL Holdings Limited, PTL Services (Equipment) Limited, CSL Services (Industrial) Limited, 9263357 Canada Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/ptl-holdings-limited-ptl-services-equipment-limited-csl-services-industrial-limi

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/ptl-holdings-limited-ptl-services-equipment-limited-csl-services-industrial-limi

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.