Proceedings.

Metropolis Properties Inc

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)Sections 47(1) and 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, and Section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43
File
CV-14-10585-00CL
Industry
Real estate
Filings held17
Last activity11 May 2018
On the record4,525 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Metropolis Properties Inc. has been in court-appointed receivership since June 16, 2014, when the Ontario Superior Court of Justice appointed MNP Ltd. receiver and manager under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, in file CV-14-10585-00CL. The application was brought by the holders of the second through twelfth mortgages on 91-93 Scollard Street, Toronto — Stanbarr Services Limited, Janodee Investments Ltd., Meadowshire Investments Ltd., Regard Investments Ltd., 1563503 Ontario Limited, Beaver Pond Investments Ltd., The Canada Trust Company, Rita Rosenberg and 527540 Ontario Limited — who were owed $5,724,210.70 in aggregate as at June 4, 2014, having issued section 244 notices as of that date. Canada Investment Corporation, a related party holding the first mortgage, sold the property under power of sale to 2413913 Ontario Ltd effective June 6, 2014; the receiver disputes that transaction and seeks to set it aside. The receivership remains active.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates17 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Sixth Report. The Property has been sold and the Receiver is now seeking court direction on the proper distribution of net sale proceeds among Gingko and the Subsequent Mortgagees, after which it intends to complete administration and be discharged.

Source: Sixth Report of the Receiver dated April 25, 2018

#Report

The officer filed report no. Fifth Report of the Receiver. The Receiver closed the court-approved sale of the Scollard Street property on March 9, 2017, after amending the APS and negotiating a lease termination with the tenant Mad Dash. Sale proceeds are held pending the appeal of Justice Matheson's decisions.

Source: Fifth Report of the Receiver dated September 7, 2017

#Report

The officer filed report no. Fourth Report of the Receiver. The Receiver is securing, preserving and maintaining the Scollard Street property and, after a court-approved sales process run through Avison Young, is seeking approval of a proposed sale agreement. Net sale proceeds will be held in trust pending the outcome of appeals of the ownership and priority decisions.

Source: Fourth Report of the Receiver dated January 11,2017

#Report

The officer filed report no. Third Report of the Receiver. The receivership was reinstated on February 1, 2016. The Receiver is collecting rent from four remaining commercial tenants totalling $11,800 per month, which does not cover monthly operating costs. The Property needs significant repairs, and the Receiver proposes a sales process because it lacks funding to complete renovations.

Source: Third Report of the Receiver dated May 18,2016

#Order

Receivership order made, placing Metropolis Properties Inc under court-appointed receivership in Ontario Superior Court of Justice file CV-14-10585-00CL and commencing the proceeding.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

Metropolis Properties Inc

Receiver

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice BrownOntario Superior Court of Justice4 orders, Jun 2014 – Jul 201443 cases on record
Justice ConwayOntario Superior Court of Justice3 orders, May 2016 – Jan 2017310 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantChaitons LLP16 Jun 2014Order · 1 Feb 2016
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
Secured2nd through 12th mortgagees (Applicants, collectively)2nd through 12th ranking mortgages on 91-93 Scollard Street, Toronto — Aggregate stated in document as total secured by 2nd-12th mortgages as at June 4, 2014; section 244 notices issued as of same date; individual mortgage amounts not broken out. — debtor: Metropolis Properties Inc. · as of 4 Jun 2014$5.72MFirst Report of the Receiver dated July 7 2014
Secured

1 more claim in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

5 transactions · 4 closed · 1 proposed — The sale of the Property was completed by the Receiver on March 9, 2017. In connection with the sale, the Receiver received gross sale proceeds of $6,800,000.Sixth Report of the Receiver dated April 25, 2018 · 25 Apr 2018

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
unnamed purchaser under Proposed Sale Agreement, price and details sealed in Supplemental Fourth Reportthe Property · real propertySealedProposedFourth Report of the Receiver dated January…
Purchaser under the APS approved by the January 26th Order; represented by Feige Nawrocki LLPthe Property · real propertynot statedClosedFifth Report of the Receiver dated September 7,…
unnamedthe Propertynot statedClosed9 Mar 2017Fifth Report of the Receiver dated September 7,…
unnamed purchaser under sale agreement dated October 27, 2016the Property · real property · agreement 27 Oct 2016SubscribersClosedSixth Report of the Receiver dated April 25,…
unnamedthe Propertynot statedClosed9 Mar 2017Sixth Report of the Receiver dated April 25,…
AdvisorsAvison Young (listing broker)Fourth Report of the Receiver dated January 11,2017
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

2421955 Ontario Limited: no distribution.Sixth Report of the Receiver · 25 Apr 2018

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Secured2421955 Ontario Limited—no distributionper the receiverSixth Report of the Receiver · 25 Apr 2018
SecuredSai Mohammed—no distributionper the receiverSixth Report of the Receiver · 25 Apr 2018

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

1 engagement · 1 firm — MNP Ltd., 17 Jun – 11 Oct 2014, in feesFourth Report of the Receiver · 11 Jan 2017

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
MNP Ltd.Receiver17 Jun – 11 Oct 2014—Fourth Report of the Receiver · 11 Jan 2017

2 blurred figures above

What the firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$231K

As at 11 Jan 2017Fourth Report of the Receiver dated January 11,2017

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
17 filings
DateDocumentFile
Notice of Change Lawyer- May 11 2018PDF · Subscribers
Sixth Report of the Receiver dated April 25, 2018
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 9 Mar 2017
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Fifth Report of the Receiver dated September 7, 2017
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 9 Mar 2017
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Conway -Approval and Vesting Order- dated January 26 2017
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the Receiver dated January 11,2017
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Conway dated May 27 2016
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Conway -Approving Sale Process- dated May 27 2016
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Order date 27 May 2016
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Receiver dated May 18,2016
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position · Operational summary Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Newbould - February 1 2016
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Order date 1 February 2016
  • Presiding officer Justice Newbould
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Receiver of the Receiver dated July 14 2014
  • Operational summary The Debtor has not cooperated with the Receiver's information requests, unidentified occupants have repeatedly changed locks and moved into the vacant residential unit, and Canada Investment Corporation has not delivered the sale file, accounting or proceeds as directed by the July 10, 2014 Endorsement.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Brown - July 10 2014
  • Presiding officer Justice Brown
PDF · Subscribers
Transcript of Endorsement of Justice Brown - July 10 2014
  • Presiding officer Justice Brown
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Brown - July 18 2014
  • Presiding officer Justice Brown
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Receiver dated July 7 2014
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - July 7 2014
  • Applicant STANBARR SERVICES LIMITED, JANODEE INVESTMENTS LTD., MEADOWSHIRE INVESTMENTS LTD., REGARD INVESTMENTS LTD., 1563503 ONTARIO LIMITED, BEAVER POND INVESTMENTS LTD., THE CANADA TRUST COMPANY, RITA ROSENBERG and 527540 ONTARIO LIMITED
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-14-10585-00CL
  • Statutory basis Sections 47(1) and 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, and Section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Brown - June 16 2014PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant STANBARR SERVICES LIMITED, JANODEE INVESTMENTS LTD., MEADOWSHIRE INVESTMENTS LTD., REGARD INVESTMENTS LTD., 1563503 ONTARIO LIMITED, BEAVER POND INVESTMENTS LTD., THE CANADA TRUST COMPANY, RITA ROSENBERG and 527540 ONTARIO LIMITED
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 16 June 2014
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Metropolis Properties Inc” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/metropolis-properties-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/metropolis-properties-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.