Proceedings.

Little Fish Aquatics Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Winding-up (provincial)ss. 313, 325(1) and (3), 326, 330, 334 and 338 of the Business Corporations Act
File
S-234825
Filings held15
Last activity21 May 2026
On the record1,172 days
OverviewSummary updated

Little Fish Aquatics Inc. is the subject of insolvency proceedings before the Supreme Court of British Columbia, commenced by an application filed July 7, 2023 on behalf of Grant Thornton Limited, now known as Doane Grant Thornton LLP, and Julie Gagnon, with Grant Thornton acting as Liquidator under sections 42(1)(p), 46(3) and 48(1) of the Business Corporations Act. The Liquidator's First Report recorded a Canada Revenue Agency deemed trust claim of $343,934.29 for unremitted GST plus interest and penalty of $64,161.37, and identified 45 trade creditors owed $305,345.99 in aggregate on the company's accounts payable listing. A further application was filed on June 2, 2025. The Liquidator has been working with the company's bookkeeper and Mr. Sinitsin to determine amounts owed to employees, and completed an estimated realization analysis dated January 11, 2025 after the size of the CRA claim cast doubt on solvency.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates15 dated entries

12 earlier updates, back to 7 July 2023 subscribers.

Parties

Debtor

Little Fish Aquatics Inc.

Liquidator

Doane Grant Thornton

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
LiquidatorDoane Grant ThorntonNathanson Schachter & Thompson LLP2 Jun 2025Application · 2 Jun 2025
CreditorJulie GagnonLang Michener LLP (now McMillan LLP)2 Jun 2025Application · 2 Jun 2025
CreditorJulie Gagnon AttentionRosberg Sawatzky LLP21 May 2026Application · 21 May 2026
CreditorKen SinitsonRosberg Sawatzky LLP2 Jun 2025Application · 2 Jun 2025
CreditorTD BankRosberg Sawatzky LLP21 May 2026Application · 21 May 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
Preferred (BIA s. 136)Employees (wage claims) · in 185 casesamount to be determined through a formal claims process; likely preferred wage claims under BIA priority but amount not stated — debtor: Little Fish Aquatics Inc.Liquidator's First Report filed June 2 2025

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

2 more claims across lower-ranking classesSubscribe to view
Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 1 approved · 1 closedThe Real Property transaction closedLiquidator's Second Report filed May 21, 2026 · 19 May 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
1046335 B.C. Ltd.the two units · real property · agreement 18 Apr 2025SubscribersApprovedLiquidator's First Report filed June 2 2025
1046335 B.C. Ltd.the Purchased Property · real property · agreement 13 Apr 2025not statedClosed25 Jun 2025Liquidator's Second Report filed May 21, 2026
AdvisorsColliers (liquidator); Able (auctioneer)Liquidator's First Report filed June 2 2025
Closing termsVesting occurs upon delivery of the Liquidator's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price; vacant possession delivered at noon on the Possession Date.Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order) dated June…
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: shortfall.EstimatedLiquidator's Second Report filed May 21, 2026 · 13 Mar 2026

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
UnsecuredshortfallEstimatedper the liquidatorLiquidator's Second Report filed May 21, 2026 · 13 Mar 2026

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

2 stated figures across 1 outcome, each sourcedSubscribe to view
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$1.9M

As at 21 May 2026Liquidator's Second Report filed May 21, 2026

3 more reported figures, as at 21 May 2026Subscribe to view
Documents
15 filings
DateDocumentFile
Affidavit #1 of Peter Reardon sworn May 21, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #2 of Mark Wentzell sworn May 21, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Liquidator's Second Report filed May 21, 2026
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 25 Jun 2025 · 1046335 B.C. Ltd.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application filed May 21, 2026
  • Applicant Grant Thornton Limited, the Liquidator
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited (now known as Doane Grant Thornton LLP)
  • Appointee role Liquidator
  • Commencement date 21 May 2026
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order) dated June 10, 2025
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Liquidator's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price; vacant possession delivered at noon on the Possession Date.
  • Order date 10 June 2025
  • Purchaser 1046335 B.C. Ltd. · the Purchased Property · real property · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — Sale transaction approved by court
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Order Made After Application (Liquidator) dated June 10, 2025
  • Order date 10 June 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Jackson
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Liquidator's First Report filed June 2 2025
  • Process results 1 bids · as of 16 May 2025
  • Purchaser 1046335 B.C. Ltd. · the two units · real property · approved
  • Sale advisor Colliers (liquidator); Able (auctioneer)
  • Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application dated June 2, 2025
  • Applicant Grant Thornton Limited, the Liquidator
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited (now known as Doane Grant Thornton LLP)
  • Appointee role Liquidator
  • Commencement date 2 June 2025
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order Made after Application (Liquidator) dated November 18, 2024
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Daniel Sturgess sworn July 16, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Petition to Court filed July 7, 2024
  • Applicant Julie Gagnon
  • Commencement date 7 July 2023
  • Court file no S-234825
  • Statutory basis sections 42(1)(p), 46(3) and 48(1) of the Business Corporations Act, S.B.C. 2002, c. 57
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Kayla Strong sworn June 3, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Mark Wentzell sworn June 3, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #2 of Julie Gagnon sworn May 31, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Julie Gagnon sworn July 4, 2023PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Little Fish Aquatics Inc.” (Winding-up (provincial)), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/little-fish-aquatics-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 6 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/little-fish-aquatics-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.