Kings Cargo Express Ltd. and Canada Cargo Lines Ltd.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
- File
- CI 20-01-28589
- Industry
- Transportation & logistics · Trucking & freight
Kings Cargo Express Ltd. and Canada Cargo Lines Ltd. were placed into court-appointed receivership on October 5, 2020, under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act together with provincial Judicature Act authority. The matter proceeded in Manitoba before the Court of King's Bench, styled the Court of Queen's Bench at the time of commencement, under court file number CI 20-01-28589. The two carriers were administered together in the one proceeding. The receivership is now closed.
Receivership order granted over Kings Cargo Express Ltd. and Canada Cargo Lines Ltd., commencing the Manitoba proceeding in court file CI 20-01-28589.
Source: Receivership Order
Debtor
Kings Cargo Express Ltd. and Canada Cargo Lines Ltd.
Receiver
Deloitte
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Chartier | Court of King's Bench of Manitoba | 3 orders, Oct 2020 – Nov 2021 | 10 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverDeloitte | Taylor McCaffrey LLP | 2 Oct 2020 | Service list · 2 Oct 2020 |
| CreditorManjinder Rehal and Lavish Transport Ltd | Dentons Canada LLP | 8 Nov 2021 | Order · 8 Nov 2021 |
| CreditorTD Bank | Dentons Canada LLP | 8 Nov 2021 | Order · 8 Nov 2021 |
| CreditorToronto- Dominion Bank | Dentons Canada LLP | 2 Oct 2020 | Service list · 2 Oct 2020 |
The Toronto-Dominion Bank: shortfall.EstimatedFirst Report of the Receiver · 21 Jan 2021
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SecuredTD | The Toronto-Dominion Bank | — | shortfall | Estimatedper the receiver | First Report of the Receiver · 21 Jan 2021 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Deloitte Restructuring Inc., in feesFirst Report of the Receiver · 21 Jan 2021
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deloitte Restructuring Inc.Receiver | — | not stated | First Report of the Receiver · 21 Jan 2021 | ||
| Taylor McCaffrey LLPCounsel to the receiver | — | not stated | First Report of the Receiver · 21 Jan 2021 |
4 blurred figures above
What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Receiver's Discharge Certificate | PDF · Subscribers | |
Distribution and Conditional Discharge Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Report of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice and Statement of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Motion | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Scott Semler | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Kings Cargo Express Ltd. and Canada Cargo Lines Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Manitoba. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/kings-cargo-express-ltd-and-canada-cargo-lines-ltd