Proceedings.

King Square Ltd., and Markland Residential Corporation

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
Court
Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List
File
CV-23-00710215-00CL
Filings held28
Last activity8 Jun 2026
On the record1,013 days
Secured debt$52M
OverviewSummary updated

King Square Ltd. and Markland Residential Corporation remain subject to an active BIA proceeding arising out of the appointment of a Receiver on December 13, 2023 over two adjoining assets, the King Square Property (Phase 1 lands) and the Development Land (Phase 2/3 lands). MarshallZehr Group Inc., which took an assignment of Firm Capital Mortgage Fund Inc.'s security shortly before the appointment, is owed approximately $52 million in principal and interest as at the appointment date and holds a first charge on the King Square Property and a second charge on the Development Land. Firm Capital recovered the entirety of Facility A between March 2020 and November 2023 through power of sale and has no outstanding balance. Am-Stat Corporation, first mortgagee of the Development Land on a registered principal of $20,000,000, was owed approximately $21 million as at December 31, 2023, including interest accrued to November 30, 2023.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates28 dated entries
#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 2727297 Ontario Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order, dated September 27, 2024

#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Receiver continues marketing and selling the King Square retail units, having entered four agreements of purchase and sale (including the APS under review) with closings staggered through March 2025, while separately advancing planning approvals and marketing efforts to sell the adjacent Development Land, for which no bid deadline has yet been set.

Source: Second Report of the Receiver - Part 1, dated September 23, 2024

Parties

Debtor

King Square Ltd., and Markland Residential Corporation

Receiver

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice BlackOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Sep 2024176 cases on record
Justice KimmelOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Apr 2024182 cases on record
Justice SteeleOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Dec 2023220 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverEYAird & Berlis LLP · Chaitons LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorAltus Group LimitedPallett Valo LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorAm-Stat CorporationDickinson Wright LLP · Meretsky Law Firm13 Jun 2025Factum · 9 Mar 2026
CreditorCult Iron Works LimitedPallett Valo LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorDuka Property Management IncRe-Law LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorFAAN Mortgage Administrators IncOsler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorNon- YRSCC 1415Shibley Righton LLP31 Mar 2026Factum · 31 Mar 2026
CreditorOMJ Mortgage Capital IncPerlin Bal Figol LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorSchindler Elevator CorporationBlaney McMurtry LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorSkygrid Construction IncTorkin Manes LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
CreditorZhiqi Mao Aka Ray MaoMetcalfe, Blainey & Burns LLP13 Jun 2025Service list · 13 Jun 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 5 named without a figure
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredMarshallZehr Group Inc. · in 19 casesas of date of appointment of Receiver (December 13, 2023) — First ranking charge against King Square Property and second ranking charge against Development Land (security assigned from Firm Capital shortly before Receiver's appointment) — Approximately $52 million for principal and interest as at date of Receiver's appointment. Originally co-lender under the Firm Loan (Facility B), fully postponed to Firm Capital under Co-Lending Agreement dated January 27, 2017; Firm Capital recovered entirety of Facility A and, pursuant to an Assignment of Debt and Security Agreement, assigned its security t$52MFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredAm-Stat CorporationFirst ranking mortgage against Development Land, registered principal $20,000,000 — As at December 31, 2023, the Am-Stat loan was approximately $21 million, including accrued interest to November 30, 2023, but excluding additional costs, fees, charges and accrued interest from and after December 1, 2023. — debtor: Markland Residential Corporation · as of 31 Dec 2023$21MFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredBuilding & Development Mortgages Canada Inc. (Centro Mortgage Inc.) and Olympia Trust Company (BDMC) · in 2 casesThird ranking charge against King Square Property, face amount $8,562,687 — FAAN Mortgage Administrators Inc., court-appointed trustee of BDMC representing 176 individual retail investors, advised the Receiver that BDMC is owed approximately $8.5 million, consistent with the registered face amount. — debtor: King Square Ltd.$8.56MFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredGouping LiCertificate of Pending Litigation, subordinate to all prior ranking registrations against both King Square Property and Development Land — Default judgment dated January 3, 2024 in the amount of $6.5 million plus costs (costs amount unstated); judgment obtained against King Square, Markland and two other related party defendants. — debtor: King Square Ltd., Markland Residential Corporation and two other related party defendants · as of 3 Jan 2024$6.5MFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredAviva Insurance Company of Canada · in 12 casesSecond ranking mortgage on King Square Property (registered face amount $50,000,000) and third ranking mortgage on Development Land (registered face amount $5,000,000) — Aviva provided deposit insurance to King Square indemnifying purchaser deposit losses; face amounts of registered mortgages are registration ceilings, not balances. Aviva has paid out one claim to date in the amount of approximately $579,000. — debtor: King Square Ltd.$579KFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredOntario Superior Court of Justice on behalf of FAAN Mortgage Administrators Inc.Seventh ranking registered charge against King Square Property; face amount unknown — Face amount recorded as 'Unknown' per Receiver's review of title. — debtor: King Square Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredFirm Capital Mortgage Fund Inc. · in 10 casesRegistered first ranking charge against King Square Property and second ranking charge against Development Land; total facility maximum (Facility A $50,000,000 + Facility B $32,200,000) = $82,200,000 face amount — DISCHARGED / paid in full - Firm Capital recovered the entirety of amounts owed to it under Facility A between March 2020 and November 2023 through power of sale; security subsequently assigned to MarshallZehr shortly before Receiver's appointment. No outstanding balance remains with Firm Capital. — debtor: King Square Ltd. and Markland Residential CorporationFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredStateview Homes Inc.Sixth ranking charge against Development Land, face amount $4,500,000 — Face amount is registered mortgage principal, not a stated balance. — debtor: Markland Residential CorporationFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredFirst Source Mortgage Corporation (as transferred to 2198136 Ontario Ltd., as transferred to Wu Family Holdings / Wu Family Holdings Inc.) · in 3 casesFifth ranking charge ($7,000,000 face amount) and sixth ranking charge ($7,000,000 face amount) against King Square Property; fifth ranking charge ($7,000,000 face amount) against Development Land — Face amounts are registered mortgage principal amounts, not stated balances; original lender First Source Mortgage Corporation, subsequently transferred through 2198136 Ontario Ltd. to Wu Family Holdings/Wu Family Holdings Inc. — debtor: King Square Ltd. and Markland Residential CorporationFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
SecuredOYSX Inc.Fourth ranking charge against King Square Property (face amount $5,000,000); fourth ranking charge against Development Land (face amount $6,000,000) — Face amounts are registered mortgage principal amounts; no balance stated. — debtor: King Square Ltd. and Markland Residential CorporationFirst Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Approval pendingKing Square Units: four agreements of purchase and sale for Permitted Transactions entered into; two vesting orders signed for early fall closings; the APS for units 2R1/2R2 requires court approval as it exceeds the Permitted Transaction thresholdSecond Report of the Receiver - Part 1, dated September 23, 2024 · 23 Sep 2024

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
2727297 Ontario Inc.the property described in Schedule 'A' hereto (the ' Purchased Assets ') · real property · agreement 26 Aug 2024SealedPurchase price stated to exceed the threshold of the Permitted Transactions; amount not disclosed as it is sealed.Approved27 Sep 2024Approval and Vesting Order, dated September 27,…
AdvisorsErnst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (listing broker); Ernst & Young Real Estate Services Inc. (listing broker); Homelife Landmark Realty Inc. Brokerage (listing broker); AimHome Realty Inc. Brokerage (listing broker)Second Report of the Receiver - Part 1, dated September 23, 2024
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions.Approval and Vesting Order, dated September 27, 2024
Sealed materialsConfidential Appendix to the First ReportOrder, dated April 15, 2024
Documents
28 filings
DateDocumentFile
Factum of Am-Stat Corporation
  • Counsel Dickinson Wright LLP
PDF
Motion Record of York Region Standard Condominium Corp Part 1PDF
Motion Record of York Region Standard Condominium Corp Part 2PDF
Motion Record of York Region Standard Condominium Corp Part 3PDF
Motion Record of York Region Standard Condominium Corp Part 4PDF
Aide Memoire of the Court -Appointed ReceiverPDF
Aide Memoire of the York Region Standard Condominium Corp
  • Counsel Shibley Righton LLP
PDF
Motion Record of Am-Stat CorporationPDF
Aide Memoire of AM-STAT Corporation
  • Counsel Dickinson Wright LLP
PDF
Service List
  • Counsel Metcalfe, Blainey & Burns LLP
PDF
Ancillary Order, dated September 27, 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice W.D. Black
PDF
Approval and Vesting Order, dated September 27, 2024
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions.
  • Order date 27 September 2024
  • Purchaser 2727297 Ontario Inc. · the property described in Schedule 'A' hereto (the ' Purchased Assets ') · real property · approved
PDF
Endorsement of Black, J., dated September 27, 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Black
PDF
Motion Record - Part 1, returnable September 27, 2024PDF
Motion Record - Part 2, returnable September 27, 2024PDF
Second Report of the Receiver - Part 1, dated September 23, 2024
  • Operational summary The Receiver continues marketing and selling the King Square retail units, having entered four agreements of purchase and sale (including the APS under review) with closings staggered through March 2025, while separately advancing planning approvals and marketing efforts to sell the adjacent Development Land, for which no bid deadline has yet been set.
  • Process results 500 solicited · 28 NDAs · as of 23 Sep 2024
  • Purchaser 2727297 Ontario Inc. · King Square Units 2R1 and 2R2 located at 9390 Woodbine Avenue · asset sale · price sealed · proposed
  • Report date 23 September 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Second Report of the Receiver - Part 2, dated September 23, 2024PDF
Endorsement of Kimmel, J., dated April 15, 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Kimmel
PDF
Motion Record, returnable April 15, 2024PDF
Order, dated April 15, 2024
  • Order date 15 April 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Kimmel
  • Sealed items Confidential Appendix to the First Report
PDF
First Report of the Receiver, dated April 9, 2024
  • Secured creditors $8.56M · Note: FAAN Mortgage Administrators Inc., court-appointed trustee of BDMC representing 176 individual retail investors, advised the Receiver that BDMC is owed approximately $8.5 million, consistent with the registered face amount. · Page: 4 · Debtor: King Square Ltd. · Creditor: Building & Development Mortgages Canada Inc. (Centro Mortgage Inc.) and Olympia Trust Company (BDMC) · Security: Third ranking charge against King Square Property, face amount $8,562,687
PDF
King Square Ltd 245-246 NoticePDF
Markland Residential Corporation 245-246 NoticePDF
Appointing Receiver Order
  • Applicant MarshallZehr Group Inc.
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Commencement date 13 December 2023
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Endorsement
  • Presiding officer Justice Steele
PDF
Application Record Part 1
  • Applicant MARSHALLZEHR GROUP INC.
  • Commencement date 24 November 2023
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-23-00710215-00CL
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Application Record Part 2
  • Secured creditors Note: Indicated Firm Capital's consent per instrument YR3020457. · Page: 144 · As of: 2020-12-30 · Debtor: King Square Ltd. and Markland Residential Corporation · Creditor: Stateview Homes Inc. · Currency: CAD · Security: Charge YR3188395 on Phase 2/3 lands, registered principal $4,500,000.00
PDF
Application Record Part 3
  • Secured creditors $4.5M · Note: Alleged debt underlying litigation; statement of claim served on Vendor 2021-01-29; disputed by Vendor per Purchaser's counsel correspondence; not a consensual security interest but a registered encumbrance on title · Page: 104 · As of: 2022-04-01 · Debtor: Markland Residential Corporation · Creditor: Guoping Li · Security: Certificate of Pending Litigation (CPL) registered against title to the Property
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “King Square Ltd., and Markland Residential Corporation” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/king-square-ltd-and-markland-residential-corporation

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/king-square-ltd-and-markland-residential-corporation

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.