JBT Transport Inc. et al.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
- File
- CV-25-00737791-00CL
JBT Transport Inc. and affiliated companies have been in a court-appointed receivership since March 6, 2025, brought under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The JBT Group comprises JBT Transport Inc., Waydom Management Inc., Melair Management Inc., Heritage Truck Lines Inc., Drumbo Transport Limited, Heritage Northern Logistics Inc. and Heritage Warehousing & Distribution Inc. The Toronto-Dominion Bank is the senior secured lender to the group and additionally holds asset-specific PPSA registrations over three Crown forklifts identified by VIN. All secured creditors holding PPSA registrations against Heritage Warehousing & Distribution Inc. were served with the motion, with those registrations summarised in a PPSA summary at Appendix D. The proceeding remains active.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to McDougall Auctioneers Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order
The officer filed report no. Second Report. The JBT Group has ceased going-concern operations; the Receiver is liquidating remaining fleet equipment, inventory and related assets through a negotiated sale to McDougall Auctioneer Ltd. and winding down the estate.
The court appointed BDO Canada Limited as receiver and manager, on the application of The Toronto-Dominion Bank. Court file CV-25-00737791-00CL.
Debtor
JBT Transport Inc. et al.
Applicant
TD Bank
Receiver
BDO
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Kimmel | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 9 orders, Mar 2025 – Jul 2026 | 198 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverBDO | Harrison Pensa LLP | 29 Jul 2025 | Order · 29 Jul 2025 |
| CreditorToronto-Dominion Bank | Miller Thomson LLP | 6 Mar 2025 | Order · 6 Mar 2025 |
| CreditorTrade-Mark Industrial Inc., Trade-Crete Ltd | Miller Thomson LLP | 7 Jul 2026 | Order · 7 Jul 2026 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | The Toronto-Dominion Bank · in 121 casesPPSA (Ontario) registration no. 20230124 1530 1793 8348 against Heritage Warehousing & Distribution Inc. (collateral classes: Equipment, Accounts, Motor Vehicle); general financing/credit facilities and forbearance agreement — Described as 'approximate sum'; senior secured and largest creditor; exclusive of professional fees; interest and legal costs continuing to accrue (the 'Indebtedness') — debtor: JBT Transport Inc., Waydom Management Inc., Melair Management Inc., Heritage Truck Lines Inc., Drumbo Transport Limited, Heritage Northern Logistics Inc., Heritage Warehousing & Distribution Inc. · as of 15 Jan 2025 | $16.2M | Motion Record - BDO Canada Limited dated April 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
4 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansThis proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
2 transactions · 1 closed · 1 approved — Receiver recommends approval of the McDougall Transaction for the EquipmentSecond Report of he Receiver dated July 16, 2025 · 16 Jul 2025
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1001172780 Ontario Limitedthe HWD Transaction · asset sale | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Second Report of he Receiver dated July 16, 2025 |
| McDougall Auctioneers Ltd.the Debtors' right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · auction · agreement 15 Jul 2025 | Subscribers | Approved29 Jul 2025 | Approval and Vesting Order |
TD Bank: shortfall.EstimatedSecond Report of he Receiver · 16 Jul 2025
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | TD Bank | — | shortfall | Estimatedper the receiver | Second Report of he Receiver · 16 Jul 2025 |
| SecuredTD Bank | The Toronto-Dominion Bank | — | shortfall | Estimated | Motion Record - BDO Canada Limited · 7 Apr 2025 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
Professional fees
$417K
As at 30 Jun 2025Second Report of he Receiver dated July 16, 2025
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Endorsement - dated July 7, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended Appointment Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Ancillary Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record - BDO Canada Limited dated July 17, 2025 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of he Receiver dated July 16, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record - BDO Canada Limited dated April 7, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver dated April 4, 2025.pdf
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order Endorsement, dated March 7, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended Receivership Order dated March 6, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order, dated March 6, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “JBT Transport Inc. et al.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/jbt-transport-inc-et-al