Proceedings.

How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
NOIParagraph 50.4(8)(b.1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
File
500-11-059020-202
Filings held10
Last activity8 Dec 2020
On the record2,127 days
Secured debt$6.32M
OverviewSummary updated

How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc. filed notices of intention to make a proposal under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, commenced on November 24, 2020 in Quebec. Ernst & Young Inc. is the licensed insolvency trustee. The proceeding, under court file numbers 500-11-059020-202 and 500-11-059021-200, remains active.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates10 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Preliminary Administration Report of the Trustee. The Companies ceased operations in September 2020 after severe COVID-19 impacts and financial distress; following a sale of IP assets to Captive Brands Corporation, the Trustee is now liquidating remaining Canadian inventory, collecting receivables, and monitoring liquidation of US inventory, with no distribution expected for unsecured creditors.

Source: Preliminary Administration Report of the Trustee for How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Captive Brands Corp. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's Certificate confirming satisfaction of closing conditions and payment of Purchase Price.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order

Parties

Debtor

How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc.

Proposal trustee

EY

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredHSBC · in 15 casesBusiness Assets - Stock In Trade - Inventory (estimated value $250,000.00); Debts Due - Business - Accounts Receivable (estimated value $22,221.72). Security given 2020-10-02. Estimated value of security $272,221.72 total. — List B secured creditor. Amount of claim $6,316,176.00; secured to $272,221.72; unsecured shortfall (balance of claim) $6,043,954.28 carried into List A (see matching unsecured entry) - do not double-count. 2001 McGill College #160, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$6.32MHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
4SecuredIQ (Investissement Quebec) · in 4 casesBusiness Assets - Stock In Trade - Inventory; Debts Due - Business - Accounts Receivable. Security given 2020-10-04. Estimated value of security $0.00. — List B secured creditor. Amount of claim $2,150,000.00; estimated realizable value of security $0.00, so the entire $2,150,000.00 unsecured shortfall (balance of claim) is also carried into List A (see matching unsecured entry) - do not double-count. 413 rue St-Jacques, bureau 500, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$2.15MHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
4SecuredBDC (Business Development Bank of Canada) · in 44 casesBusiness Assets - Stock In Trade - Inventory; Debts Due - Business - Accounts Receivable. Security given 2020-10-03. Estimated value of security $0.00. — List B secured creditor. Amount of claim $485,360.00; estimated realizable value of security $0.00, so the entire $485,360.00 unsecured shortfall (balance of claim) is also carried into List A (see matching unsecured entry) - do not double-count. 5 Place Ville Marie, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$485KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
4SecuredEmployees · in 185 casesDebts Due - Business - Accounts Receivable. Security given 2020-10-01. Estimated value of security $24,404.63 (claim fully covered; balance of claim nil). — List B secured creditor (employee claim charged against A/R). A separate unsecured employee claim of $130,824.65 appears in List A (see matching unsecured entry). Address 6595 St. Urbain Street (debtor premises). — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$24.4KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
7Preferred (BIA s. 136)Employees · in 185 casesUnsecured portion of employee claims (List A). A separate secured employee claim of $24,404.63 appears in List B (see secured_creditors). List C preferred creditors is nil in this SOA. 6595 St. Urbain Street, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$131KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredHSBC · in 15 casesThis is the unsecured shortfall of HSBC's secured claim; the full $6,316,176.00 claim (secured to $272,221.72) is recorded in secured_creditors. Do not double-count. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$6.04MHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredIQ (Investissement Quebec) · in 4 casesThis is the unsecured shortfall of IQ's secured claim; the full $2,150,000.00 claim (security value $0.00) is recorded in secured_creditors. Do not double-count. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$2.15MHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredOne Teaspoon8 Powells Road, Brookvale NSW Australia. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$716KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredBDC (Business Development Bank of Canada) · in 44 casesThis is the unsecured shortfall of BDC's secured claim; the full $485,360.00 claim (security value $0.00) is recorded in secured_creditors. Do not double-count. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$485KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredReceiver General · in 75 casesReceiver General / CBSA accounts receivable (customs duties); quasi-governmental. 333 North River Road, Place Vanier, Ottawa ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$388KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredSteve SheinIndividual / related party: address 6595 Saint Urbain (debtor premises); Steven Shein is the officer who swore the Statement of Affairs. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$220KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredThe right move1651 Compton Ave, Los Angeles CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$190KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredFOR LOVE AND LEMONS · in 2 cases2140 E 7th Place A1N, Los Angeles CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$118KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredAmerican express USAPhoenix AZ USA. Amount stated in the $ CA column of the form. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$109KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredJaya Apparel Group LLCDBA Cinq a sept, 5175 South Soto Street, Vernon CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$75.6KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredKoral, LLCDBA Koral Los Angeles, 5124 Pacific Blvd, Vernon CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$60.5KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredEleven Eleven Fashion Group LLCDBA One Grey Day, 719 S. Los Angeles Street Suite 1218, Los Angeles CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$54.8KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredFederal Express Canada Corporation · in 18 casesPO Box 4626 Toronto STN A, Toronto ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$50.1KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredUPS Supply Chain Solutions Inc · in 2 cases28013 Network Place, Chicago IL USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$43.9KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredCentric BrandsGreensboro NC USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$43.7KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredMomentis5500 ave Royalmount suite 250, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$40.1KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredSuiteshop265 Canal Street, New York NY USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$33.2KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredShop PRWest Hollywood CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$32.5KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredAC collective843 S Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$32KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredEDC (Export Development Canada) · in 10 cases150 Slater, Ottawa ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$24.6KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredJocelyn52-16 Barnett Avenue, Long Island City NY USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$22.2KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredPopping Canada Ltd.60-66 Hanover Street, Fitzroy VIC Australia. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$20.7KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredLNA ClothingCulver City CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$20.2KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredTraffic tech · in 5 cases16711 route Transcanadienne, Kirkland QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$15.5KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredManulife · in 8 casesPO Box 187 stn Waterloo, Waterloo ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$15.1KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredDesigns by NikkiCosta Mesa CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$13KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredYRC freight · in 7 cases10990 ROE Ave, Overland Park KS USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$6.48KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredRebox packaging7500 ch de la Cote de Liesse, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$4.45KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredWestin Hotels and Resorts10135-100 street, Edmonton AB. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$4.38KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredChristina Louiso Style Inc.Westmount QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$2.67KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredUPS Canada · in 92 casesPO Box 4900 Station A, Toronto ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$2.1KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredOpen text corp275 Frank Tompa Drive, Waterloo ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$1.38KHow Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredArrival air and sea5375 rue Pare suite 140, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$754How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredCourriercom3333 boul Cavendish suite 160, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$539How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredRemco5101 Orbitor Drive, Mississauga ON. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$437How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredLittle Moon SocietyStudio City CA USA. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$250How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredEDI gateway · in 6 cases8355 Bougainville, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$150How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredMinistere du Revenu du Quebec · in 23 casesRevenu Quebec; deemed trust class. Stated as nominal $1.00 placeholder in List A (actual amount not quantified by officer). 1600 boul. Rene-Levesque Ouest, Montreal QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$1How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredCoface North America, Inc.Stated as nominal $1.00 placeholder in List A. Canada Branch, Princeton NJ USA. (Trade-credit insurer.) — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$1How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
8UnsecuredAgence du Revenu du Canada · in 719 casesCanada Revenue Agency; deemed trust class. Stated as nominal $1.00 placeholder in List A (actual amount not quantified by officer). 4695 boul. de Shawinigan-Sud, Shawinigan QC. — debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · as of 24 Nov 2020$1How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 2 closedsale of the intellectual property and other intangible assets related to the Ronny Kobo brand and other associated brands closedPreliminary Administration Report of the Trustee for How Fashions… · 8 Dec 2020

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Captive Brands Corp.the property set forth in Schedule "A" hereto (the "Purchased Property") · asset sale · nominee/assignee: a subsidiary or affiliate of Captive Brands Corp. · agreement 23 Sep 2020not statedClosed10 Nov 2020Preliminary Administration Report of the…
Captive Brands Corporationthe intellectual property and other intangible assets related to the Ronny Kobo brand and other associated brands (the ' Target Assets ') · asset sale · agreement 19 Oct 2020$264K USDtotal purchase price of US$264,000, of which US$250,800 was allocated to the Companies and US$14,200 to HOW USAClosedPreliminary Administration Report of the…
AdvisorsJassin Consulting Group (sale agent)Trustee's Report to the Court in support of the Motion for Sale…
Closing termsVesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's Certificate confirming satisfaction of closing conditions and payment of Purchase PriceApproval and Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. HSBC Bank Canada short.EstimatedPreliminary Administration Report of the Trustee for How Fashions… · 8 Dec 2020

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredHSBC, the first ranking secured creditorHSBC Bank Canada$6MestimatedshortfallEstimatedper the trusteePreliminary Administration Report of the Trustee for How Fashions… · 8 Dec 2020
Unsecured$2.5Mestimatedno distributionEstimatedper the trusteePreliminary Administration Report of the Trustee for How Fashions… · 8 Dec 2020

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$297K
Total liabilities at filing$11.5M

As at 24 Nov 2020 · per Statement of Affairs (Form 78, Business Bankruptcy under BIA s.49(2)/s.158(d)), as stated and estimated by the officer; sworn 2020-11-24 by Steven Shein · How Fashions International Inc. (Les Modes How International Inc.), single entity — Assignment in bankruptcy deemed made 2020-11-22; SOA sworn 2020-11-24; trustee Ernst & Young Inc. Deficiency (surplus NIL) $11,174,064.61. Liabilities breakdown: unsecured creditors per List A $2,494,750.33 + balance of secured claims per List B $8,679,314.28 = total unsecured $11,174,064.61; secured creditors per List B (estimated value of security) $296,626.35; preferred creditors (List C) $0.00; contingent/other (List D) $0.00. Assets breakdown: inventory estimated to produce $250,000.00 (original cost $653,271.56 per List H) + accounts receivable estimated to produce $46,626.35 (good $46,6

Documents
10 filings
DateDocumentFile
Preliminary Administration Report of the Trustee for How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 10 Nov 2020 · Captive Brands Corporation
  • Financial position as at 24 Nov 2020 · per Statement of Affairs prepared by the Trustee in compliance with the provisions of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act · entity - the bankrupt estates of How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc. — Document states only a deficit figure, not separate total assets/liabilities; claims totalling approximately $11.5 million per Statement of Affairs.
  • Operational summary The Companies ceased operations in September 2020 after severe COVID-19 impacts and financial distress; following a sale of IP assets to Captive Brands Corporation, the Trustee is now liquidating remaining Canadian inventory, collecting receivables, and monitoring liquidation of US inventory, with no distribution expected for unsecured creditors.
  • Process results 2 LOIs · 8 bids
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
9896481 Canada Inc. – Notice to Creditors
  • Financial position Assets $0 · Liabilities $6.32M · as at 24 Nov 2020 · per Form 78 Statement of Affairs (Business Bankruptcy), as stated and estimated by the officer; sworn 24 November 2020 · 9896481 Canada Inc. (single entity) — Total assets $0.00; deficiency $6,316,176.00; surplus NIL. Per SOA: total unsecured creditors $6,316,176.00 (List A, being the balance of secured claims per List B); secured creditors net per List B $0.00; preferred creditors (List C) $0.00; contingent/other liabilities (List D) $0.00. Lists C-H all nil. Deemed assignment in bankruptcy 22 November 2020.
  • Secured creditors $6.32M · Note: Listed as secured creditor in Form 78 List B: amount of claim $6,316,176.00, estimated value of security $0.00, balance of claim $0.00. Because the security is valued at nil, the full amount is carried to List A as an unsecured claim (balance of secured claim) — same debt as the unsecured entry below; do not double-count. Address: 2001 McGill College, #160, Montreal QC H3A 1G1. · Page: 5 · As of: 2020-11-24 · Debtor: 9896481 Canada Inc. · Creditor: HSBC Bank Canada · Security: Estimated value of security $0.00 (Form 78 List B); particulars of security and date given not stated
  • Unsecured creditors $6.32M · Note: Unsecured shortfall of HSBC's List B secured claim (security valued at $0.00); same debt as the secured entry above — do not double-count. Only creditor on List A. Address: 2001 McGill College, #160, Montreal QC H3A 1G1. · Page: 4 · As of: 2020-11-24 · Basis: Form 78 Statement of Affairs, List A — balance of secured claim (unsecured portion), as stated and estimated by the officer · Debtor: 9896481 Canada Inc. · Creditor: HSBC Bank Canada
PDF
How Fashions International Inc. – Notice to Creditors
  • Financial position Assets $297K · Liabilities $11.5M · as at 24 Nov 2020 · per Statement of Affairs (Form 78, Business Bankruptcy under BIA s.49(2)/s.158(d)), as stated and estimated by the officer; sworn 2020-11-24 by Steven Shein · How Fashions International Inc. (Les Modes How International Inc.), single entity — Assignment in bankruptcy deemed made 2020-11-22; SOA sworn 2020-11-24; trustee Ernst & Young Inc. Deficiency (surplus NIL) $11,174,064.61. Liabilities breakdown: unsecured creditors per List A $2,494,750.33 + balance of secured claims per List B $8,679,314.28 = total unsecured $11,174,064.61; secured creditors per List B (estimated value of security) $296,626.35; preferred creditors (List C) $0.00; contingent/other (List D) $0.00. Assets breakdown: inventory estimated to produce $250,000.00 (original cost $653,271.56 per List H) + accounts receivable estimated to produce $46,626.35 (good $46,626.35, bad $419,637.19 per List E) = $296,626.35. NOTE: the List A unsecured-claim line items as printed sum to $2,494,550.33, about $200 less than the form's own stated List A total of $2,494,750.33 (an internal footing inconsistency in the source form); individual line items are transcribed verbatim and the form's stated totals are reported here unchanged.
  • Secured creditors $24.4K · Note: List B secured creditor (employee claim charged against A/R). A separate unsecured employee claim of $130,824.65 appears in List A (see matching unsecured entry). Address 6595 St. Urbain Street (debtor premises). · Page: 6 · As of: 2020-11-24 · Debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · Creditor: Employees · Security: Debts Due - Business - Accounts Receivable. Security given 2020-10-01. Estimated value of security $24,404.63 (claim fully covered; balance of claim nil).
  • Unsecured creditors $15.5K · Note: 16711 route Transcanadienne, Kirkland QC. · Page: 5 · As of: 2020-11-24 · Basis: Statement of Affairs (Form 78), List A - Unsecured Creditors, as stated by the officer · Debtor: How Fashions International Inc. · Creditor: Traffic tech
PDF
9896481 Canada Inc. - Amended Certificate of Appointment
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role Licensed Insolvency Trustee
  • Commencement date 24 November 2020
  • Court file no 500-11-059021-200
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
How Fashions International Inc. - Amended Certificate of Appointment
  • Appointee ERNST & YOUNG INC.
  • Appointee role Licensed Insolvency Trustee
  • Commencement date 24 November 2020
  • Court file no 500-11-059020-202
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Approval and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's Certificate confirming satisfaction of closing conditions and payment of Purchase Price
  • Order date 29 October 2020
  • Purchaser Captive Brands Corp. · nominee/assignee a subsidiary or affiliate of Captive Brands Corp. · the property set forth in Schedule "A" hereto (the "Purchased Property") · asset sale · approved
PDF
Notice to Creditors
  • Unsecured creditors $6.44M · Note: Sole creditor on the NOI preliminary List of Creditors with claims of $250 or more; the list does not classify the claim as secured or unsecured. Address: 2001 McGill College, #160, Montreal QC H3A 1G1. NOI filed 22 October 2020. · Page: 7 · As of: 2020-10-22 · Basis: Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal (Form 33) — List of Creditors with claims of $250 or more (not classified by security) · Debtor: 9896481 Canada Inc. · Creditor: HSBC Bank Canada
PDF
Trustee's Report to the Court in support of the Motion for Sale Approval and Vesting Order
  • Process results 2 LOIs · 1 bids · as of 27 Oct 2020
  • Purchaser Captive Brands Corporation · the intellectual property and other intangible assets related to the Ronny Kobo brand and other associated brands (the ' Target Assets ') · asset sale · $264K USD · proposed
  • Sale advisor Jassin Consulting Group (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Approval pending — The Trustee recommends the Court render the Approval and Vesting order for the sale of the Target Assets to Captive Brands Corporation.
PDF
Motion for Sale Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Certificate of Filing a Notice of IntentionPDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “How Fashions International Inc. and 9896481 Canada Inc.” (NOI). Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/how-fashions-international-inc-and-9896481-canada-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 24 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/how-fashions-international-inc-and-9896481-canada-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.