Proceedings.

Fermetco Inc.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)Section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
File
500-11-064885-243
Filings held10
Last activity19 Nov 2025
On the record723 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Fermetco Inc. entered receivership under BIA s. 243 and Quebec's Judicature Acts on 2024-11-12, in Quebec Superior Court (file 500-11-064885-243). At commencement, the company reported book-value assets of $13.2 million against secured claims estimated at $19,535,897 and unsecured claims of $2,272,605, with realizable value expected to fall well short of book value. Royal Bank of Canada, successor to HSBC, held the principal secured position, an aggregate CAD/USD indebtedness of $14,604,369.26 as of 2024-11-04, guaranteed personally by director Gary Richman to $1 million. By a trustee's preliminary report dated 2025-11-19, Fermetco was described as inoperative with no realizable assets; its security exhausted through a December 2024 receivership distribution, RBC's remaining $15,456,084.63 balance was recorded as an unsecured, unproved claim, and the unsecured claims register totalled $23,640,117.24 in claimed amounts against $3,506,542.09 filed.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates10 dated entries
#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 9431-0927 Québec inc. Closing terms, as extracted: délivrance du Certificat du Séquestre confirmant le paiement du Prix d'achat et la satisfaction des conditions de clôture. Sealed: Convention d'Achat et Annexe B du Rapport.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order (in French)

#Order

Placed Fermetco Inc. into receivership on November 12, 2024, opening the Québec Superior Court file and setting the commencement date for the proceeding.

Source: Order Appointing a Receiver

Parties

Debtor

Fermetco Inc.

Receiver

EY

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredRoyal Bank of Canada · in 584 casesSecurity on the Property — Separate CAD-denominated facility from the USD facility listed above — debtor: Fermetco Inc. · as of 12 Nov 2024$7.4MNotice and Statement of the Receiver
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
5PMSI / lessors
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

41 more claims in 3 classes The stack holds Secured, PMSI / lessors and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 2 closed — The Transaction closed and proceeds were remitted to RBC; the company is now inoperative with no realizable assets.Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration · 19 Nov 2025

Bid deadline (round closed)

25 November 2024

Call for tenders – information package (english)

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
9431-0927 Québec inc.les actifs décrits à l'Annexe A de la Convention d'achat et définis comme étant les Sale Assets (les « Actifs achetés ») · asset saleSealedClosed19 Jan 2025Receiver Certificate (Groupe Eldorado) (in…
buyer identified via Call for tenders, unnamedthe totality of the inventory and fixed assets of Fermetco · asset salenot statedCloseddate not statedTrustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary…
AdvisorsSIS Services Inc. (sale agent)Call for tenders – information package (english)
Closing termsdélivrance du Certificat du Séquestre confirmant le paiement du Prix d'achat et la satisfaction des conditions de clôtureApproval and Vesting Order (in French)
Sealed materialsConvention d'Achat et Annexe B du RapportApproval and Vesting Order (in French)
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing

As at ·

The total the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
10 filings
DateDocumentFile
Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated
  • Purchaser buyer identified via Call for tenders, unnamed · the totality of the inventory and fixed assets of Fermetco · asset sale · closed
  • Sale outcome Sale closed — The Transaction closed and proceeds were remitted to RBC; the company is now inoperative with no realizable assets.
  • Financial position Subscribers
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of CreditorsPDF · Subscribers
Certificate of AppointmentPDF · Subscribers
Receiver Certificate (Groupe Eldorado) (in French)
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 19 Jan 2025 · 9431-0927 Québec inc.
PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order (in French)
  • Closing terms délivrance du Certificat du Séquestre confirmant le paiement du Prix d'achat et la satisfaction des conditions de clôture
  • Order date 18 December 2024
  • Presiding officer Registrar Vincent-Michel Aubé
  • Purchaser 9431-0927 Québec inc. · les actifs décrits à l'Annexe A de la Convention d'achat et définis comme étant les Sale Assets (les « Actifs achetés ») · asset sale · approved
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Approval and Vesting OrderPDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of the Receiver
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Call for tenders – information package (english)
  • Bid deadline 25 November 2024
  • Sale advisor SIS Services Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Marketed — Receiver soliciting sealed tenders for some or all of the Property of Fermetco Inc. (inventory, equipment and vehicles in Lots 1-9, plus a Lot 10 en bloc bid); tenders due Nov 25, 2024, subject to Superior Court of Québec approval.
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Order Appointing a Receiver
  • Applicant ROYAL BANK OF CANADA
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Commencement date 12 November 2024
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion to Appoint a Receiver
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT
  • Court file no 500-11-
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Fermetco Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Superior Court of Québec. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/fermetco-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 13 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/fermetco-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.

Fermetco Inc. — Receivership | Proceedings.