Proceedings.

Express Gold Refining Ltd

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
CCAACCAA
Court
Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List
File
CV-20-00649558-00CL
Filings held70
Last activity1 Aug 2025
On the record2,212 days
OverviewSummary updated

Express Gold Refining Ltd obtained an initial order under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act on October 15, 2020, commencing proceedings in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, Commercial List, under court file CV-20-00649558-00CL. The record of this proceeding carries no further dated milestones, and the file is now closed. Creditors and counsel seeking the terms of the initial order, or any subsequent steps taken in the case, should consult the court file directly.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates69 dated entries · 1 undated
Undated filings1 — no date appears on the document · show
Parties

Debtor

Express Gold Refining Ltd

Monitor

Deloitte

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice CavanaghOntario Superior Court of Justice6 orders, Sep 2023 – Jul 2025318 cases on record
Justice McEwenOntario Superior Court of Justice4 orders, May 2021 – Sep 2022143 cases on record
Justice PennyOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Dec 2021 – Aug 2023196 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorDeloitteDentons Canada LLP10 Nov 2023Factum · 10 Nov 2023
ApplicantExpress Gold Refining LtdReconstruct LLP · Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP · BAKER & McKENZIE LLP · Dentons Canada LLP15 Oct 2020Order · 14 Jul 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency · in 985 casesReassessments issued on or about July 28, 2020 in respect of reporting periods June 1, 2016 to October 31, 2018, comprising over $133,000,000 in denied ITCs and gross negligence penalties in excess of $34,000,000, plus interest, totaling 'roughly $189,000,000' (floor/approximate figure per document); enforceable notwithstanding contestation in Tax Court; quasi-governmental (GST/HST reassessment) claim. — debtor: Express Gold Refining Ltd. · as of 28 Jul 2020$189MNotice of Application .pdf
4Secured

1 more claim in 1 class The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other) and Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Closed · the record states no distribution outcome.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

4 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Dentons Canada LLP, 1 May – 31 Oct 2024, in feesTwenty First Report of the Monitor .pdf · 5 Dec 2024

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Deloitte Restructuring Inc.Monitorperiod 3 of 313 May – 27 Oct 2024—not statedTwenty First Report of the Monitor .pdf · 5 Dec 2024
Deloitte Restructuring Inc.Monitorperiod 2 of 3to 9 Jun 2024courtesy discount6 peopleTwenty First Report of the Monitor .pdf · 5 Dec 2024
6 people — Deloitte Restructuring Inc., to 9 Jun 2024 · 18 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Sarah KeelsPartner, Tax
Philip ReynoldsPartner
Warren LeungDirector
Marisa CorbettManager, Tax
Kateryna KhanManager
Mu-Shan Martin LinManager
Deloitte Restructuring Inc.Monitorperiod 1 of 3to 26 May 2024courtesy discount5 peopleTwenty First Report of the Monitor .pdf · 5 Dec 2024
5 people — Deloitte Restructuring Inc., to 26 May 2024 · 15 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Philip ReynoldsPartner
Warren LeungDirector
Heidi ChangManager, Tax
Marisa CorbettManager, Tax
Kateryna KhanManager
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel1 May – 31 Oct 2024—not statedTwenty First Report of the Monitor .pdf · 5 Dec 2024

41 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing
Total liabilities at filing

As at ·

The 2 totals the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
70 filings
DateDocumentFile
Monitor's Discharge Certificate .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Cavanagh (CCAA Termination) .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Cavanagh (CCAATermination) .pdf
  • Counsel Reconstruct LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Third Report of the Monitor .pdf
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Applicant - CCAA Termination Order .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Express Gold Refining Ltd (Applicant) – CCAA Termination Order .pdf
  • Counsel Reconstruct LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Second Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Twenty First Report of the Monitor .pdf
PDF · Subscribers
Twentieth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Express Gold Refining Ltd (Applicant) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Nineteenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
MotionRecord - Express Gold Refining Ltd (Applicant) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Cavanagh re extension .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Eighteenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Express Gold Refining Ltd. (Applicant) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Cavanagh re Mediation .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Seventeenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Book of Authorities of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Reply Factum of the Monitor .pdf
  • Counsel Dentons Canada LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Attorney General of Canada .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Record of the Attorney General of Canada .pdf
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no CV-20-00649558-00CL
PDF · Subscribers
Amended Notice of Motion – Monitor re Mediation .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Monitor .pdf
  • Counsel Dentons Canada LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Monitor re Mediation .PDF · Subscribers
Sixteenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Cavanagh .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Cavanagh (extension) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
  • Order date 11 September 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
  • Stay extended to 12 December 2023
PDF · Subscribers
Fifteenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Penny re Case Management Judge .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Penny
PDF · Subscribers
Fourteenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Thirteenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Twelfth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Order and Endorsement (EGR) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice McEwen
PDF · Subscribers
Eleventh Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice McEwen (EGR Case Conference) .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice McEwen
PDF · Subscribers
Tenth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ninth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - returnable June 13, 2022.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Eighth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Order (Approving Second Amended and Restated Protocol) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Seventh Report - Monitor - Deloitte Restructuring Inc. .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Order (extension) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
  • Order date 8 December 2021
  • Presiding officer Justice Penny
  • Stay extended to 15 December 2021
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Kayla Vieth .pdf
PDF · Subscribers
Sixth Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Express Gold Refining Ltd. (Applicant) - August 30 2021.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Express Gold Refining Ltd. (Applicant) .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Production and Confidentiality Order (and Endorsement) of Justice McEwen .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice McEwen
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the CRA .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Fifth Report - Monitor - Deloitte Restructuring Inc. .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice McEwen (EGR) .pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice McEwen
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - Monitor - Deloitte Restructuring Inc. .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - returnable March 8, 2021.pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Monitor .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Motion Record - returnable December 14, 2020.pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Order and Endorsement (extension) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Second Amended and Restated Initial Order .pdf
  • Order date 27 October 2020
  • Stay expiry 15 December 2020
PDF · Subscribers
Supplement to Monitors First Report .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Amended and Restated Initial Order (and endorsement) .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
  • Order date 19 October 2020
  • Stay expiry 27 October 2020
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's First Report .pdfPDF · Subscribers
EGR Letter to Customers.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Initial Order and Endorsement of Justice Hainey .pdf
  • Commencement date 15 October 2020
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE COMMERCIAL LIST
  • Order date 15 October 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice Hainey
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
List of Creditors.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application .pdf
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
  • Financial position · Secured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Creditors.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Application Record of the Applicant returnable October 15, 2020.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Applicant .pdfPDF · Subscribers
Report of the Proposed Monitor .pdf
PDF · Subscribers
Service List.pdf
  • Counsel Baker & MacKenzie LLP
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Express Gold Refining Ltd” (CCAA), Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/express-gold-refining-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/express-gold-refining-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.