Edgemere Estate Limited Partnership and its general partner, Edgemere Estate Limited
Follow- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)subsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
- File
- CV-15-11100-00CL
Edgemere Estate Limited Partnership and its general partner, Edgemere Estate Limited, are in a court-appointed receivership brought by bcIMC Specialty Fund Corporation under subsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, with the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) appointing Grant Thornton Limited receiver. An application was filed September 3, 2015, and the stay was extended November 2, 2015. bcIMC, the petitioning secured creditor, proposed an interim distribution of $10.0 million, with further distributions up to the amount of its secured indebtedness. Aviva Insurance Company of Canada postponed its interest in the Development Lands in favour of bcIMC and Nexus Development Corporation, which purchased and took assignment of Timbercreek Mortgage Servicing Inc.'s debt and security on December 22, 2015. Caliber Structures Limited registered a construction lien for $355,126 against title to the Development Lands.
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
Per the Claims Procedure Order dated 30 August 2016.
50 earlier updates, back to 2 November 2015 — subscribers.
Undated filings10 — no date appears on the document · show
10 filings carry no date on their face — subscribers.
Debtor
Edgemere Estate Limited Partnership and its general partner, Edgemere Estate Limited
Receiver
Doane Grant Thornton
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Hainey | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 3 orders, Sep 2015 | 196 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverDoane Grant Thornton | Chaitons LLP | 29 Jan 2016 | Order · 27 May 2016 |
| Applicant | Dale & Lessmann LLP | 23 Oct 2015 | Order · 23 Oct 2015 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | Caliber Structures Limitedas of October 15, 2015 (statement of claim date) — Construction lien registered against title to the Development Lands — debtor: Edgemere Estate Limited | $355K | First Report dated January 20, 2016 |
This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
7 transactions · 5 closed · 2 approved — the Receiver has completed and closed sale transactions for all of the PropertyFifth Report dated September 6, 2017 · 6 Sep 2017
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1502 Lakeshore Oakville Holdings Inc.the property described in Schedule "A" hereto (the "Real Property") and the Cash Collateral (as defined below) (collectively, the "Purchased Assets") · real property · agreement 1 Dec 2015 | not stated | Approved29 Jan 2016 | Approval and Vesting Order (Development Lands)… |
| Paul Doriathe Debtors' right, title and interest in and to the property described in Schedule "A" hereto (the "Purchased Assets") · real property · agreement 7 Jun 2016 | Subscribers | Approved14 Jun 2016 | Approval and Vesting Order re: Unit 12, dated… |
| unnamedthe Development Lands | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Fifth Report dated September 6, 2017 |
| unnamedUnit 10 (including Parking Unit 8 as it was directly linked to the unit) | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Fifth Report dated September 6, 2017 |
| unnamedUnit 23 and Storage Unit 10 | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Fifth Report dated September 6, 2017 |
| unnamedUnit 24 and Storage Unit 9 | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Fifth Report dated September 6, 2017 |
| unnamedUnit 12 and Parking Unit 6 | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Fifth Report dated September 6, 2017 |
Unsecured creditors: a distribution. HSCC 634 a distribution.EstimatedFifth Report · 6 Sep 2017
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | first and second mortgagees | — | paid in full | Finalper the receiver | Edgemere_-_Motion_Record_(Returnable_September_13__2017).PDF · 13 Sep 2017 |
| Secured | HSCC 634 | — | a distribution | Finalper the receiver | Fifth Report · 6 Sep 2017 |
| Unsecured | unsecured creditors with accepted claims | — | a distributioninterim | Estimatedper the receiver | Fifth Report · 6 Sep 2017 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
Cumulative receipts
$22.3M
As at 17 Jan 2018Sixth Report dated January 17, 2018.pdf
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Endorsement dated January 24, 2018.PDF | PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record Returnable January 24, 2018.PDF
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order dated January 24, 2018.PDF | PDF · Subscribers | |
Sixth Report dated January 17, 2018.pdf
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Edgemere_-_Motion_Record_(Returnable_September_13__2017).PDF
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated September 13, 2017.pdf | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order dated September 13, 2017.pdf | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fifth Report dated September 6, 2017
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Claims Procedure Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record Returnable August 30, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fourth Report dated August 19, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order re: Unit 12, dated June 14, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order re: Unit 24, dated June 14, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated June 14, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record Returnable June 14, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order dated June 14, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to the Third Report dated June 10, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Third Report dated June 8, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order dated May 27, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated May 27, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record Returnable May 27, 2016 (Part 1 of 4) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order dated May 27, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Report dated May 20, 2016 (Part 1 of 3) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Amending Approval and Vesting Order dated February 25, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated February 25, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record Returnable February 25, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplement to the First Report dated February 23, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order (Development Lands) dated January 29, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order (Unit 10) dated January 29, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Documents re: Motion Returnable January 29, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated January 29, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum re: Motion Returnable January 29, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record Returnable January 29, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order dated January 29, 2016 | PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report dated January 20, 2016
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended and Restated Order dated November 2, 2015
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated November 2, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Court Order dated October 23, 2015
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Endorsement dated October 23, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplementary Responding Affidavit of J. Tadeson (Edgemere) sworn October 5 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Supplementary Application Record dated September 28, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplementary Affidavit of Margot J. Gunn (bcIMC) dated September 25, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Mr. Justice Hainey September 22, 2015
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Applicant's (bcIMC) Book of Authorities Returnable September 15, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application Record Returnable September 15, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Company Brief in Favour of Costs - September 15, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Company Brief of Authorities - September 15, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Mr. Justice Hainey September 15, 2015
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant (bcIMC) Returnable September 15, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order of the Honourable Mr. Justice Hainey September 15, 2015
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responding Affidavit of J. Tadeson (Edgemere) sworn September 15 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplementary Application Record Returnable September 15, 2015 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Application September 3, 2015
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fresh As Amended Factum of bcIMC Specialty Fund Corporation | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Instruction Letter | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of Halton Standard Condominium Corporation No. 634 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Part (2 of 3) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Part (2 of 4) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Part (3 of 3) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Part (3 of 4) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Part (4 of 4) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Service List | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Edgemere Estate Limited Partnership and its general partner, Edgemere Estate Limited” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/edgemere-estate-limited-partnership-and-its-general-partner-edgemere-estate-limi