Proceedings.

Datec Coating Corporation

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
NOIBANKRUPTCY AND INSOLVENCY ACT, RSC 1985, c B-3, AS AMENDED
File
BK-24-03137745-0032
Filings held10
Last activity24 Jan 2025
On the record762 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Datec Coating Corporation is the subject of a bankruptcy proceeding under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, commenced October 23, 2024 in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency) at court file number BK-24-03137745-0032. The record to date consists of a single step, an interim order granted on the commencement date itself. The proceeding remains active, and no subsequent orders, reports or hearings have been entered on the record.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates10 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed a report. Datec's business and assets were sold to Urecka Canada Corporation via a stalking horse/SISP process that closed on December 20, 2024; the Purchaser rehired most employees and now holds the operating business, while the Trustee winds down the estate and pursues remaining asset realizations (e.g., equipment, SR&ED credit).

Source: Preliminary Report

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Datec Coating Technologies Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: vesting effective upon delivery of Proposal Trustee's Certificate certifying payment, satisfaction/waiver of conditions, and completion.

Source: Assignment, Approval and Vesting Order

#Order

Interim order granted the same day the bankruptcy proceeding was commenced, opening the file in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice as BK-24-03137745-0032.

Source: Court Order

Parties

Debtor

Datec Coating Corporation

Proposal trustee

Dodick Landau

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice CavanaghOntario Superior Court of Justice1 order, Dec 2024318 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
DebtorDatec Coating CorporationReconstruct LLP11 Dec 2024Order · 11 Dec 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredWestern Ontario Community Futures Development Corporation Association (WOCFDCA) · in 2 casesLoan Agreement and Promissory Note dated July 29, 2022; original principal amount $500,000 — Company's principal secured creditor; delivered demand notice and Notice of Intention to Enforce Security under s.244(1) BIA on September 25, 2024 following default. Amount stated is approximate outstanding balance. — debtor: Datec Coating Corporation$435KFirst Report to Court of the Proposal Trustee
4Secured
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

49 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 1 approved · 1 closed — The sale transaction closed on December 20, 2024.Preliminary Report · 24 Jan 2025

Parties solicited

30

Preliminary Report

NDAs signed

5

Preliminary Report

Qualified bids

1

Preliminary Report

Stalking horse

Named · Subscribers

Preliminary Report

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Datec Coating Technologies Ltd.Stalking horsethe Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Stalking Horse Agreement (the ' Purchased Assets ') · asset sale · nominee/assignee: Ureeka Canada Corporation, or its nominee · agreement 21 Oct 2024not statedApproved12 Dec 2024Assignment, Approval and Vesting Order
Urecka Canada CorporationAll of the Company's assets, properties and undertakings other than the Excluded Assetsnot statedClosed20 Dec 2024Preliminary Report
AdvisorsXL Business Consulting & Financing Inc. (financial advisor)Preliminary Report
Closing termsvesting effective upon delivery of Proposal Trustee's Certificate certifying payment, satisfaction/waiver of conditions, and completionAssignment, Approval and Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

WOCFDC: shortfall.EstimatedPreliminary Report · 24 Jan 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredWOCFDCprovenshortfallEstimatedper the trusteePreliminary Report · 24 Jan 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

1 blurred figure above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing
Total liabilities at filing

As at ·

Cash on hand

$103K

As at 24 Jan 2025Preliminary Report

Professional fees

As at

1 more reported figure, and the 2 totals the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
10 filings
DateDocumentFile
Preliminary Report
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 20 Dec 2024 · Urecka Canada Corporation
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Creditor Package
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Certificate of AssignmentPDF · Subscribers
Report on Non filing of ProposalPDF · Subscribers
Assignment, Approval and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms vesting effective upon delivery of Proposal Trustee's Certificate certifying payment, satisfaction/waiver of conditions, and completion
  • Counsel Reconstruct LLP
  • Order date 12 December 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Court Order
  • Commencement date 23 October 2024
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no BK-24-03137745-0032
  • Presiding officer Justice W.D. Black
PDF · Subscribers
First Report to Court of the Proposal Trustee
  • Appointee Dodick Landau Inc.
  • Appointee role Proposal Trustee
  • Commencement date 4 October 2024
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (IN BANKRUPTCY AND INSOLVENCY)
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Applicant Motion Record
  • Applicant Datec Coating Corporation
  • Appointee Dodick Landau Inc.
  • Appointee role Proposal Trustee
  • Commencement date 4 October 2024
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the ApplicantPDF · Subscribers
Certificate for the Notice of IntentionPDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Datec Coating Corporation” (NOI), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/datec-coating-corporation

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/datec-coating-corporation

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.