Proceedings.

Cover Industries Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
NOISection 50.4(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
Court
Superior Court of Québec · Commercial Division
File
500-11-049142-157
Filings held35
Last activity1 May 2026
On the record4,085 days
OverviewSummary updated

Cover Industries Inc. is the subject of a bankruptcy proceeding under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act before the Superior Court of Québec (Commercial Division), carried under court file number 500-11-049142-157. The proceeding was commenced on July 16, 2015, on an application filed that day, and remains active on the record. Beyond the commencement of the proceeding, the record before this page contains no further dated steps: no subsequent orders, reports or hearings have been entered. Creditors and counsel following the file should treat the July 16, 2015 commencement as the last recorded milestone in Quebec.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Per the Amended Order Establishing a Claims Process dated 17 December 2015.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates35 dated entries

32 earlier updates, back to 16 July 2015 subscribers.

Parties

Debtor

Cover Industries Inc.

Proposal trustee

Deloitte

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
UnsecuredJeld-Wen of Canada Ltd · in 2 casesacceptance provisoire (note 1); montant réclamé: 7483422 — debtor: Industries Cover Inc. · as of 26 Jan 2016$3.98MList of Accepted Claims (or Temporarily Accepted Claims for Voting Purposes)

102 more claims across lower-ranking classes

Subscribe

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

3 transactions · 2 closed · 1 approvedLe tableau ci-dessous illustre les résultats du processus de vente mené par la SociétéNotice of Proposal to Creditors, Proposal and Trustee Report of the… · 22 Jan 2016

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
9309-2286 Québec Inc.Related partyCover's shares in Thermos Rive-Nord Inc. · share salenot statedClosed13 Aug 2015Trustee's Report on the Sale of Certain Assets
Novatech Group Inc.Petitioner's assets described in the Asset Purchase Agreement (Exhibit R-1) (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · agreement 20 Aug 2015SubscribersClosedOrder Approving the Sale of Assets and Vesting…
André Degrace and Maurice GauvinPetitioner's shares in Vitrerie Novy Glass Ltd. · share salenot statedApproved8 Oct 2015Order Approving the Sale of Certain Assets…
AdvisorsDeloitte Restructuring Inc. (financial advisor)Trustee's Report on the Sale of Certain Assets
Closing termsvesting occurs upon issuance of a trustee's certificate confirming closing conditions satisfied and purchase price paidRectified Order on the Order to Authorize the Sale of Assets of August…
Sealed materialsAsset Purchase AgreementOrder Approving the Sale of Assets and Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: a distribution.Under the planMotion for the Approval of a Proposal · 22 Jan 2016

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Deemed trustpaid in fullUnder the planper the trusteeMotion for the Approval of a Proposal · 22 Jan 2016
Securedpaid in fullUnder the planper the trusteeMotion for the Approval of a Proposal · 22 Jan 2016
Preferredpaid in fullUnder the planper the trusteeMotion for the Approval of a Proposal · 22 Jan 2016
UnsecuredUnsecured Creditors with claims above $10k (Proposal scenario)a distributionconditionalUnder the planper the trusteeMotion for the Approval of a Proposal · 22 Jan 2016

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

2 stated figures across 4 outcomes, each sourced

Subscribe

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

The debtor’s own statement of its total assets and liabilities at filing is in the record — Subscribers

Cash on hand

$7.15M

As at 22 Jan 2016Notice of Proposal to Creditors, Proposal and Trustee Report of the Insolvent Person's Business and Financial Affairs

Documents
35 filings
DateDocumentFile
Notice of Application for Discharge of TrusteePDF · Subscribers
Order on the Motion for the Appproval of a ProposalPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Hearing of Application for Court Approval of ProposalPDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Approval of a Proposal
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan; per plan; per plan; per plan; per plan; per plan; per plan · Stated on: 2016-01-22 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
List of Accepted Claims (or Temporarily Accepted Claims for Voting Purposes)
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Proposal to Creditors, Proposal and Trustee Report of the Insolvent Person's Business and Financial Affairs
  • Operational summary The Company ceased all operations and laid off remaining employees in April 2015 due to cash shortage, then conducted a structured sale process for substantially all of its assets, completed by the report date, and now holds only cash proceeds pending distribution under the Proposal.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order Approving the Fourth Extension to January 16, 2016
  • Order date 17 December 2015
  • Stay extended to 16 January 2016
PDF · Subscribers
Order Approving the Third Extension to December 23, 2015
  • Order date 11 November 2015
  • Phase1 deadline 23 December 2015
PDF · Subscribers
Amended Order Establishing a Claims ProcessPDF · Subscribers
Trustee's Fourth Report on the State of AffairsPDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Order for a Fourth Extension of the Stay PeriodPDF · Subscribers
Order Approving the Second Extension to November 11, 2015
  • Order date 24 September 2015
  • Stay extended to 11 November 2015
PDF · Subscribers
Trustee's Third Report on the State of AffairsPDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Order for a Third Extension of the Stay PeriodPDF · Subscribers
Order Approving the Sale of Certain Assets Purged of any Security, Charge or Restriction
  • Closing terms vesting occurs upon execution of the Share Purchase Agreement and payment of the purchase price
  • Order date 8 October 2015
  • Purchaser André Degrace and Maurice Gauvin · Petitioner's shares in Vitrerie Novy Glass Ltd. · share sale · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — sale of shares approved
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Motion for Authorization to Sell Certain Assets Purged of any Security, Charge or RestrictionPDF · Subscribers
Order Approving the First Extension to September 27, 2015
  • Order date 13 August 2015
  • Stay extended to 27 September 2015
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of an Order Establishing a Claims ProcessPDF · Subscribers
Trustee's Second Report on the State of AffairsPDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Order for a Second Extension of the Stay PeriodPDF · Subscribers
Order Establishing a Claims ProcessPDF · Subscribers
Motion and Directives for a Claims ProcessPDF · Subscribers
Order Approving the Sale of Assets and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's Certificate confirming conditions satisfied, closing occurred, and Purchase Price paid
  • Order date 26 August 2015
  • Purchaser Novatech Group Inc. · Petitioner's assets described in the Asset Purchase Agreement (Exhibit R-1) (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • Sealed items Asset Purchase Agreement
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Rectified Order on the Order to Authorize the Sale of Assets of August 26, 2015
  • Closing terms vesting occurs upon issuance of a trustee's certificate confirming closing conditions satisfied and purchase price paid
  • Order date 17 December 2015
  • Purchaser Novatech Group Inc. · Petitioner's assets described in the Asset Purchase Agreement (Exhibit R-1) (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Order Approving the Sale of Assets and a Vesting OrderPDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Rectified Order to Authorize the Sale of Assets (see Motion dated August 25, 2015)PDF · Subscribers
Trustee's Report on the Sale of Certain Assets
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 13 Aug 2015 · 9309-2286 Québec Inc.
  • Process results 27 solicited · 12 NDAs · 2 qualified bids · 6 bids · as of 17 Aug 2015
  • Purchaser Novatech Group Inc. · substantially all of its remaining assets (excluding the Baie-Saint-Paul facility and related movable assets and Cover's shares in Novy Glass) (the ' Purchased Assets ') · asset sale · proposed; 9309-2286 Québec Inc. (related party) · Cover's shares in Thermos Rive-Nord Inc. · share sale · closed
  • Sale advisor Deloitte Restructuring Inc. (financial advisor)
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Creditors for an extensionPDF · Subscribers
Trustee's Amended Report on the Sale of Certain Assets
PDF · Subscribers
Trustee's First Report on the State of Affairs
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Order Extending the Stay Period
  • Applicant Industries Cover Inc.
  • Appointee Deloitte Restructuring Inc.
  • Appointee role Trustee
  • Commencement date 16 July 2015
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Order Approving an Interim Financing and Priority ChargesPDF · Subscribers
Motion for the Issuance of an Order Approving an Interim Financing and Priority Charges
  • Applicant Industries Cover Inc.
  • Appointee Deloitte Restructuring Inc.
  • Appointee role Trustee
  • Commencement date 16 July 2015
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Intention to make a ProposalPDF · Subscribers
Trustee Report on Cash Flow Statement and Cash Flow Statement
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Cover Industries Inc.” (NOI), Superior Court of Québec · Commercial Division. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/cover-industries-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/cover-industries-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.