Proceedings.

Coppley Apparel Group Limited

Follow
Active
Proceeding
CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended
File
CV-09-8221-00CL
Filings held51
Last activity10 Aug 2009
On the record6,312 days
OverviewSummary updated

Coppley Apparel Group Limited obtained protection under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act from the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) on June 10, 2009, in court file CV-09-8221-00CL, with BDO Dunwoody Limited appointed Monitor. The proceedings remain active. Wachovia Capital Finance Corporation (Central) stands as both DIP lender and secured creditor of the company, and carried an over advance position of approximately $750,000 during the CCAA proceedings. The Monitor has reported that Wachovia would suffer a significant loss on its secured loans under liquidation scenarios.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates36 dated entries · 15 undated
#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to HMX Canada Acquisition Corp., Embu Investments Spółka Z Ograniczoną Odpowiedzialnością Branch In Luxembourg. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate confirming payment and satisfaction of closing conditions.

Source: Amended and Restated Vesting Order of Justice Morawetz

33 earlier updates, back to 10 June 2009 subscribers.

Undated filings15 — no date appears on the document · show

15 filings carry no date on their face — subscribers.

Parties

Debtor

Coppley Apparel Group Limited

Monitor

BDO

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice HoyOntario Superior Court of Justice4 orders, Jun 200918 cases on record
Justice ConwayOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Jul 2009285 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantCoppley Apparel Group LimitedGowling Lafleur Henderson LLP (now Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP)10 Jun 2009Order · 10 Jun 2009
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredWachovia Capital Finance Corporation (Central)DIP Lender / secured creditor; over advance position of approximately $750,000 during CCAA proceedings — Amount owing not stated as a total figure in these pages; monitor notes Wachovia will suffer a significant loss on its secured loans in liquidation scenarios — debtor: Coppley Apparel Group LimitedMonitor's Second Report

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

5 transactions · 3 approved · 2 proposedEmerisque transaction delayed and being renegotiated; Concord Assets sale being pursued with Emerisque after liquidator offers rejectedThird Report · 22 Jul 2009

Parties solicited

44

Monitor's Second Report

Bid deadline

7 July 2009

Updated Order of CCAA

Stalking horse

Emerisque Brands UK Limited and SKNL North America B.V. and its assignee HMX Canada

Monitor's Second Report

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
offers received for the Concord Assets (three liquidators, one strategic buyer)the Concord Assets · asset saleSealedProposedMonitor's Second Report
HMX Canada Acquisition Corp.the Canadian Acquired Assets, other than the Canadian Acquired IP Assets · asset sale · agreement 5 Jun 2009not statedApproved13 Jul 2009Approval and Vesting Order of Justice Conway
Emerisquethe Coppley Assets, (excluding the Concord Assets) · asset saleSealedProposedThird Report
Emerisque Brands UK Limited and SKNL North America, B.V.Stalking horsesubstantially all of the assets of Coppley Apparel Group Limited · asset sale · nominee/assignee: HMX Canada · agreement 10 Jun 2009not statedApprovedThird Report
Embu Investments Spółka Z Ograniczoną Odpowiedzialnością Branch In Luxembourgthe Canadian Acquired IP Assets · asset sale · agreement 5 Jun 2009not statedApproved10 Aug 2009Amended and Restated Vesting Order of Justice…
Closing termsVesting occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate confirming payment and satisfaction of closing conditionsAmended and Restated Vesting Order of Justice Morawetz
Sealed materialsAppendices D, F, G and H to the First ReportApproval and Vesting Order of Justice Conway
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no recovery.EstimatedMonitor's Second Report · 10 Jul 2009

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredWachovia Capital Finance Corporation (Central)shortfallEstimatedper the monitorMonitor's Second Report · 10 Jul 2009
Unsecuredthe Company's unsecured creditorsno recoveryEstimatedper the monitorMonitor's Second Report · 10 Jul 2009

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

4 engagements · 1 firmlatest: BDO Dunwoody Limited, 3 Jun – 3 Jul 2009Schedule I · 9 Jul 2009

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
BDO Dunwoody LimitedMonitorperiod 4 of 43 Jun – 3 Jul 2009Sought•••not statedSchedule I · 9 Jul 2009
BDO Dunwoody LimitedMonitorperiod 3 of 415 Jun – 19 Jun 2009••••••4 peopleSchedule I · 9 Jul 2009
BDO Dunwoody LimitedMonitorperiod 2 of 49 Jun – 12 Jun 2009••••••3 peopleSchedule I · 9 Jul 2009
BDO Dunwoody LimitedMonitorperiod 1 of 43 Jun – 8 Jun 2009••••••4 peopleSchedule I · 9 Jul 2009

62 stated figures across 4 engagements, each sourced

Subscribe

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$2.87M

As at 22 Jul 2009Third Report

3 more reported figures, as at 22 Jul 2009

Subscribe

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

Documents
51 filings
DateDocumentFile
Amended and Restated Vesting Order of Justice Morawetz
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate confirming payment and satisfaction of closing conditions
  • Order date 10 August 2009
  • Purchaser HMX Canada Acquisition Corp. · the Canadian Acquired Assets, other than the Canadian Acquired IP Assets · asset sale · approved; Embu Investments Spółka Z Ograniczoną Odpowiedzialnością Branch In Luxembourg · the Canadian Acquired IP Assets · asset sale · approved
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Morawetz
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Morawetz
PDF · Subscribers
Fifth Motion of RecordPDF · Subscribers
Fourth Motion of RecordPDF · Subscribers
Stay Period Extension Order of Justice Wilton-Siegel
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Wilton-Siegel
PDF · Subscribers
Third Motion RecordPDF · Subscribers
Third Report
  • Operational summary Coppley is negotiating an extension of the closing date with Emerisque for the sale of its Canadian business, while continuing to seek going-concern buyers for the Concord Assets, which remain unsold.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Appendix A
  • Closing terms vesting effective upon delivery of Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of Closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction
  • Order date 13 July 2009
  • Purchaser HMX Canada Acquisition Corp. · Coppley's right, title and interest in and to the Canadian Acquired Assets · asset sale · approved
  • Sealed items Appendices "D", "F", "G" and "H" to the First Report
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order of Justice Conway
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of conditions, and completion of Transaction
  • Order date 13 July 2009
  • Purchaser HMX Canada Acquisition Corp. · all right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Canadian Acquired Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • Sealed items Appendices D, F, G and H to the First Report
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Conway
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Period Extension Order of Justice Conway
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Second Report
  • Process results 44 solicited · 20 NDAs · 0 qualified bids · 5 bids · as of 22 Jun 2009
  • Purchaser Emerisque Brands UK Limited and SKNL North America B.V. and its assignee HMX Canada (stalking horse) · nominee/assignee HMX Canada · the assets of Coppley, excluding the inventory and equipment of the former Royal Shirt manufacturing facility in Concord, Ontario (the "Concord Assets") · asset sale · approved; unnamed liquidator bidder for the Coppley Assets (excluding Concord Assets) · the Coppley Assets, (excluding the Concord Assets) · asset sale · not completed; offers received for the Concord Assets (three liquidators, one strategic buyer) · the Concord Assets · asset sale · proposed
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Stated on: 2009-07-10 · Table missing:
  • Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Schedule I
PDF · Subscribers
Second Motion RecordPDF · Subscribers
Stay Period Extension Order of Justice Peppall
  • Presiding officer Justice Peppall
PDF · Subscribers
Schedule EPDF · Subscribers
Coppley Motion of Record
  • Commencement date 23 June 2009
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-09-8221-00CL
PDF · Subscribers
Updated Endorsement of Justice Hoy
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Hoy
PDF · Subscribers
Updated Order of CCAA
  • Bid deadline 7 July 2009
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
  • Order date 23 June 2009
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Schedule FPDF · Subscribers
Schedule CPDF · Subscribers
Click here to view LEGAL TERMS OF USE AND DISCLAIMERPDF · Subscribers
First Motion Record - Volume 1
  • Applicant Coppley Apparel Group Limited
  • Commencement date 10 June 2009
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (Commercial List)
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
First Motion Record - Volume 2
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Justice Hoy Endorsement
  • Presiding officer Justice Hoy
PDF · Subscribers
Order of CCAA filed on June 10, 2009
  • Applicant Coppley Apparel Group Limited
  • Appointee BDO Dunwoody Limited
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 10 June 2009
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Tab 1
  • Counsel Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Tab 1A
  • Applicant Coppley Apparel Group Limited
  • Appointee BDO Dunwoody Limited
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 10 June 2009
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Tab 2PDF · Subscribers
Tab 2APDF · Subscribers
Tab 2BPDF · Subscribers
Tab 2CPDF · Subscribers
Tab 2DPDF · Subscribers
Tab 2EPDF · Subscribers
Tab FPDF · Subscribers
Tab GPDF · Subscribers
Appendix BPDF · Subscribers
Appendix CPDF · Subscribers
Bidding Terms
  • Bid deadline 7 July 2009
  • Purchaser Emerisque Brands UK Limited and SKNL North America, B.V. (stalking horse) · substantially all of the assets of Coppley Apparel Group Limited · asset sale · proposed
  • Break fee · Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Coppley Supplier ordersPDF · Subscribers
Disclosure SchedulePDF · Subscribers
Index 1PDF · Subscribers
Schedule A
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Schedule BPDF · Subscribers
Schedule B.1PDF · Subscribers
Tab HPDF · Subscribers
Tab IPDF · Subscribers
Tab JPDF · Subscribers
Tab KPDF · Subscribers
Tab LPDF · Subscribers
Tab MPDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Coppley Apparel Group Limited” (CCAA), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 21 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/coppley-apparel-group-limited

Sources last checked · summary updated 21 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/coppley-apparel-group-limited

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.