Proceedings.

Cinram

Follow
Closed
Proceeding
CCAACCAA
File
CV12-9767-00CL
Filings held67
Last activity2 Dec 2015
On the record5,201 days
OverviewSummary updated

Cinram International Inc. and related CCAA Parties have been under Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act protection in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice since June 25, 2012, and the proceedings remain active. The case has been organised around a Sale Transaction whose purchase price is insufficient to repay the indebtedness under the First Lien Credit Agreement. A Steering Committee representing about 40% of the loans under that agreement entered support agreements, and as at July 6, 2012 holders of a further roughly 24% of the indebtedness had agreed to support the Sale Transaction. The related Share Purchase Offer is conditional on the cancellation or termination of the debt obligations and guarantees owing to the first and second lien lenders, including second lien security over Cinram's European entities, and on release of the related security. The Monitor's counsel is to complete its review of the First Lien Lenders' security before a distribution motion is brought.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates67 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

Cinram

Monitor

FTI

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice MorawetzOntario Superior Court of Justice4 orders, Jun 2012 – Oct 2014130 cases on record
Justice NewbouldOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Aug 2012 – Sep 2012100 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorFTIStikeman Elliott LLP21 Aug 2015Service list · 21 Aug 2015
ApplicantCinramGoodmans LLP · GOODiVIANS LLP · CirOODMANS LLP12 Jul 2012Order · 19 Oct 2012
Foreign representativeYoung Conaway Stargatt & Taylor LLP26 Jun 2012Service list · 26 Jun 2012
CreditorJPMorgan Chase N.A., as Administrative AgentBlake, Cassels & Graydon LLP21 Aug 2015Service list · 21 Aug 2015
CreditorTwentieth Century Fox Home EntertainmentOsler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP21 Aug 2015Service list · 21 Aug 2015
CreditorUS Industrial REIT IIGowling Lafleur Henderson LLP (now Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP)21 Aug 2015Service list · 21 Aug 2015
CreditorWarner-Elektra- Atlantic CorporationOsler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP21 Aug 2015Service list · 21 Aug 2015
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredFirst Lien Lenders (First Lien Credit Agreement) · in 6 casesFirst Lien Credit Agreement security; purchase price under Sale Transaction insufficient to repay this debt — Steering Committee representing ~40% of loans under First Lien Credit Agreement entered support agreements; as at July 6, 2012 an additional ~24% of indebtedness had agreed to support the Sale Transaction; Monitor's counsel to complete review of First Lien Lenders' security prior to distribution motion; amount not stated in these pages — debtor: Cinram International Inc. and related CCAA PartiesFirst Report of The Monitor
SecuredSecond Lien Lenders · in 3 casesSecond lien security over European entities; Share Purchase Offer conditional on cancellation/termination of debt obligations and guarantees to first and second lien lenders and release of related security — Amount not stated in these pages — debtor: Cinram's European entitiesFirst Report of The Monitor

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Secured creditors: $98.7M. First Lien Lenders $94.8M · JPMorgan Chase, N.A. $1.4M.FinalEighteenth Report of the Monitor · 26 Aug 2015

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredFirst Lien Lenders$98.7MinterimcumulativeFinalper the monitorEighteenth Report of the Monitor · 26 Aug 2015
SecuredFirst Lien Administrative Agent on behalf of the First Lien Lenders$81MFinalper the monitorTenth Report of The Monitor · 25 Oct 2013
SecuredFirst Lien Lenders$94.8McumulativeFinalper the monitorFourteenth Report of the Monitor · 8 Oct 2014
SecuredFirst Lien LendersJPMorgan Chase, N.A.$1.4MinterimFinalper the monitorEighteenth Report of the Monitor · 26 Aug 2015
SecuredPre-Petition First Lien Agent on behalf of the Pre-Petition First Lien Lenders$1.4MinterimFinalper the debtorMotion returnable September 2, 2015 for an Order extending the Stay of… · 26 Aug 2015

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 1 firmlatest: FTI Consulting Canada Inc., 1 Sep 2013 – 1 Oct 2014, $2,300.00 soughtFourteenth Report of the Monitor · 8 Oct 2014

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
FTI Consulting Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 2 of 21 Sep 2013 – 1 Oct 2014Sought5.5$2,300.00ex. taxcourtesy discount$175 – $7102 peopleFourteenth Report of the Monitor · 8 Oct 2014
2 peopleFTI Consulting Canada Inc., 1 Sep 2013 – 1 Oct 2014
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Steven BissellManaging Director2.5$710$1,775.00
Jesse BeamishConsultant3$175$525.00
FTI Consulting Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 1 of 2to 31 Aug 20145.5$2,070.00ex. taxcourtesy discount$175 – $7102 peopleFourteenth Report of the Monitor · 8 Oct 2014
2 peopleFTI Consulting Canada Inc., to 31 Aug 2014
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Steven BissellManaging Director2.5$710$1,775.00
Jesse BeamishConsultant3$175$525.00
Documents
67 filings
DateDocumentFile
EndorsementPDF
OrderPDF
Nineteenth Report of the MonitorPDF
Motion Record
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Table missing:
PDF
Eighteenth Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per actual · Stated on: 2015-08-26 · Table missing:
PDF
Motion returnable September 2, 2015 for an Order extending the Stay of Proceedings until December 4, 2015.
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual · Table missing:
PDF
Service List
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
PDF
NoticePDF
Factum of the ApplicantsPDF
Motion Record (returnable July 31, 2015)PDF
Seventeenth Report of the MonitorPDF
Sixteenth Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual · Stated on: 2015-05-26 · Table missing:
PDF
Motion for an order extending the Stay Period until September 4, 2015
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
PDF
Fifteenth Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per actual · Stated on: 2014-11-25 · Table missing:
PDF
Motion Returnable December 2, 2014 re Stay ExtensionPDF
Receivership Discharge Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Morawetz
PDF
Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: invoice_listing · Rows: · Money: Tax: $269 · Label: HST · Quote: $ 269.10 · Fees: $2.3K · Quote: 2,300.00 · Total: $2.34K · Quote: 2,339.10 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2014-10-01 · Kind: cumulative · Quote: Services Rendered September 1, 2013 - October 1, 2014 · Start: 2013-09-01 · Approval: Quote: made in support of a motion for, inter alia, the approval of the fees of the Receiver for the period from September 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014 · State: sought · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: Tax: 269.1 · Date: 2014-08-31 · Fees: 2300 · Quote: 29001120 | August 31, 2014 | 2,300.00 | | 269,10 | 2,569.10 | 5 (230.00) | 2,339.10 · Total: 2339.1 · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ("FTI Consulting") · Context quote: This Affidavit is made in support of a motion for, inter alia, the approval of the fees of the Receiver for the period from September 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014. · Discount note: Text: Less 10% on Fees · Quote: Less 10 % on Fees; Form: time_summary · Rows: Steven Bissell; Jesse Beamish · Money: Fees: $2.3K · Quote: 2 300.00 · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2014-10-01 · Kind: cumulative · Quote: Services Rendered September 1, 2013 - October 1, 2014 · Start: 2013-09-01 · Approval: Quote: made in support of a motion for, inter alia, the approval of the fees of the Receiver for the period from September 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014 · State: sought · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ("FTI Consulting") · Hours total: Quote: 5.50 · Value: 5.5 · Context quote: This Affidavit is made in support of a motion for, inter alia, the approval of the fees of the Receiver for the period from September 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014. · Discount note: Text: Less Voluntary Reduction (10%) · Quote: Less Voluntary Reduction (10%); Form: time_summary · Rows: Steven Bissell; Jesse Beamish · Money: Tax: $269 · Label: HST · Quote: $269.10 · Fees: $2.07K · Quote: $2,070.00 · Total: $2.34K · Quote: $2,339.10 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2014-08-31 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Current Invoice Period: Charges Posted through August 31, 2014 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ("FTI Consulting") · Hours total: Quote: 5.5 · Value: 5.5 · Context quote: This Affidavit is made in support of a motion for, inter alia, the approval of the fees of the Receiver for the period from September 1, 2013 to October 1, 2014. · Discount note: Text: Less Voluntary Reduction · Quote: Less Voluntary Reduction
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per actual · Stated on: 2014-10-08 · Table missing:
PDF
Motion Record (returnable October 15, 2014)PDF
Thirteenth Report of The Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per actual · Stated on: 2014-05-23 · Table missing:
PDF
Motion Record (returnable May 30, 2014)PDF
Motion Record (Returnable April 2, 2014)PDF
Twelfth Report of The MonitorPDF
Eleventh Report of The MonitorPDF
Motion Record (Returnable Dec 5, 2013)PDF
Tenth Report of The Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per unstated · Stated on: 2013-10-25 · Table missing:
PDF
Ninth Report of The MonitorPDF
Motion Record (Returnable June 26, 2013)PDF
Endorsement of J. MesburPDF
Equipment Sale Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Factum of the Applicants with respect to a Motion returnable April 10, 2013PDF
Eighth Report of the MonitorPDF
Motion Record (Equipment Sale Approval and Vesting Order Returnable April 10, 2013PDF
Seventh Report of The MonitorPDF
Motion Record (Returnable January 21, 2013)PDF
Sixth Report of the MonitorPDF
Fifth Report of The MonitorPDF
Appointment Order
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Mora Wetz
PDF
Distribution Order
  • Counsel GOODiVIANS LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Mora Wetz
PDF
Endorsement re: Appointment Order
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
PDF
Endorsement re: Distribution OrderPDF
Fourth Report of the MonitorPDF
Motion Record (Administrative Reserve/Distribution/Transition Order Returnable October 19, 2012)PDF
Motion Record: (Appointment Order Returnable October 19, 2012)PDF
Order - Stay Extension Approved
  • Counsel CirOODMANS LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Newbould
PDF
Motion Record of the Ad Hoc Committee of Former Canadian Cinram Employees (part 1 of 2).PDF
Motion Record of the Ad Hoc Committee of Former Canadian Cinram Employees (part 2 of 2).PDF
Motion Record of the Applicants for the Stay Extension Motion Returnable (September 13, 2012)PDF
Third Report of the MonitorPDF
Listed Closing Assigned ContractsPDF
Order (Assignment of Contracts)
  • Presiding officer Justice Newbould
PDF
Second Report of the MonitorPDF
The Applicants make a motion for an order for assigning the rights and obligations of Cinram International Inc. under certain contracts to the PurchaserPDF
Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Endorsement (Sale Approval) dated July 12, 2012
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
PDF
Endorsement (Stay Extension) dated July 12, 2012
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
PDF
Motion Record (Stay Extension Motion Returnable July 12, 2012)PDF
First Report of The Monitor
  • Secured creditors Note: Amount not stated in these pages · Page: 16 · Debtor: Cinram's European entities · Creditor: Second Lien Lenders · Currency: USD · Security: Second lien security over European entities; Share Purchase Offer conditional on cancellation/termination of debt obligations and guarantees to first and second lien lenders and release of related security
PDF
Documents for Service
  • Counsel Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP
PDF
Notice to CreditorsPDF
Supplier FAQ's (Canadian Operations)PDF
Supplier FAQ's (U.S. Operations)PDF
Endorsement of the Initial OrderPDF
Initial Application RecordPDF
Initial Order granting CCAA protection to the CCAA Entities until July 25, 2012
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no CV12-9767-00CL
  • Presiding officer Justice Mora Wetz
  • Province ONTARIO
PDF
Known Creditor ListingPDF
Motion Record, returnable July 12, 2012PDF
Pre-filing Report of the Proposed MonitorPDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Cinram” (CCAA), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/cinram

Sources last checked · summary updated 14 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/cinram

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.

Cinram — CCAA | Proceedings.