Proceedings.

Ben’s Appliances Sales & Services Ltd.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Bankruptcysection 43(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
File
11-3373846
Filings held5
Last activity26 May 2026
On the record184 days
OverviewSummary updated

Ben's Appliances Sales & Services Ltd., formerly 1423420 B.C. Ltd., was placed into bankruptcy by order of the Supreme Court of British Columbia on 5 May 2026 on the application of Royal Bank of Canada under subsection 16(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, with Grant Thornton Limited as licensed insolvency trustee (Court No. B-260219, Estate No. 11-255058). The Statement of Affairs, sworn 14 May 2026 by director Barjinder Bhatti, carries nominal figures throughout: assets of $1.00 against liabilities of $4.00, a deficiency of $3.00, and no secured claims recorded. The trustee estimated the gross realizable value of tangible assets at the leased premises at approximately $10,000, concluded realization costs would equal or exceed gross recoveries, and abandoned all assets. PPSA searches disclose registrations by Royal Bank of Canada, Wells Fargo Capital Finance Corporation Canada, Cantrex Nationwide Group Inc. and the Province of British Columbia. No proofs of claim had been filed as at the report date.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates4 dated entries · 1 undated
Undated filings1 — no date appears on the document · show
Parties

Debtor

Ben’s Appliances Sales & Services Ltd.

Trustee in bankruptcy

Doane Grant Thornton

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredProvince of British Columbia · in 8 casesProvincial Sales Tax — Amount not stated in PPSA search — debtor: Ben's Appliances Sales & Services Ltd. · as of 5 May 2026—Trustee's Report to Creditors dated May 26, 2026
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

12 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing
Total liabilities at filing

As at ·

The 2 totals the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents5 filings
DateDocumentFile
Trustee's Report to Creditors dated May 26, 2026
  • Applicant Royal Bank of Canada
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role trustee
  • Commencement date 5 May 2026
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Certificate of Filing of a Bankruptcy Order 11-3373846
  • Appointee GRANT THORNTON LIMITED
  • Appointee role Licensed Insolvency Trustee
  • Commencement date 5 May 2026
  • Court file no 11-3373846
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Creditor Package dated May 8, 2026
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Bankruptcy Order filed May 5, 2026
  • Applicant Royal Bank of Canada
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role licensed insolvency trustee
  • Commencement date 5 May 2026
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Proof of Claim FormPDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Ben’s Appliances Sales & Services Ltd.” (Bankruptcy), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/ben-s-appliances-sales-services-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 27 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/ben-s-appliances-sales-services-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.