Proceedings.

Bay Lawrence Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended, and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43, as amended
File
CV-19-00613203-00CL
Filings held5
Last activity15 Apr 2019
On the record2,776 days
OverviewSummary updated

Bay Lawrence Inc. has been under the court-appointed receivership of BDO Canada Limited since February 14, 2019, when National Bank of Canada obtained the appointment from the Ontario Superior Court of Justice under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, in court file CV-19-00613203-00CL. The bank holds security over the debtor's property at 2013 Lawrence Ave, Toronto and over all of its assets. That indebtedness remains outstanding as of the receiver's report date, and the legal fees of counsel shared by the receiver and the secured lender have been added to it. Counsel to the debtor has requested payout statements on six occasions. The proceeding remains active.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates5 dated entries
#Order

Court appointed BDO Canada Limited receiver of Bay Lawrence Inc. on National Bank of Canada's application under BIA s. 243(1) and CJA s. 101.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

Bay Lawrence Inc.

Receiver

BDO

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice PattilloOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Apr 201969 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantNational Bank of CanadaThornton Grout Finnigan LLP14 Feb 2019Order · 14 Feb 2019
CreditorMunir SubhaniAbrahams LLP15 Apr 2019Order · 15 Apr 2019
CreditorVia EmailThornton Grout Finnigan LLP15 Apr 2019Order · 15 Apr 2019
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredNational Bank of Canada · in 87 casesSecured lender; security over the Property (2013 Lawrence Ave, Toronto) and all Assets of the Debtor — Applicant/Secured Lender in receivership application; outstanding balance not stated in these pages though counsel to Debtor requested payout statements on six occasions; indebtedness remains outstanding as of report date; receiver's/secured lender's shared legal counsel fees added to this indebtedness — debtor: Bay Lawrence Inc.Motion Record dated April 12, 2019

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Documents5 filings
DateDocumentFile
Lawyer for App Thornton 04 et al. - April 15 2019 serve Order of Justice Pattillo
  • Applicant National Bank of Canada
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 15 April 2019
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Order of Justice Pattillo - April 15 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice Pattillo
PDF
Motion Record dated April 12, 2019
  • Secured creditors Note: Applicant/Secured Lender in receivership application; outstanding balance not stated in these pages though counsel to Debtor requested payout statements on six occasions; indebtedness remains outstanding as of report date; receiver's/secured lender's shared legal counsel fees added to this indebtedness · Page: 17 · Debtor: Bay Lawrence Inc. · Creditor: National Bank of Canada · Currency: CAD · Security: Secured lender; security over the Property (2013 Lawrence Ave, Toronto) and all Assets of the Debtor
PDF
Amended Receivership Order dated February 14, 2019
  • Applicant NATIONAL BANK OF CANADA
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Commencement date 14 February 2019
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF
Receivership Order
  • Applicant NATIONAL BANK OF CANADA
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Commencement date 14 February 2019
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Bay Lawrence Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/bay-lawrence-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 21 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/bay-lawrence-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.

Bay Lawrence Inc. — Receivership | Proceedings.