Proceedings.

ABS Friction Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
ProposalParagraph 51(1)(f) of the Act
File
35-3158557
Filings held8
Last activity31 Jan 2025
On the record614 days
Secured debt$6M
OverviewSummary updated

ABS Friction Inc. commenced Division I proposal proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act on January 15, 2025, in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, under court file number 35-3158557. The proceeding is in Ontario and remains active. The record of this matter extends no further: it captures the January 15 commencement and nothing after it. No proposal terms, creditor meeting, court attendance or trustee reporting has been entered on the record to date, and readers tracking the file should treat the commencement as the only established milestone.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates8 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

ABS Friction Inc.

Proposal trustee

Bricks Damiani

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice LeitchOntario Superior Court of Justice1 order, Jan 20255 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
Proposal trusteeBricks DamianiScott Petrie LLP15 Jan 2025Application · 15 Jan 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 1 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredNutaratori Capital Inc.as at the date of the Proposal — General security agreement dated March 15, 2018 over all assets, properties and undertakings of the Company — Related-party creditor (indebtedness described as 'related party indebtedness'); security opinion obtained from Nutaratori Capital's own counsel stating security is perfected/enforceable in priority to all other registrations, but Trustee has not obtained an independent opinion confirming this (opinion unconfirmed by Trustee); also holds security over the Proposal Pool itself; amount described in prose as 'totaling $6.0 million' (p.4) and shown as $6,00$6MCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
4SecuredRick Jamieson (Mr. Jamieson)Personal security interest over the Company's assets (nature/amount not specified in document) — Individual - sole director/officer of the Company; classified as a Secured Creditor jointly with Nutaratori Capital; personal guarantor/secured party, name recorded here only per document; no stated amount. — debtor: ABS Friction Inc.Creditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
7Preferred (BIA s. 136)Preferred Tool & Die, Inc.US-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$10.9KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredEmployee Creditor Claims (aggregate as calculated by the Company)These are claims for severance and termination pay (not wages/salary) and are treated as unsecured claims; any claim asserting priority under s.136(1)(d) of the BIA will be disallowed; no individual employee names given. — debtor: ABS Friction Inc.$683KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredFINA CONdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$69.3KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredDezhou Jindon Automotive Co., Ltd.Foreign (China) creditor; claim converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$67.3KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredBetter Brake PartsUS-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$24.2KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredAtlantic Packaging Products Ltd. · in 4 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$24KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredSpecialty Sales & Marketing Inc.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$23.1KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredJamrik Electric Ltd.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$22.8KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredKintetsu World Express (Canada) Inc. · in 4 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$22.1KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredXinlida Auto Parts, LLCUS-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$14KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredBrian Kurtz Trucking Ltd.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$12.6KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredJNP Software International Inc · in 2 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$11.9KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredAqua-GulfUS-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$8.6KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredWolfpack Packagingdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$7.86KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredDay & Ross Inc · in 10 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$6.6KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredLink Engineering Co.US-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$6KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredBackupify, Inc.US-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$5.05KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredGraff Diamond Products Ltd.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$4KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredStericycle · in 8 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$3.41KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredArmour Mechanical Inc.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$3.35KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredRite Way Mechanicaldebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$3.21KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredLex Scientific Inc.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$3.17KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredIgrisan and AssociatesUS-based creditor; USD claims converted to CAD at 1.4036 (Filing Date rate). — debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$2.21KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredJ D Factors Corporation-Collectionsdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$2.07KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredGS1 Canada · in 46 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$1.78KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredImpak Packaging Systems Ltd.debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$1.6KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredExcellence in Manufacturingdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$1.36KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredLabel Design Ltd. · in 2 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$1.34KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredBarco Materials Handling Ltddebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$1.17KCreditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredKurita Canada Inc. · in 3 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$791Creditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredAir Liquide Canada Inc. · in 78 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$645Creditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredFedEx Freight · in 27 casesdebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$333Creditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
8UnsecuredWindsor Factory Supply Ltddebtor: ABS Friction Inc. · as of 27 Nov 2024$188Creditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: 100 % of proven claims.EstimatedCreditor Package – Proposal · 5 Dec 2024

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Unsecured100 %of proven claimsconditionalEstimatedper the trusteeCreditor Package – Proposal · 5 Dec 2024

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$1.88M
Total liabilities at filing$6M

As at 26 Nov 2024 · per Condensed 'Statement of Estimated Realizations' (ERV Schedule) provided by the Company - Book Value vs. Estimated Realizable Value per Statement of Affairs (unaudited) · Entity-level - ABS Friction Inc. only — Total_liabilities reflects only the single liability line shown on the ERV Schedule (Secured Indebtedness owing to Nutaratori Capital Inc., $6,000,000); the Schedule excludes unsecured/employee claims (~$1,050,155.51 per p.6) and liquidation costs, per Trustee's own caveat that 'the Company's Statement of Affairs does not include an estimate for projected costs of realizations.' The Trustee separately reports (p.5) that the Statement of Affairs itself indicates an approximate deficiency/shortfall of $4,487,405, which differs from the $4,118,215 deficiency computed on the ERV Schedule (p.6); th

Documents8 filings
DateDocumentFile
Court Order – Proposal Approval – Dated January 31, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Leitch
PDF
Endorsement of Justice Leitch – Dated January 31, 2025PDF
Motion Record – Dated January 15, 2025 – Returnable January 31, 2025
  • Appointee Bricks Damiani Inc.
  • Appointee role Proposal Trustee
  • Commencement date 15 January 2025
  • Counsel Scott Petrie LLP
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
Notice to Creditors of Court Hearing – Dated January 15, 2025PDF
Creditor Package – Proposal – Dated December 5, 2024
  • Financial position Assets $1.88M · Liabilities $6M · as at 26 Nov 2024 · per Condensed 'Statement of Estimated Realizations' (ERV Schedule) provided by the Company - Book Value vs. Estimated Realizable Value per Statement of Affairs (unaudited) · Entity-level - ABS Friction Inc. only — Total_liabilities reflects only the single liability line shown on the ERV Schedule (Secured Indebtedness owing to Nutaratori Capital Inc., $6,000,000); the Schedule excludes unsecured/employee claims (~$1,050,155.51 per p.6) and liquidation costs, per Trustee's own caveat that 'the Company's Statement of Affairs does not include an estimate for projected costs of realizations.' The Trustee separately reports (p.5) that the Statement of Affairs itself indicates an approximate deficiency/shortfall of $4,487,405, which differs from the $4,118,215 deficiency computed on the ERV Schedule (p.6); the discrepancy is not reconciled in the document. Figures are unaudited, based on Company-provided information not verified by the Trustee.
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per liquidation_alternative; per liquidation_alternative · Stated on: 2024-12-05 · Table missing:
  • Secured creditors Note: Individual - sole director/officer of the Company; classified as a Secured Creditor jointly with Nutaratori Capital; personal guarantor/secured party, name recorded here only per document; no stated amount. · Page: 3 · Debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · Creditor: Rick Jamieson (Mr. Jamieson) · Currency: CAD · Security: Personal security interest over the Company's assets (nature/amount not specified in document)
  • Unsecured creditors $1.34K · Page: 10 · As of: 2024-11-27 · Basis: Trade Creditor Claims per Creditor List (Appendix A) · Debtor: ABS Friction Inc. · Creditor: Label Design Ltd.
PDF
Certificate of Filing of a Proposal – Dated November 27, 2024PDF
Proof of ClaimPDF
Voting Letter
  • Appointee Bricks Damiani Inc.
  • Appointee role Trustee
  • Court file no 35-3158557
  • Province ONTARIO
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “ABS Friction Inc.” (Proposal), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/abs-friction-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 12 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/abs-friction-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.