775 King Road and 2298 Fassel Avenue, Burlington, Ontario
Follow- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
- File
- CV-25-00751438-00CL
775 King Road and 2298 Fassel Avenue, Burlington, have been in court-appointed receivership since September 19, 2025, when the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) appointed TDB Restructuring Limited receiver and manager on the application of National Bank of Canada, under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, in court file CV-25-00751438-00CL. The bank asserts secured indebtedness of $1,232,726.32 and $1,032,973.88 across the two properties, whose book values — provided to the receiver by the debtor — are $1,808,190 for 775 King Road and $570,000 for 2298 Fassel Avenue. Unsecured claims include $10,804.00 owed to the City of Burlington, with smaller amounts to Turtle Bay Pools and Leisure Inc., Burlington Hydro, Enbridge Gas and Reliance Home Comfort.
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice W.D. Black dated August 12, 2026 — Endorsement / reasons
Motion Record of the Receiver returnable August 12, 2026 — Application / notice of application
16 earlier updates, back to 19 September 2025 — subscribers.
Debtor
775 King Road and 2298 Fassel Avenue, Burlington, Ontario
Receiver
TDB Restructuring
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Black | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 4 orders, Feb 2026 – Aug 2026 | 176 cases on record |
| Justice Steele | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Sep 2025 | 220 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverTDB Restructuring | FRED TAYAR & ASSOCIATES Professional Corporation | 17 Feb 2026 | Factum · 17 Feb 2026 |
| Applicant | Miller Thomson LLP | 28 May 2026 | Service list · 28 May 2026 |
| Purchaser | Arnold Foster LLP | 28 May 2026 | Service list · 28 May 2026 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | National Bank of Canada · in 87 casesCharge registered 2024/05/29 against King Property, registered amount $3,200,000; NBC Payout Statement comprised of personal line of credit principal+interest $1,290,480.62 and legal fees $189,402.43; per diem $175.69 thereafter — First ranking charge per legal opinion of GLG; Receiver proposes distribution to NBC as senior secured creditor up to NBC Principal Indebtedness — debtor: Thomas Dylan Suitor · as of 15 Aug 2026 | $1.48M | Motion Record of the Receiver returnable August 12, 2026 |
This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
5 transactions · 2 approved · 2 not completed · 1 closed — The King APS represents the highest and best available offer, remains conditional on Court approvalSecond Report of the Receiver dated August 4, 2026 · 4 Aug 2026
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claudio Varrasso and Nicola Varrassothe assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · real property · agreement 19 Jan 2026 | not stated | Approved24 Feb 2026 | 2298 Fassel - Approval and Vesting Order dated… |
| purchaser under the Fassel APS, closed transaction, unnamedthe Fassel Property · real property | Subscribers | Closed6 Mar 2026 | Second Report of the Receiver dated August 4,… |
| offeror under the First APS, failed to closethe King Property · real property | not stated | Not completed | Second Report of the Receiver dated August 4,… |
| offeror under the Second APS, failed to closethe King Property · real property | not stated | Not completed | Second Report of the Receiver dated August 4,… |
| Humam Alsamawithe Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · real property · agreement 3 Jul 2026 | Subscribers | Approved12 Aug 2026 | 775 King Road - Approval and Vesting Order… |
Secured creditors: a distribution. National Bank of Canada a distribution.FinalSecond Report of the Receiver · 4 Aug 2026
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | — | — | a distributioninterim | Finalper the receiver | Second Report of the Receiver · 4 Aug 2026 |
| SecuredNBC (secured creditor) | National Bank of Canada | — | a distributioninterim | Finalper the receiver | Motion Record of the Receiver · 12 Aug 2026 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
3 engagements · 3 firms — latest: TDB Restructuring Limited, to 31 Jan 2026Second Report of the Receiver · 4 Aug 2026
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fred Tayar & Associates Professional CorpCounsel to the receiver | — | — | — | not stated | Second Report of the Receiver · 4 Aug 2026 |
| Goldberg, Lamba & Ghannoum LLPCounsel to the receiver | — | — | — | •••1 person | Motion Record of the Receiver · 12 Aug 2026 |
| TDB Restructuring LimitedReceiver | to 31 Jan 2026 | — | ••• | not stated | Second Report of the Receiver · 4 Aug 2026 |
Cumulative receipts
$54K
As at 17 Feb 2026First Report of the Receiver dated February 17, 2026
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
775 King Road - Approval and Vesting Order dated August 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice W.D. Black dated August 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of the Receiver returnable August 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplementary Order dated August 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Receiver dated August 6, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Receiver dated August 4, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List dated May 28, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
2298 Fassel - Approval and Vesting Order dated February 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice W.D. Black dated February 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of the Receiver returnable February 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order dated February 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Receiver dated February 17, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver dated February 17, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated September 29, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Appointment Order dated September 19, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Steele dated September 19, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Applicant dated September 12, 2025 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application Record dated September 11, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “775 King Road and 2298 Fassel Avenue, Burlington, Ontario” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/775-king-road-and-2298-fassel-avenue-burlington-ontario