Proceedings.

58 King Street East Hamilton Ltd. and 2238394 Ontario Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43, as amended
File
CV-24-00088153-0000
Filings held12
Last activity25 May 2026
On the record538 days
Secured debt$4.4M
OverviewSummary updated

58 King Street East Hamilton Ltd. and 2238394 Ontario Ltd. are subject to a court-appointed receivership under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority, before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in Bankruptcy and Insolvency under court file number CV-24-00088153-0000. The proceeding is active. No dated steps in the receivership are recorded.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates12 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

58 King Street East Hamilton Ltd. and 2238394 Ontario Ltd.

Receiver

msi Spergel inc.

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice ValenteOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Mar 202612 cases on record
Justice SheardOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Apr 202514 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
CreditorHome Trust CompanyAird & Berlis LLP3 Jan 2025Factum · 3 Jan 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 2 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredHome Trust Company · in 11 casesFirst mortgage against 31 John Street North, Hamilton, ON; registered principal $3,800,000.00, registered May 13, 2022 — Exact balance per Home Trust Mortgage Discharge Statement dated November 13, 2025 (includes accrued interest, fees and charges, less credits); registered principal of $3,800,000 is not the balance — debtor: 2238394 Ontario Ltd. · as of 13 Nov 2025$4.4MMotion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025
4SecuredCity of Hamilton · in 19 casesNotice registered against 31 John Street North, February 9, 2023, in respect of property tax arrears — Municipal tax lien; document states City of Hamilton has a priority charge ahead of the existing mortgages in respect of property tax arrears; balance per property tax statement issued June 26, 2025 — debtor: 2238394 Ontario Ltd. · as of 26 Jun 2025$45.6KMotion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025
4SecuredMehdi KomeilianSecond mortgage against 31 John Street North; registered principal $900,000.00, initially charged and registered March 10, 2021, postponed to Home Trust's first mortgage on May 13, 2022 — Postponed/subordinated in priority to Home Trust's first mortgage; individual mortgagee; no outstanding balance stated in document (registered principal only) — debtor: 2238394 Ontario Ltd.Motion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025
4SecuredTrumencas Ltd., Ekaterina Cerullo, Amanda Stanley and Michael OffidaniThird mortgage against 31 John Street North; registered principal $800,000.00, registered June 20, 2022 — Multiple mortgagees (one corporate, three individual); no outstanding balance stated in document (registered principal only) — debtor: 2238394 Ontario Ltd.Motion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency (HST) · in 926 casesHST owed for periods June 30, 2021 to March 31, 2023; document states the claim ranks behind the prescribed security interests as there is no deemed trust portion (unsecured); Proof of Claim attached as Appendix 8 — debtor: 58 King Street East Hamilton Ltd. · as of 23 Jul 2025$15.6KMotion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency (HST) · in 926 casesHST owed for periods June 30, 2021 to March 31, 2023; document states the claim ranks behind the prescribed security interests as there is no deemed trust portion (unsecured); Proof of Claim attached as Appendix 7 — debtor: 2238394 Ontario Ltd. · as of 30 Apr 2025$3.29KMotion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processPer the transactions

Sale approvedApproval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Edwards dated… · 2 Dec 2025

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Spuric Canadian Ventures Inc.2238's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · real property · agreement 30 Oct 2025not statedApproved2 Dec 2025Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable…
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditionsApproval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Edwards dated…
Sealed materialsConfidential Appendices 1 through 6 to the First ReportApproval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Edwards dated…
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Home Trust Company: $90K.Motion Record of the Receiver · 18 Nov 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Court chargesHome Trust Company$90Kconditionalper the receiverMotion Record of the Receiver · 18 Nov 2025
SecuredCity of Hamilton$45.6Kconditionalper the receiverMotion Record of the Receiver · 18 Nov 2025
SecuredHome Trust Company$4.4Minterimconditionalper the receiverMotion Record of the Receiver · 18 Nov 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Documents
12 filings
DateDocumentFile
Motion Record of the Receiver dated May 25, 2026
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no CV-24-00088153-0000
PDF
Amended Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Edwards dated March 30, 2026PDF
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Valente dated March 30, 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Valente
PDF
Order of the Honourable Justice Valente dated March 30, 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Valente
PDF
Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Edwards dated December 2, 2025
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions
  • Purchaser Spuric Canadian Ventures Inc. · 2238's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · real property · approved
  • Sealed items Confidential Appendices 1 through 6 to the First Report
PDF
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Edwards dated December 2, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Edwards
PDF
Application Record of the Applicant dated November 29, 2025 Volume I
  • Commencement date 21 November 2024
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no CV-24-00088153-0000
PDF
Application Record of the Applicant dated November 29, 2025 Volume IIPDF
Motion Record of the Receiver dated November 18, 2025
  • Applicant HOME TRUST COMPANY
  • Appointee msi Spergel Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Sheard dated April 1, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Sheard
PDF
Order of the Honourable Justice Sheard dated April 1, 2025
  • Applicant Home Trust Company
  • Appointee msi Spergel Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 1 April 2025
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Factum of the Applicant dated January 3, 2025
  • Counsel Aird & Berlis LLP
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “58 King Street East Hamilton Ltd. and 2238394 Ontario Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/58-king-street-east-hamilton-ltd-and-2238394-ontario-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/58-king-street-east-hamilton-ltd-and-2238394-ontario-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.