Proceedings.

5684995 Manitoba Ltd

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
CI 23-01-43002
Filings held16
Last activity16 Apr 2025
On the record1,099 days
OverviewSummary updated

5684995 Manitoba Ltd was placed in court-appointed receivership on November 2, 2023, by order of The King's Bench under court file CI 23-01-43002. The receivership was brought under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The receivership order was the commencing step in the proceeding, and no further steps are recorded on this file. The matter is now carried as closed.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates16 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

5684995 Manitoba Ltd

Receiver

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice GrammondCourt of King's Bench of Manitoba2 orders, Mar 20254 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverMNPPitblado LLP18 Mar 2025Order · 18 Mar 2025
PurchaserTaylor McCaffrey LLP18 Mar 2025Order · 18 Mar 2025
CreditorFirst National Financial GP CorporationThompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP18 Mar 2025Order · 18 Mar 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredFirst National Financial GP Corporation · in 7 casesFirst-registered mortgage against the Property, general security agreements against 568, general assignment of rents and leases, and assignment of equipment leases and other contracts relating to the property (the "Sargent Security") — Legal counsel opinion (subject to customary assumptions and qualifications) confirms Sargent Security constitutes a valid and enforceable first charge in favour of First National; no outstanding balance stated in these pages. — debtor: 5684995 Manitoba Ltd.—First report of the Receiver

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Closed · the record states no distribution outcome.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Pitblado LLP, 31 Aug 2023 – 9 Mar 2025, in feesSecond Report of the Receiver · 18 Mar 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
MNP Ltd.Receiver6 Dec 2023 – 25 Feb 2025not statedSecond Report of the Receiver · 18 Mar 2025
Pitblado LLPCounsel to the receiver31 Aug 2023 – 9 Mar 2025not statedSecond Report of the Receiver · 18 Mar 2025

4 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
16 filings
DateDocumentFile
Receiver's CertificatePDF · Subscribers
Sale Approval and Vesting Distribution and Discharge Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Grammond
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Brief of the Receiver - Hearing DatePDF · Subscribers
Notice of the Motion of the Receiver - Sale Approval and Vesting, Distribution and Discharge Order
  • Counsel TAYLOR McCAFFREY LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Grammond
PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Receiver
PDF · Subscribers
Order to Increase Receivers BorrowingsPDF · Subscribers
First report of the Receiver
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Brief of the ReceiverPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion - November 2024PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order - Signed
  • Commencement date 2 November 2023
  • Court THE KING'S BENCH
  • Court file no CI 23-01-43002
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement
  • Presiding officer Justice Grammondj
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Brief of the Respondent
  • Court THE KING'S BENCH
  • Court file no CI 23-01-43002
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Melanie LaBossiere
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Tamara HinesPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Patrick Penner
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application
  • Commencement date 27 September 2023
  • Court THE KING'S BENCH
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “5684995 Manitoba Ltd” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Manitoba. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/5684995-manitoba-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/5684995-manitoba-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.