The officer filed report no. Supplemental First Report. The Receiver closed the sale of the Real Property, resolved tenant rent defaults, wound down utilities and insurance on the property, and is finalizing outstanding HST/tax filings before making a final distribution to GTL and seeking its discharge. Court file CV-22-00687176-00CL.
2589504 Ontario Inc.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
- File
- CV-21-00660400-00CL
- Industry
- Real estate
2589504 Ontario Inc. has been under court-appointed receivership since June 15, 2022, when the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) appointed BDO Canada Limited as receiver on the application of Grant Thornton Limited under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, in court file CV-21-00660400-00CL. Working from the limited available books and records of the debtor, the Receiver identified assets of $5,382,463 at net book value, being the property at 100 Sheppard Avenue West, against secured liabilities stated at $7,673,557. Equitable Bank accounts for $4,012,977 of that figure, individual secured creditors Benjamin Kay, Iser Kay and Jack Kay for $3,210,580, and 2413974 Ontario Inc. for $450,000. Bank of Nova Scotia – DLAC, Canadian Dealer Lease Services Inc. and Direct Capital Investments Inc. are also listed as secured creditors, with the Canada Revenue Agency under preferred and unsecured liabilities.
The court granted an approval and vesting order. Closing terms, as extracted: vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of transaction.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order
Order made Wednesday, June 15, 2022 placed the company in court-appointed receivership under BIA s. 243, commencing the Commercial List proceeding in file CV-21-00660400-00CL.
Source: Receivership Order
Debtor
2589504 Ontario Inc.
Receiver
BDO
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Cavanagh | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 4 orders, Jun 2022 – Sep 2022 | 318 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverBDO | Blaney McMurtry LLP | 16 Sep 2022 | Order · 16 Sep 2022 |
| Trustee in bankruptcyGrant Thornton Limited as over ' investment interest | Chaitons LLP | 15 Jun 2022 | Order · 15 Jun 2022 |
| CreditorGrant Thornton Limited | Chaitons LLP | 16 Sep 2022 | Order · 16 Sep 2022 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Equitable Bank · in 18 casesListed under “Secured Liabilities”. — Listed by the Receiver under “Secured Liabilities” in the Notice of Receiver and Receiver's Statement (ss.245(1) & 246(1) BIA), identified “based on the limited available books and records of the Debtor”. The document states a secured total of $7,673,557. — debtor: 2589504 Ontario Inc. | $4.01M | Notice of Receiver |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 7 | Preferred (BIA s. 136) |
6 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Preferred (BIA s. 136) claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansSale closed — Sale Transaction closed following the Approval and Vesting OrderReceiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1000105943 Ontario Inc.the Purchased Assets described in the Sale Agreement as listed on Schedule 'B'... including the real property municipally known as 100 Sheppard Ave. West, Toronto, Ontario · real property · agreement 18 Aug 2022 | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Receiver’s Supplemental First Report |
2413974 Ontario Inc.: shortfall.Receiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured241 (third mortgagee over the Real Property) | 2413974 Ontario Inc. | — | shortfall | per the receiver | Receiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022 |
| Secured | DCI | — | no distribution | Estimatedper the receiver | Motion Record · 13 Sep 2022 |
| Secured | Equitable | — | paid in full | Estimatedper the receiver | Motion Record · 13 Sep 2022 |
| SecuredKay Indebtedness | Kays | — | shortfallconditional | Estimatedper the receiver | Motion Record · 13 Sep 2022 |
| UnsecuredGTL (as trustee for the Kays, subordinate secured creditor) | GTL / Kays | — | per the receiver | Receiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
1 blurred figure above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans4 engagements · 2 firms — latest: BDO Canada Limited, 9 Sep – 8 Nov 2022, in feesReceiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 2 of 2 | 9 Sep – 8 Nov 2022 | 3 people | Receiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
3 people — BDO Canada Limited, 9 Sep – 8 Nov 2022 · 12 blurred figures
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 1 of 2 | 9 May – 9 Sep 2022 | Motion Record · 13 Sep 2022 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Blaney McMurtry LLPCounselperiod 2 of 2 | 1 Sep – 31 Oct 2022Sought | 7 people | Receiver’s Supplemental First Report · 10 Nov 2022 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
7 people — Blaney McMurtry LLP, 1 Sep – 31 Oct 2022 · 7 blurred figures
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Blaney McMurtry LLPCounselperiod 1 of 2 | 30 May – 31 Aug 2022 | Motion Record · 13 Sep 2022 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
31 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cumulative receipts
$5.81M
As at 9 Nov 2022Receiver’s Supplemental First Report
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Receiver’s Supplemental First Report
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Distribution and Approvals Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Grant Thornton Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “2589504 Ontario Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/2589504-ontario-inc