2174542 Ontario Inc., Safe Harbour Homes Inc. and Safe Harbour Developments Inc.
Follow- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)subsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended, and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43, as amended
- File
- CV-24-00716277-00CL
- Industry
- Real estate · Residential development
2174542 Ontario Inc., Safe Harbour Homes Inc. and Safe Harbour Developments Inc. have been in court-appointed receivership since May 31, 2024, when the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) appointed TDB Restructuring Limited receiver and manager on the application of MarshallZehr Group Inc., under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, in court file CV-24-00716277-00CL. MarshallZehr, described as senior secured creditor, lent under commitment letters dated January 9, 2020 and October 23, 2020. Receiver's certificates of $215,000.00 have been issued under the receiver's borrowings charge, and the Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan holds a preferred property tax claim of $113,408.00 that the receiver intends to pay from the proceeds of sale of the real property. Tarion Warranty Corporation is a litigation claimant, and a Wage Earner Protection Program claim is advanced for employees through Koskie Minsky.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 1981242 Ontario Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of purchase price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction. Sealed: Confidential Appendices 1 and 2 to the Second Report.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order (Lot 9) dated March 7, 2025
The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Receiver is actively marketing the Real Property and Lot 9 for sale, having terminated the original Lot 9 purchase agreement and negotiated a new sale, while addressing vehicles, municipal work orders, and borrowings; the Debtors have no ongoing business operations.
The court appointed TDB Restructuring Limited as receiver and manager, on the application of MarshallZehr Group Inc.. Court file CV-24-00716277-00CL.
Debtor
2174542 Ontario Inc., Safe Harbour Homes Inc. and Safe Harbour Developments Inc.
Receiver
TDB Restructuring
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Cavanagh | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 3 orders, Mar 2025 | 318 cases on record |
| Justice Kimmel | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Oct 2024 | 198 cases on record |
| Justice Steele | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, May 2024 | 245 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverTDB Restructuring | Chaitons LLP | 15 Oct 2024 | Factum · 15 Oct 2024 |
| Debtor2174542 Ontario Inc., Safe Harbour Homes Inc. and Safe Harbour Developments Inc. | Dickinson Wright LLP | 10 Sep 2025 | Service list · 10 Sep 2025 |
| PurchaserLot 9 | Ain Whitehead LLP | 10 Sep 2025 | Service list · 10 Sep 2025 |
| CreditorFraser Berrill | Frymer Law | 10 Sep 2025 | Service list · 10 Sep 2025 |
| CreditorKing-Con Corporation | Blaney McMurtry LLP | 10 Sep 2025 | Service list · 10 Sep 2025 |
| CreditorMarshallZehr Group Inc | Chaitons LLP | 31 May 2024 | Order · 31 May 2024 |
| CreditorTarion Warranty Corporation | Torys LLP | 10 Sep 2025 | Service list · 10 Sep 2025 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Receiver's Certificate holders (Receiver's Borrowings Charge) · in 3 casesas of October 10, 2024 — Fixed and specific charge on the Real Property pursuant to Appointment Order, priority over all security interests but subordinate to Receiver's Charge and BIA ss. 14.06(7), 81.4(4), 81.6(2); authorized borrowing limit up to $650,000 — Court-ordered receivership financing charge, not a pre-filing creditor — debtor: 2174542 Ontario Inc., Safe Harbour Homes Inc. and Safe Harbour Developments Inc. | $215K | First Report of the Receiver dated October 10, 2024 |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 7 | Preferred (BIA s. 136) | |||
| 7 | Preferred (BIA s. 136) | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
8 more claims in 3 classes The stack holds Secured, Preferred (BIA s. 136) and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansThis proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
4 transactions · 3 approved · 1 proposed — the Transaction is hereby approvedApproval and Vesting Order (Lot 9) dated March 7, 2025 · 7 Mar 2025
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| referred to only as 'the Purchaser'; identity not stated (unredacted APS filed confidentially)Lot 9 · real property | Subscribers | Proposed | Second Report of the Receiver dated March 4,… |
| 1981242 Ontario Inc.the real property located at 18 Veterans Rd. in the Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan, County of Peterborough and having the legal description set out in Schedule 'A' to this Order (the 'Real Property') · real property · agreement 31 Jan 2025 | not stated | Approved7 Mar 2025 | Approval and Vesting Order (Lot 9) dated March… |
| purchaser of Lot 9, unnamedthe sale of Lot 9 · real property | not stated | Approved7 Mar 2025 | Vehicles and Ancillary Order dated March 7, 2025 |
| ultimate purchaser of the Vehicles, unnamedthe Vehicles · asset sale | not stated | Approved7 Mar 2025 | Vehicles and Ancillary Order dated March 7, 2025 |
3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: TDB Restructuring Limited, 29 May – 30 Sep 2024, incl. HSTMotion Record of the Receiver · 11 Oct 2024
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source | |||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chaitons LLPCounsel to the receiver | 3 Jun – 31 Aug 2024 | 4 people | Motion Record of the Receiver · 11 Oct 2024 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| TDB Restructuring LimitedReceiverperiod 2 of 2 | 29 May – 30 Sep 2024 | — | not stated | Motion Record of the Receiver · 11 Oct 2024 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| TDB Restructuring LimitedReceiverperiod 2 of 2 | to 30 Sep 2024 | 3 people | First Report of the Receiver · 10 Oct 2024 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
3 people — TDB Restructuring Limited, to 30 Sep 2024 · 12 blurred figures
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
31 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansCumulative receipts
$503K
As at 4 Mar 2025Second Report of the Receiver dated March 4, 2025
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Professional fees
As at
2 more reported figures
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Service List dated September 10, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order (Lot 9) dated March 7, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Cavanagh dated March 7, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Vehicles and Ancillary Order dated March 7, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Receiver dated March 4, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of the Receiver returnable March 7, 2025 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Kimmel dated October 17, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sale Process Approval Order dated October 17, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Receiver dated October 15, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of the Receiver dated October 11, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver dated October 10, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Appointment Order dated May 31, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Steele dated May 31, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application Record dated March 28, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “2174542 Ontario Inc., Safe Harbour Homes Inc. and Safe Harbour Developments Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/2174542-ontario-inc-safe-harbour-homes-inc-and-safe-harbour-developments-inc