Proceedings.

189 Dundas Street West Inc.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended, and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43
File
CV-18-601159-CL
Filings held17
Last activity22 Jun 2020
On the record2,744 days
OverviewSummary updated

189 Dundas Street West Inc. is the subject of a court-appointed receivership in Ontario, commenced on May 3, 2019 under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and the provincial judicature legislation. Rosen Goldberg was put forward as receiver of the company. The second mortgagee is the fulcrum creditor in the proceeding, holding a second mortgage against 189 Dundas Street West Inc. The receivership remains active.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates17 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

189 Dundas Street West Inc.

Receiver

Rosen Goldberg

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice DietrichOntario Superior Court of Justice5 orders, Sep 2019 – Feb 202094 cases on record
Justice McEwenOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, May 2019143 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverRosen GoldbergDickinson Wright LLP12 Jul 2019Application · 12 Jul 2019
ApplicantBlaney McMurtry LLP3 May 2019Order · 3 May 2019
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredSecond MortgageeSecond mortgage — Described as the 'fulcrum' creditor; amounts outstanding under its mortgage referenced but not quantified in these pages — debtor: 189 Dundas Street West Inc.—Supplementary Report to First Report of Receiver(motion returnable July 30, 2019)

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 1 proposed · 1 approved — The Court approves the Transaction under the Sale Agreement (as amended) between the Receiver and the Purchaser, and vests the Debtor's right, title and interest in the Property in the Purchaser on delivery of the Receiver's Certificate.Approval and Vesting Order of Justice Dietrich dated February 27,2020 · 27 Feb 2020

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Plazacorpthe Property · real propertySubscribersProposedSupplementary Report to First Report of…
2723718 Ontario Ltd.the Debtor's right, title and interest in the Real Property (PINs 13150-0040 (LT) and 13150-0124 (LT)) and the Debtor's personal property acquired for or used in relation to it · real propertynot statedApproved27 Feb 2020Approval and Vesting Order of Justice Dietrich…
Sealed materialsConfidential Appendix 1 to the First Report, Confidential Appendix "A" to the Supplementary Report, and the Confidential Affidavit of Paul Goldfischer sworn July 23, 2019Order of Justice Dietrich dated September 4,2019 (Sales Process)
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Second Mortgagee: shortfall.EstimatedSupplementary Report to First Report of Receiver(motion · 29 Jul 2019

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredSecond Mortgagee—shortfallconditionalEstimatedper the receiverSupplementary Report to First Report of Receiver(motion · 29 Jul 2019

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Documents
17 filings
DateDocumentFile
Motion Record of Receiver Returnable June 30, 2020PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order of Justice Dietrich dated February 27,2020
  • Order date 27 February 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice Dietrich
  • Purchaser 2723718 Ontario Ltd. · the Debtor's right, title and interest in the Real Property (PINs 13150-0040 (LT) and 13150-0124 (LT)) and the Debtor's personal property acquired for or used in relation to it · real property · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — The Court approves the Transaction under the Sale Agreement (as amended) between the Receiver and the Purchaser, and vests the Debtor's right, title and interest in the Property in the Purchaser on delivery of the Receiver's Certificate.
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Distribution and Administrative Order of Justice Dietrich dated February 27, 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice Dietrich
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Dietrich dated February 27, 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice Dietrich
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Supplementary Motion Record Returnable Febryary 27, 2020
  • Counsel Dickinson Wright LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Receord of Receiver including Second Report (Sale Approval)PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Dietrich dated September 4, 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice Dietrich
PDF · Subscribers
Order of Justice Dietrich dated September 4,2019 (Sales Process)
  • Order date 30 July 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice Dietrich
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — the sale and marketing process for the assets under the Receiver's administration is approved
  • Sealed items Confidential Appendix 1 to the First Report, Confidential Appendix "A" to the Supplementary Report, and the Confidential Affidavit of Paul Goldfischer sworn July 23, 2019
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Factum and Book of Authorities of Receiver (returnable July 30, 2019)PDF · Subscribers
Supplementary Report to First Report of Receiver(motion returnable July 30, 2019)
  • Purchaser Plazacorp · the Property · real property · proposed
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Table missing:
  • Sale advisor Colliers (listing broker)
  • Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Responding Record of Second Mortgagees returnable July 30, 2019PDF · Subscribers
Responding Motion Record of Respondent returnable July 30, 2019PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record of Receiver (Sale Process)
  • Counsel Dickinson Wright LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Appointmwnt Order of Justice McEwen dated May 3, 2019
  • Applicant West End Motors and Trailer Park Limited
  • Appointee Rosen Goldberg Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 3 May 2019
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice McEwen dqaqted May 3, 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice McEwen
PDF · Subscribers
Responding Application Record of second mortgagees
  • Applicant WEST END MOTORS AND TRAILER PARK LIMITED
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-18-601159-00CL
PDF · Subscribers
Application Record
  • Appointee ROSEN GOLDBERG
  • Appointee role Proposed Receiver
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “189 Dundas Street West Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/189-dundas-street-west-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 1 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/189-dundas-street-west-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.