1871 Berkeley Events Inc. et al.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
- Court
- Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List
- File
- CV-23-00693494-00CL
- Industry
- Hospitality & leisure · Arts, events & venues
1871 Berkeley Events Inc. and affiliated debtors have been under court-appointed receivership since July 7, 2023, when the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) made a receivership order under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The proceeding is carried on the Ontario file CV-23-00693494-00CL and remains active. Beyond the appointment itself, the record of this matter contains no further recorded steps.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to The Queen Berkeley Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of the Purchased Assets occurs upon delivery by the Receiver of the Receiver's Certificate to the Purchaser, confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction or waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction to the Receiver's satisfaction.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Myers dated October 28, 2025
Receivership order made on a Friday sitting of the Commercial List, placing 1871 Berkeley Events Inc. and the other debtors into receivership and commencing the Ontario proceeding.
Source: Receivership Order
Debtor
1871 Berkeley Events Inc. et al.
Receiver
msi Spergel inc.
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Myers | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 3 orders, Oct 2025 | 117 cases on record |
| Justice Conway | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Jan 2024 | 310 cases on record |
| Justice Steele | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Jul 2023 | 245 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receivermsi Spergel inc. | Harrison Pensa LLP · Aird & Berlis LLP | 3 Aug 2023 | Order · 28 Oct 2025 |
| Debtor1871 Berkeley Events Inc. et al. | Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP | 1 Mar 2023 | Factum · 1 Mar 2023 |
| CreditorToronto-Dominion Bank | Aird & Berlis LLP | 6 Mar 2023 | Factum · 6 Mar 2023 |
| CreditorToronto-Dominion Bank MSI SPERGEL INC | Aird & Berlis LLP | 3 Aug 2023 | Service list · 3 Aug 2023 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | The Toronto-Dominion Bank · in 121 casesGeneral security agreements (PPSA, first-ranking) dated June 20, 2017 (granted by 1871 Berkeley Events Inc. and 1175484 Ontario Inc.) and dated August 2019 (granted by 111 King Street East Inc., Southline Holdings Inc. and 504 Jarvis Inc.) over all present and after-acquired property of each Debtor; collateral charge/mortgage granted by 1175484 Ontario Inc. in the registered principal amount of $9,900,000.00 over the Real Property (317 Queen Street East, Toronto), registered as instrument nos. AT4595583 (Charge) and AT5518507 (Notice) — Total indebtedness under the Credit Agreements (exclusive · as of 25 Oct 2022 | $10.4M | Application Record of TD |
| Secured |
1 more claim in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.
Every creditor and every amount.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansThis proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
Sale approved — The Court approved the Transaction and the Sale Agreement; vesting is to take effect upon delivery of the Receiver's Certificate.Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Myers dated… · 28 Oct 2025
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Queen Berkeley Inc.all of the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets"), including the Real Property (PIN 21091-0082(LT)) · asset sale · nominee/assignee: Hyde Park Homes Limited (The Queen Berkeley Inc. acts as assignee of Hyde Park Homes Limited) · agreement 13 Aug 2025 | not stated | Approved28 Oct 2025 | Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable… |
Unsecured creditors: not yet estimated.Motion Record of the Receiver · 4 Jan 2024
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unsecured | unsecured creditors (customer deposit holders) | — | not yet estimatedconditional | per the receiver | Motion Record of the Receiver · 4 Jan 2024 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
2 engagements · 1 firm — latest: Harrison Pensa LLP, 4 Oct 2023 – 2 Jan 2024Motion Record of the Receiver · 4 Jan 2024
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harrison Pensa LLPCounselperiod 2 of 2 | 4 Oct 2023 – 2 Jan 2024 | — | — | Motion Record of the Receiver · 4 Jan 2024 | |
| Harrison Pensa LLPCounselperiod 1 of 2 | 23 Aug – 21 Sep 2023 | — | — | not stated | Motion Record of the Receiver · 4 Jan 2024 |
1 blurred figure above
What the firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Paciocco dated January 15, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Ancillary Order of the Honourable Justice Myers dated October 28, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order of the Honourable Justice Myers dated October 28, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Myers dated October 28, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Report of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Conway
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sale Process Approval Order dated January 16, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Factum of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to the First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List as of August 3, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Justice Steele
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplementary Affidavit of D. Wheler
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of TD
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Reply Affidavit of K. Furfaro | PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of the Respondents
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responding Application Record of the Respondents | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application Record of TD
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “1871 Berkeley Events Inc. et al.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice · Commercial List. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/1871-berkeley-events-inc-et-al