Proceedings.

1776690 Ontario Inc The Country Way Health Food Store

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Proposalsection 182 of the Business Corporations Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. B.16, as amended
File
CV-21-00661436-00CL
Filings held14
Last activity7 Oct 2022
On the record1,700 days
Secured debt$192K
OverviewSummary updated

1776690 Ontario Inc., carrying on business as The Country Way Health Food Store, remains in active Division I proposal proceedings begun on January 25, 2022 before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) under court file CV-21-00661436-00CL, with 2655396 Ontario Inc. as applicant and section 182 of the Ontario Business Corporations Act as the statutory basis. The company's statement of affairs, as at May 1, 2021, reported assets of $102,450 against liabilities of $572,835, comprising $114,450 secured, nil preferred and $458,385 unsecured. Secured obligations reported include approximately $192,000 to TNT Holdco Inc. under a guarantee securing a $250,000 advance toward a $2.2 million share purchase price, approximately $69,595 to Royal Bank of Canada on an operating line and credit card, and a 2017 retail instalment contract with Toyota Credit Canada Inc. on a 2015 Toyota 4Runner. RBC, including a $60,000 CEBA loan, is treated as an unaffected creditor under the proposal. The company advises nothing is owing to employees or other preferred creditors.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates14 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report. Country Way continues to operate its health food store in Sault Ste. Marie while pursuing a Proposal and a related corporate Arrangement aimed at stabilizing the business and restructuring its capital, after suffering significant sales declines due to COVID-19.

Source: First Report to the Court submitted by MNP Ltd dated

Parties

Debtor

1776690 Ontario Inc The Country Way Health Food Store

Proposal trustee

MNP

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 1 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredTNT Holdco Inc.Guarantee granted by Country Way in favour of TNT securing an advance of $250,000 made by TNT to 259 ON toward the $2.2 million share purchase price; guarantee granted TNT a security interest in the Company's inventory, fixtures, furniture and equipment — Approximate amount per SOA ('owed approximately $192,000'); would hold priority interest over the Assets — debtor: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store · as of 1 May 2021$192KNotice of Proposal to Creditors
4SecuredRoyal Bank of Canada (RBC) · in 556 casesOperating line and credit card secured against the Company's inventory, fixtures, furniture and equipment (Assets) — Secured obligation to RBC stated as approximately $69,595; RBC also treated as an Unaffected Creditor under the Proposal, including CEBA loan of $60,000 (see note on CEBA) — debtor: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store · as of 1 May 2021$69.6KNotice of Proposal to Creditors
4SecuredToyota Credit Canada Inc. · in 20 casesRetail Instalment Contract dated October 23, 2017 re: 2015 Toyota 4Runner — Vehicle estimated to have realizable value lower than the remaining obligation to Toyota; balance not stated — debtor: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food StoreNotice of Proposal to Creditors
8UnsecuredUnsecured creditors (aggregate as reported) · in 532 casesDocument names no individual unsecured creditors in these pages; SOA reports total unsecured amount — debtor: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store · as of 1 May 2021$458KNotice of Proposal to Creditors

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no distribution.Under the plan · sanctionedAmended Proposal - dated · 29 Jan 2022

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Preferredpaid in fullUnder the plansanctionedper the debtorAmended Proposal - dated · 29 Jan 2022
UnsecuredRelated Creditorsrelated partyno distributionUnder the plansanctionedper the debtorAmended Proposal - dated · 29 Jan 2022
UnsecuredCreditors (Certificate holders)20 %conditionalUnder the plansanctionedper the debtorAmended Proposal - dated · 29 Jan 2022

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$114K
Total liabilities at filing$573K

As at 1 May 2021 · per Estimated realizable value of assets as of the Date of the Proposal; liabilities based on the Company's Statement of Affairs (unaudited, draft/internal financial information) · entity - 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store (Country Way) only, not consolidated with related entities such as 259 ON or NumCo — Asset breakdown: Inventory $54,000, Vehicles $12,000, Trade Fixtures $48,450, Total $114,450. Liability breakdown: Secured $114,450, Preferred Nil, Unsecured $458,385, Total $572,835.

Professional fees to date

$50K

As at 21 Jan 2022First Report to the Court submitted by MNP Ltd dated

Documents
14 filings
DateDocumentFile
Approval Order - OBCA Arrangement
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF
Endorsement of Justice Osborne J
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF
Motion Record - Returnable on October 7, 2022 dated
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per liquidation_alternative · Stated on: 2022-10-05 · Table missing:
PDF
Court Order Approving Proposal dated
  • Presiding officer Justice Kimmel
PDF
Endorsement Approving Proposal dated
  • Presiding officer Justice Kimmel
PDF
Motion Record for Approval of Proposal - Returnable 13 April 2022 - dated
  • Applicant 2655396 ONTARIO INC.
  • Commencement date 8 April 2022
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE IN BANKRUPTCY AND INSOLVENCY (Commercial List)
  • Court file no CV-21-00661436-00CL
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Amended Proposal - dated
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan; per plan; per plan · Table missing:
PDF
EndorsementPDF
Interim Order datedPDF
Motion Record of the Applicant - 2655396 Ontario Inc - dated
  • Applicant 2655396 ONTARIO INC.
  • Commencement date 25 January 2022
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-21-00661436-00CL
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Factum of the Proposal Trustee - datedPDF
First Report to the Court submitted by MNP Ltd dated
  • Financial position Assets $114K · Liabilities $573K · as at 1 May 2021 · per Estimated realizable value of assets as of the Date of the Proposal; liabilities based on the Company's Statement of Affairs (unaudited, draft/internal financial information) · entity - 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store (Country Way) only, not consolidated with related entities such as 259 ON or NumCo — Asset breakdown: Inventory $54,000, Vehicles $12,000, Trade Fixtures $48,450, Total $114,450. Liability breakdown: Secured $114,450, Preferred Nil, Unsecured $458,385, Total $572,835.
  • Operational summary Country Way continues to operate its health food store in Sault Ste. Marie while pursuing a Proposal and a related corporate Arrangement aimed at stabilizing the business and restructuring its capital, after suffering significant sales declines due to COVID-19.
  • Professional fees $50K · Note: Stated as approximate and plus taxes; described as the overall cost of the Proposal Proceedings, not broken out by professional. · Party: Proposal Proceedings costs (Trustee and professionals, not itemized individually)
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per liquidation_alternative · Table missing:
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Notice of Reconvened Meeting of Creditors for 2022 February 1PDF
Notice of Proposal to Creditors
  • Financial position Assets $102K · Liabilities $573K · as at 1 May 2021 · per Statement of Affairs (SOA) as reported / estimated realizable value of Assets (inventory, fixtures, furniture and equipment) · Entity-level: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store — SOA creditor classifications: Secured $114,450, Preferred NIL, Unsecured $458,385, Total $572,835 (page 6); separately, secured obligations to TNT (~$192,000) and RBC (~$69,595) reported in Section L differ from the SOA secured figure of $114,450 — document does not reconcile the two secured figures. Company advises no amounts owing to employees or other preferred creditors under s.136(1) BIA.
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan; per plan; per plan · Table missing:
  • Secured creditors Note: Vehicle estimated to have realizable value lower than the remaining obligation to Toyota; balance not stated · Page: 7 · Debtor: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store · Creditor: Toyota Credit Canada Inc. · Currency: CAD · Security: Retail Instalment Contract dated October 23, 2017 re: 2015 Toyota 4Runner
  • Unsecured creditors $458K · Note: Document names no individual unsecured creditors in these pages; SOA reports total unsecured amount · Page: 7 · As of: 2021-05-01 · Basis: Statement of Affairs (SOA) as reported · Debtor: 1776690 Ontario Inc. cob The Country Way Health Food Store · Creditor: Unsecured creditors (aggregate as reported)
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “1776690 Ontario Inc The Country Way Health Food Store” (Proposal), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/1776690-ontario-inc-aka-the-country-way-health-food-store

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/1776690-ontario-inc-aka-the-country-way-health-food-store

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.