Proceedings.

1414614 Ontario Inc. (Ottawa Trainyards)

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)Section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and Section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
File
CV-24-00095165-0000
Filings held10
Last activity12 Jul 2024
On the record874 days
Secured debt$39.5M
OverviewSummary updated

1414614 Ontario Inc. (Ottawa Trainyards) is in a court-appointed receivership brought by The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, with Grant Thornton Limited named proposed receiver and appointed receiver and manager on April 30, 2024. The Receiver reported it had not been provided with the company's books and records, and so had neither the net book value of its assets nor a complete list of creditors; a November 9, 2018 appraisal by Juteau Johnson Comba Inc. had estimated the real property at $117,000,000, but the Receiver could not verify that figure. The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company is listed as a secured creditor for $39,461,073.37 under a PPSA registration against the company and the land, alongside a PPSA registration held by the Bank of Montreal.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates10 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Supplemental Report to the First Report of the Receiver. The Receiver is winding down the receivership, transitioning control of the Debtor's operations back to Controlex, and is satisfied that creditors are being paid in the normal course, concluding there is no further need for the receivership to continue.

Source: Supplemental to First Report of the Receiver date July 8, 2024.pdf

Parties

Debtor

1414614 Ontario Inc. (Ottawa Trainyards)

Receiver

Doane Grant Thornton

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice HooperOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Jul 20241 case on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantMiller Thomson LLP4 Jun 2024Order · 4 Jun 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredThe Manufacturers Life Insurance Company · in 7 casesPPSA registration against the Company and/or the Land — Receiver makes no acknowledgement concerning amounts owing or security claimed; amount from creditors list. — debtor: 1414614 Ontario Inc.$39.5MNotice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 25, 2024.pdf
4SecuredBank of Montreal · in 279 casesPPSA registration against the Company and/or the Land — Nominal placeholder amount ($1.00); Receiver has not been provided books and records and makes no acknowledgement of amounts owing or security claimed. — debtor: 1414614 Ontario Inc.$1Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 25, 2024.pdf
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency · in 926 casesNominal placeholder amount ($1.00); Receiver lacks Company's books and records so full amount is not stated. — debtor: 1414614 Ontario Inc.$1Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 25, 2024.pdf
8UnsecuredCity of Ottawa · in 11 casesNominal placeholder amount ($1.00); Receiver lacks Company's books and records so full amount is not stated. — debtor: 1414614 Ontario Inc.$1Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 25, 2024.pdf

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cash on hand

$40M

As at 8 Jul 2024Supplemental to First Report of the Receiver date July 8, 2024.pdf

Professional fees to date

$92.6K

As at 8 Jul 2024Supplemental to First Report of the Receiver date July 8, 2024.pdf

Documents
10 filings
DateDocumentFile
Endorsement of Justice Hooper dated July 12, 2024.pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Hooper
PDF
Motion Record returnable July 12, 2024.pdf
  • Applicant THE MANUFACTURERS LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Order of Justice Hooper dated July 12, 2024.pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice Hooper
PDF
Supplemental to First Report of the Receiver date July 8, 2024.pdf
  • Cash on hand $40M · Note: Balance in the receivership account. · As at: 2024-07-08
  • Operational summary The Receiver is winding down the receivership, transitioning control of the Debtor's operations back to Controlex, and is satisfied that creditors are being paid in the normal course, concluding there is no further need for the receivership to continue.
  • Professional fees $92.6K · Note: Includes HST of $10,653.07 on base fees of $81,946.49; separately, Baker McKenzie LLP (Receiver's counsel) fees to July 4, 2024 totalled $90,345.29 (including $33.00 disbursements and $10,392.79 HST); an estimated $50,000 in additional 'Final Fees' plus up to $5,000 in outstanding disbursements is also anticipated. · Party: Receiver (Grant Thornton Limited) · Period: to July 5, 2024
  • Report date 8 July 2024
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
First Report of the Receiver dated July 3, 2024.pdfPDF
Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 25, 2024.pdf
  • Financial position per not stated; Receiver does not have net book value of Company's assets or a complete list of creditors · 1414614 Ontario Inc. — Receiver states it has not been provided with any of the Company's books and records, so it does not have the net book value of the Company's assets or a complete list of creditors. A November 9, 2018 appraisal by Juteau Johnson Comba Inc. estimated the real property value at $117,000,000, but the Receiver cannot verify the accuracy of this information; not stated as a current balance sheet figure.
  • Secured creditors $39.5M · Note: Receiver makes no acknowledgement concerning amounts owing or security claimed; amount from creditors list. · Page: 4 · Debtor: 1414614 Ontario Inc. · Creditor: The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company · Security: PPSA registration against the Company and/or the Land
  • Unsecured creditors $1 · Note: Nominal placeholder amount ($1.00); Receiver lacks Company's books and records so full amount is not stated. · Page: 4 · Basis: Creditors List prepared by Receiver · Debtor: 1414614 Ontario Inc. · Creditor: Canada Revenue Agency
PDF
Applicant record returnable June 4, 2024.PDF
  • Applicant THE MANUFACTURERS LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
  • Appointee GRANT THORNTON LIMITED
  • Appointee role Proposed Receiver
  • Commencement date 30 April 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Factum returnable June 4, 2024.PDFPDF
Order of Justice Nadeau Appointing Receiver dated June 4, 2024.pdf
  • Applicant The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Affidavit of James Scarrow sworn March 22, 2024.PDFPDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “1414614 Ontario Inc. (Ottawa Trainyards)” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/1414614-ontario-inc-ottawa-trainyards

Sources last checked · summary updated 6 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/1414614-ontario-inc-ottawa-trainyards

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.