Shaw-Almex Industries Limited and related debtors have been under CCAA protection in Ontario since May 13, 2025, following enforcement steps by their two principal secured lenders. Royal Bank of Canada, SAIL's principal secured creditor under a general security agreement, issued a demand letter and notice of intention to enforce security on March 19, 2025, in respect of outstanding principal of $15,589,239.09 and US$523,779.53, plus accrued interest. Business Development Bank of Canada followed on March 28, 2025, in respect of its mortgage over SAIL's real property at 17 Shaw Almex Road, Parry Sound. On an unconsolidated, entity-level basis, SAIL's internal unaudited statements put assets at $24.7 million as at December 31, 2024, against estimated liabilities of $54.9 million drawn from the creditor list filed with its NOI — compared with $25.7 million in assets and $35.9 million in liabilities in its December 31, 2022 audited statements. The proceeding is active.
Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
The officer filed report no. Eighth Report. The Applicants no longer have an operating business following the sale transaction; the Monitor is winding up remaining subsidiaries (mostly by abandonment) and working to resolve outstanding items under the Minutes of Settlement before seeking termination of the CCAA proceedings.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Almex Canada, Limited. Closing terms, as extracted: Effective Time deemed to be August 27, 2025, being the date the Monitor delivered the Monitor's Certificate. Sealed: Confidential Exhibit '1' appended to the Hustrulid Affidavit and the Confidential Exhibit appended to the Third Report.
The court granted an approval and vesting order. Sealed: Confidential Exhibit '1' appended to the Hustrulid Affidavit, Confidential Exhibit appended to the Third Report.
Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) · in 556 casesRBC Credit Agreement / RBC Security (general security over SAIL's assets, pre-existing secured lender); SAIL's principal secured creditor — Principal amount; plus accrued and unpaid interest. RBC issued a demand letter and notice of intention to enforce security on March 19, 2025 (amount stated is current outstanding principal, not tied to a specific dated statement in the document). — debtor: Shaw-Almex Industries Limited (SAIL)
$15.6M
First Report of the Proposal Trustee
4
Secured
Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) · in 241 casesBDC Mortgage - mortgage against SAIL's real property located at 17 Shaw Almex Road, Parry Sound — Amount not stated. BDC issued a demand letter and notice of intention to enforce its security on March 28, 2025. The BDC Mortgage ranks ahead of the proposed Administration Charge and DIP Lender's Charge. — debtor: Shaw-Almex Industries Limited (SAIL)
—
First Report of the Proposal Trustee
4
Secured
BDC Capital Inc. · in 30 casesNot specified — Listed as one of SAIL's secured creditors; no amount or specific security stated. — debtor: Shaw-Almex Industries Limited (SAIL)
—
First Report of the Proposal Trustee
5
PMSI / lessors
PPSA equipment financiers (PMSI class) · in 183 casesPurchase-money security interests / equipment financing (serialized equipment) — Document refers generically to 'various equipment financiers' among SAIL's secured creditors; no individual amounts stated. — debtor: Shaw-Almex Industries Limited (SAIL)
—
First Report of the Proposal Trustee
scroll →
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
Almex Canada, Limitedall of the Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the Purchased Assets, and all of the U.S. Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the Purchased Business Name · assets and shares · nominee/assignee: one or more designee(s) of Almex Canada as designated pursuant to the Purchase Agreement and listed on the Monitor's Certificate · agreement 10 Jul 2025
SealedConfidential terms of the Asset Purchase Agreement remain sealed
Closing termsEffective Time deemed to be August 27, 2025, being the date the Monitor delivered the Monitor's CertificateAmended Approval and Vesting Order
Sealed materialsConfidential Exhibit '1' appended to the Hustrulid Affidavit; Confidential Exhibit appended to the Third Report; Confidential Exhibit '1' appended to the Hustrulid Affidavit and the Confidential Exhibit appended to the Third ReportApproval and Vesting Order
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$24.7M
Total liabilities at filing$54.9M
As at 31 Dec 2024 · per Present book value of assets based on internal unaudited financial statements as at December 31, 2024; present liabilities are an estimate based on SAIL's list of creditors filed with the NOI (that liabilities figure may include amounts owing to non-arm's length parties, and is not separately dated beyond the NOI filing) · SAIL (unconsolidated, entity-level; excludes subsidiaries) — For comparison, as of December 31, 2022 (SAIL's most recent audited financial statements), SAIL had unconsolidated assets with a book value of approximately $25.7 million and unconsolidated liabilities with a book value of approximately $35.9 million.
Documents
60 filings
Date
Document
File
Eighth Report of the Monitor
Closing confirmedClosed · 27 Aug 2025 · Almex Canada, Limited
Operational summaryThe Applicants no longer have an operating business following the sale transaction; the Monitor is winding up remaining subsidiaries (mostly by abandonment) and working to resolve outstanding items under the Minutes of Settlement before seeking termination of the CCAA proceedings.
PurchaserAlmex Canada, Limited · substantially all of their business · assets and shares · price sealed · closed
Recovery outcomeEntries: per actual; per actual · Stated on: 2026-08-10 · Table missing:
Closing termsEffective Time deemed to be August 27, 2025, being the date the Monitor delivered the Monitor's Certificate
Order date18 July 2025
PurchaserAlmex Canada, Limited · nominee/assignee one or more designee(s) of Almex Canada as designated pursuant to the Purchase Agreement and listed on the Monitor's Certificate · all of the Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the Purchased Assets, and all of the U.S. Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the Purchased Business Name · asset sale · approved
Sale outcomeSale approved — Purchase Agreement and Transactions approved and vested effective August 27, 2025
Closing confirmedClosed · 27 Aug 2025 · Almex Canada, Limited; Did not complete · date not stated · Almex Canada, Limited
PurchaserAlmex Canada, Limited · substantially all of the Applicants' assets · asset sale · price sealed · closed; winning bidders at online auction of Fusion's manufacturing equipment, unnamed · certain of Fusion's manufacturing equipment · auction · $200K · closed
Sale outcomeSale closed — The Sale Transaction closed on August 27, 2025, resulting in the sale of substantially all of the Applicants' business
Notice of Motion - Determination of Share Purchase Agreement
CounselStikeman Elliott LLP
Secured creditorsNote: Named as a secured creditor of SAIL whose consent was required for the Impugned Transaction; no amount stated · Page: 6 · Debtor: Shaw-Almex Industries Limited · Creditor: HSBC Bank of Canada (now Royal Bank of Canada) · Currency: CAD
Sale advisorFTI Consulting Canada Inc. (financial advisor)
Sale outcomeSale process approved — Qualified Bidders have been invited to the second phase of the SISP and have until June 12, 2025 to submit a binding offer
Financial positionAssets $24.7M · Liabilities $54.9M · as at 31 Dec 2024 · per Present book value of assets based on internal unaudited financial statements as at December 31, 2024; present liabilities are an estimate based on SAIL's list of creditors filed with the NOI (that liabilities figure may include amounts owing to non-arm's length parties, and is not separately dated beyond the NOI filing) · SAIL (unconsolidated, entity-level; excludes subsidiaries) — For comparison, as of December 31, 2022 (SAIL's most recent audited financial statements), SAIL had unconsolidated assets with a book value of approximately $25.7 million and unconsolidated liabilities with a book value of approximately $35.9 million.
Sale outcomeSale process approved — SAIL's objective with its NOI proceeding (and likely CCAA application) is to implement a sale and investment solicitation process
Secured creditors$524K USD · Note: Second, USD-denominated principal amount owed to RBC; plus accrued and unpaid interest. Stated alongside the CAD principal balance. · Page: 7 · Debtor: Shaw-Almex Industries Limited (SAIL) · Creditor: Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) · Security: RBC Credit Agreement / RBC Security (general security over SAIL's assets, pre-existing secured lender)
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Shaw-Almex Industries Limited et al.” (CCAA), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/shaw-almex-industries-limited-et-al
Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/shaw-almex-industries-limited-et-al
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.